AFL drafts 2005-2014 revisited

Yeah but if we were talking about Will Langford the year after winning the flag I'd of had him a top pick and I dont reckon he would've played as many games as Mclean by his second year of football. And I'm not really saying just on the basis of winning a premiership he should be there as I'd be saying Cordy as well (even tho thats what i wrote haha)
I just reckon Mclean is a jet,
Also being best 22 in premiership side when players like Duggan and Steele could not crack the best 22 of there respective teams by the pointy end of the year has to show for something (I know Steele was injured & probs wouldve played in the prelim at the expense of Johnson being reported).
Also I'm pretty sure Lonie was getting dropped frequently last year?
Even Touk Miller I couldn't see him getting a game for any of the top 4 sides this year, maybe Geelong. Where Mclean did and played well
All a matter of opinion mate, 99% i agree with, love the effort put in
Duggan and Steele were also in sides with less injuries in general and fewer in there positions than McLean. No doubt McLean is fantastic AMD deserved a mention but hes also from a very recent and therefore a very hard to rank draft. Even 2012 and 2013 its still a bit early to rank

From a dogs perspective I think Toby Mclean should be in there. I'd have him in the top 10. Would have him well ahead of ... Miller. I reckon De goey and Brayshaw are too high as well (Brayshaws problem mainly injured).
Agree with De Goey and Brayshaw being too high, but not sure if serious re. McLean being well ahead of Miller!

Miller's last 8 games of senior AFL footy:

27 disposals (14 contested), 11 tackles, 1 goal
24 disposals, 4 clearances, 5 tackles
28 disposals (16 contested), 7 tackles, 7 clearances, 5 inside 50's
21 disposals (14 contested), 9 tackles, 5 clearances
24 disposals (12 contested), 5 tackles
39 disposals (13 contested), 11 inside 50's 4 tackles, 4 clearances, 1 goal
32 disposals (14 contested), 8 clearances, 4 tackles
28 disposals (14 contested), 7 clearances, 5 tackles, 6 inside-50's

had another game earlier in the season of

32 disposals (18 contested), 5 tackles, 6 inside-50's

Now unless Toby won you guys the flag and maybe one or two other finals off his own boot, I'm going to humbly suggest that he's not well ahead of Miller!

So I take it Millers your number one in that draft?
When we are talking about a 2014 draft i am weighing up expected improvement along with the glimpses we have seen.
If football was played on paper you'd think he was better than the Bont aswell.
Millers is playing in probably the weakest midfield in the comp with there injuries someone has to rack up the pill.
Plus accumulators are much easier to find in drafts than x factors.
There is no way in my opinion Miller gets a game at either GWS, Sydney or the Dogs.
Probably not well ahead, but I'd be taking Mclean.

Probably a question mark in each year
2005 - Douglas maybe higher?
2006 - Boak and Riewoldt ahead of Josh Kennedy - Yeah right!
2007 - Craig Bird - C'mon dude!!
2008 - Shuey way too low, well above his teammate Redden who can't get a game
2009 - Martin a clear number 2 - superstar over a number of years
2010 - Not bad although I'd have Heppell over Gaff any day of the week
2011 - Kersten has no place on that list, at least not yet.
2012 - Membrey too high after 1 good year only. Pretty ordinary draft though
2013 - Again, not bad, but not sure Langdon or Hartung deserve to be any where near that list.
2014 - Petracca way too low and should have Connor Blakely in there, done more than Steele, Maynard and Lonie
2005- wouldn't think so, pretty strong draft for top 20 talent
2006- Boak signing on with port over heading to geelong kickstarted their infield success and membership rise, also been their best player for a while. Riewoldt is one of Richmond's 2 rock players, has won Coleman's and run the forward line
2007- honestly slipped him in to see if anyway brought it up, not even in the top 25 lmao
2008- fair enough
2009- no chance martin is clear number 2 with gawns rise
2010- heppell was on the decline prior to the suspension and the year off could not have helped
2011- fair enough
2012- probably is too high and in revision I'd have daniher on top, move everyone down one
2013- Langdon was consistently on collingwoods team sheet prior to injury, hartung has been kept out of hawthorns team because of strong midfielders but he'll get more of a shot, got the best ever beep test at the Draft Combine.
2014- petracca hasn't played much and hasn't made a massive impact, blakely also severely over rated

decent effort but shuey rated very low. Statistically he hasn't had the numbers of very good players but he is a high impact player and hence been the number one tagged player for us in the last 4 years. He's last two years have been awesome and miles ahead of redden and not that far off from pushing elite status.

Maybe Biased but I'd have Andrews ahead of Lever. Taller, stronger, outstanding leader, elite mark...

I love Andrews. Think he has a fabulous future and he is showing heaps for a kid his age at his height etc. Lever is another level again though. Freak and projects to be truly elite (a word that probably gets used too freely in AFL) over his career. Stand them side by side and I'd take Lever every time.

As we approach the 2016 National draft I thought I'd go through and re-do the first round of every draft up to 2014, will be adding them into the thread as I complete them
This is my opinion, not claiming to be an expert
Not including Rookie or Pre-Season drafts

(Carltont) 1st Pick Original: Marc Murphy
1st pick revisited: Josh Kennedy (4)
Josh Kennedy ended up going to Carlton at Pick 4 but he is a fantastic player winning 2 coleman medals and 2 all-Australian jumpers while taking the WCE club leading goal kicking 5 times.

(Collingwood) 2nd Pick Original: Dale Thomas
2nd pick revisited: Scott Pendlebury(5)
Another one where he got picked up at the teams next pick. Many say he is clear number 1 of this draft but it was too hard to pass on a 2 time coleman medalist and a Key forward. The pies skipper is undoubtedly a super player and would also be worthy of the number 1 pick with 5 consecutive Best and Fairest at collingwood.

(Hawthorn) 3rd Pick Original: Xavier Ellis
3rd Pick revisited: Patrick Ryder (7)
Patty has been a fantastic player over the years for both Essendon and Port Adelaide as a Ruck/Forward, and one of the best over the past decade, earns the number 3 spot in my draft because of how unique it is to find a player like him

(Carlton) 4th Pick Original: Josh Kennedy
4th Pick revisted: Nathan Jones (12)
The Demons skipper has been a loyal and fantastic servant to his club in the demons dark days and is finally seeing the reqards for his benefits. Much like the current Blues skipper he's a tough nut player.

(Collingwood) 5th Pick Original: Scott Pendlebury
5th Pick revisited: Marc Murphy (1)
Despite criticisms throughout his career the Blues skipper still makes my top 5 as he has still been servicable for his club. His early career was fantastic but has unfortunately fallen from grace a bit.

(Hawthorn) 6th Pick Original: Beau Dowler
6th Pick revisted: Grant Birchall (14)
Birchall fell to Hawthorn at pick 14 on the actual night but if they had another go I don't think they'd give a second thought to taking him at pick 6, he has played in all 4 of Hawthorn's recent premierships and hasn't averaged under 19 disposals in his career.

(Essendon) 7th Pick Original: Patrick Ryder
7th Pick revisited: Dale Thomas (2)
Despite his recent run with injury Thomas was an undoubtedly star and key contributor to Collingwoods success earning All-Australian in 2011.

(Richmond) 8th Original: Jarrad Oakley-Nicholls
8th pick revisited: Shaun Higgins (11)
Shaun was a great contributor and loyal servant of the dogs and has done well at North-Melbourne since moving. Was expected to go around this picm originally and slid, in hindsight I think Richmond would have been happy with Higgins at this pick

(Brisbane) 9th Pick Original: Mitch Clark
9th Pick revisited: Shannon Hurn (13)
Despite not having a full trophy cabinet he has been a rock for West Coast in defence which is something Brisbane could have used over the years.

(Fremantle) 10th pick original: Marcus Durm
10th pick revisited: Alipate Carlile (44)
Carlile is a solid defender and big part of the Port Adelaide team and again, hindsight is 20/20, defintley deserves a first round selection

(Western Bulldog) 11th pick original: Shaun Higgins
11th pick revisited: Mitch Clark (9)
It's been a rocky road for Clark, 3 clubs and has to move to a 4th if he wants to keep his professional AFL career going. His record at Brisbane wasn't the greatest but he still has a good overall goal game ratio, 106 games for 111 goals.

(Melbourne) 12th pick original: Nathan Jones
12 th pick revisited: Travis Varcoe (15)
Varcoe is a premiership player at Geelong and a key part of Collingwood's team currently. Been a servicable player over the years

(West Coast) 13th pick Original: Shannon Hurn
13th pick revisited: Bernie Vince (32)
What can I say, he's been a great player for Adelaide and Melbourne, could have gone top 10 but think he would fall to around here

(Hawthorn) 14th pick original: Grant Birchall
14th pick revisited: Andrew Swallow (43)

(Geelong) 15th pick: Travis Varcoe
15th pick revisited: Samuel Gilbert (33)

(Adelaide) 16th pick original: Richard Douglas
16th pick revisited: Jack Anthony (37) Richard Douglas (16)
Ryder is way over rated. Inconsistent and lazy. He has a top 5 finish in the b&f once and that was in 2009!!!

Jones and Swallow both have 3 b&fs and captained their club. Give me hard working and leadership over gifted wasted talent.