AFL Game Part 3

It says its due for release. Doesn't mean it will. Do you really think they would release 2 of their games at the same time (with Rugby releasing on September 2)

AFL would have to be released in season, to make it worth while for the publisher. No point releasing an AFL game in summer. Just wouldn't move as many units

pklus there has been no press release formallly anounncing it. do you reckon they'll go

"Oh by the way, we made this AFL game. Its out now, go buy it?"

Nope, they need to build the hype, and give enough time to build presells on the title

Releasing a week before season kick off in 2011? Makes sense. This gives them these options:

More time to tweak.
Update squads (retirements, delistings etc)
GC will be in. Need to create them into it with all their players

It all adds up to an early March 2011 release

Of course there will be a season mode

As far as I can see the Rugby Game was only announced not that long ago? and is up for sale 2nd Sep, I would have thought they would both attract different markets. I have not seen this Rugby game advertised anywhere on things like Palgn etc.

I could be very wrong but the way everything comes across to me, is that it will come out in 2010, They went so long before saying anything about the game, and now Ross has come on here sharing information, getting us keen on the game, and said that most likely some of the guys at big footy will get to go in and test the game during August and at that time he said he was hoping to get screen shots out etc?

Why would they do this, if they still were not releasing the game for another 6 months, they would have been better off just not saying anything at all until it was closer to the season, It just means that any interest that has been created now, would die off over the off season.

Also means that the DLC and support of the game would become irrelevant because, if the game released in Feb 2011 with the Gold Coast included, that means that if they were to follow up the game with additional stats etc, then why bother because they said that before GWS come into the AFL we should be talking about game 2 in the series.

It sounds like it is not far off a press release, get the game out in finals time, support the game after the drafts/trades/ implement Gold coast ( if they are not already in the game which they very well could already be in it ) and then they get to work on the next game throughout next season after they have got feedback from this game.

If this is game 1 out of a 5 game series plan for them, then I would have thought that if the game is done like they say it is almost/pretty much complete, then they get the thing out, get feedback from people and get to work on Game 2. The hard work was getting game 1 up and about starting from scratch, now they have a base to work with!

Does the game really need that much hype anyway? Just because people don't post on here, does not mean they don't read these forums, I know a lot of people who know about this game, through this site and the big ant site, who don't post anything. You could just about say that anyone who purchased the AFL games in the past have been waiting for this game and know about it.

They would only have to have a couple of adverts throughout a footy game or two and there would be even more of a buzz.( for those that have not read about the game on here)

Don't really think an AFL game is the type of game that would appeal to anyone but fans of the game, so its not like they need to have months of advertising the game , announce when its coming out and it will sell like hot cakes!

Surely the epicness of this thread has warranted a seperate board, which there will no doubt be a need for once this monster is released.

I feel a separate board is necessary as this thread seems to decrease the average IQ of this board substantially.

all in eh glenno?

I'm always all in. That way you can SHIP IT

As far as I can see the Rugby Game was only announced not that long ago? and is up for sale 2nd Sep, I would have thought they would both attract different markets. I have not seen this Rugby game advertised anywhere on things like Palgn etc.

I could be very wrong but the way everything comes across to me, is that it will come out in 2010, They went so long before saying anything about the game, and now Ross has come on here sharing information, getting us keen on the game, and said that most likely some of the guys at big footy will get to go in and test the game during August and at that time he said he was hoping to get screen shots out etc?

Why would they do this, if they still were not releasing the game for another 6 months, they would have been better off just not saying anything at all until it was closer to the season, It just means that any interest that has been created now, would die off over the off season.

A

Its called hype

They come here, get us footy nuts excited, who in turn get our friends excited and the chain reaction continues

The more we want this game, the better for the publisher, and the developer, who i'm sure would be on some kind of bonus scheme

Just saying don't get ya hopes up ;)

To me it doesn't really make sense for it to include the Gold Coast, the season set up hasn't been announced yet and probably won't be until October (generally when the fixtures are released) and so they wouldn't leave much time to change the season mode dynamic if it were to become a 24 round season.

It sounds like Ant will be doing the playtest mid August so we're likely to get a better indication then.

It says its due for release. Doesn't mean it will. Do you really think they would release 2 of their games at the same time (with Rugby releasing on September 2)

AFL would have to be released in season, to make it worth while for the publisher. No point releasing an AFL game in summer. Just wouldn't move as many units

pklus there has been no press release formallly anounncing it. do you reckon they'll go

"Oh by the way, we made this AFL game. Its out now, go buy it?"

Nope, they need to build the hype, and give enough time to build presells on the title

Releasing a week before season kick off in 2011? Makes sense. This gives them these options:

More time to tweak.
Update squads (retirements, delistings etc)
GC will be in. Need to create them into it with all their players

It all adds up to an early March 2011 release

Of course there will be a season mode

Point/Counterpoint:

I think it is fair to say there is a bit of hype building about this game already. Also, lets not forget Christmas, noone stops loving AFL just because it is the off season. As far as I can see most other AFL games were released in September and if not then twas June/July. Anyway, I meant to put this to bed, no point speculating we will have it when we have it.

I'm always all in. That way you can SHIP IT

Its called hype

They come here, get us footy nuts excited, who in turn get our friends excited and the chain reaction continues

The more we want this game, the better for the publisher, and the developer, who i'm sure would be on some kind of bonus scheme

Just saying don't get ya hopes up ;)

But why would you hype this game out now whilst the season is still going and not release it, how do you keep that hype up over the off season? Considering the sport that it is and its limited market, any hype that they create now will eventually die off during summer/cricket season here, and then they will have to go ahead and hype it again.

It's a different story for other types of games, where you could hype it for months on end, why not get it out come finals time when everyone is pumped about September!

Does the game really need that much hype anyway? Just because people don't post on here, does not mean they don't read these forums, I know a lot of people who know about this game, through this site and the big ant site, who don't post anything. You could just about say that anyone who purchased the AFL games in the past have been waiting for this game and know about it.

They would only have to have a couple of adverts throughout a footy game or two and there would be even more of a buzz.( for those that have not read about the game on here)

Don't really think an AFL game is the type of game that would appeal to anyone but fans of the game, so its not like they need to have months of advertising the game , announce when its coming out and it will sell like hot cakes!

All games need hype

If retailers don't know about a game, how will they sell it to the customer?

The better stores will no doubt, sell the game well. But not all retailers are good at selling stuff

Just because its an AFL game, doesn't mean it doesn't need to be known about.

Advertising in retail makes a HUGE difference.

Starcraft 2 came out today. One of the biggest games in history (you can still buy the original in retail today. it was released in 1998) I had a guy come in and go "oh SC2 is out. When did that happen?" and he said he played a lot of PC

I had a lot of pre orders for it. Would i have got as many if i hadn't mentioned it to every person in the past 6 months that had bought a PC game? No chance

AFL is the same. Word of mouth, marketing (coming soon sections) signage all will help the devs and publishers make more money

yes, we hardcore AFL/ game nuts will know about it. What about Joe Average, or mums and dads etc.

The amount of time I can committ here will ebb and flow.. today was a busy day, so some answers to what I've read in the last few pages:

The online is being tuned to what we consider most people will have available, it will support two boxes head to head with 4 v 4 (Xbox has a max of 4 controllers in any case) without lag on a reasonable ADSL connection.

There will be the expected rewards for a good season, B&F, Brownlow, etc...

There will of course be a season mode.

There will be a player creator.

I didn't get time to get onto the guys today about the sliding in the wet - will try tomorrow.

I'm certainly not attempting to overhype the game, no new interviews, no press, the only place you can get info right now is here. On that note, I am glad that the responses have been really constructive, especially when you all know what I look like now!

PS: Loving the trophies/acheivments

PPS: Sorry Ant_ , hope the volume of PM's isn't too great.... as Ant_ says he doesn't work for us, it was just his unfortunate luck that I answered his email :)

The online is being tuned to what we consider most people will have available, it will support two boxes head to head with 4 v 4 (Xbox has a max of 4 controllers in any case) without lag on a reasonable ADSL connection.

Is two boxes the max? Or can say me on my ps3 and a mate on his ps3, play two other guys on their ps3s?

All games need hype

If retailers don't know about a game, how will they sell it to the customer?

The better stores will no doubt, sell the game well. But not all retailers are good at selling stuff

Just because its an AFL game, doesn't mean it doesn't need to be known about.

Advertising in retail makes a HUGE difference.

Starcraft 2 came out today. One of the biggest games in history (you can still buy the original in retail today. it was released in 1998) I had a guy come in and go "oh SC2 is out. When did that happen?" and he said he played a lot of PC

I had a lot of pre orders for it. Would i have got as many if i hadn't mentioned it to every person in the past 6 months that had bought a PC game? No chance

AFL is the same. Word of mouth, marketing (coming soon sections) signage all will help the devs and publishers make more money

yes, we hardcore AFL/ game nuts will know about it. What about Joe Average, or mums and dads etc.

Would a Joe average care about buying an AFL game though, unless you love or like the game why would you buy it. They could announce this game tomorrow and say that it is coming out 10th of September and I bet there would be a tonne of pre orders, and if they had a couple of adds on during footy games etc, how many people would go out and buy it then that are mad AFL followers, plenty!

If an add came out for this game in December or January saying it would be released in March before the start of the season, how many Joe Average are going to even remember about the game coming out. Unless you are a die hard footy fan, the only adds/announcements of these games that you would take notice of is the ones in the weeks or month before the release.

Guys. remember that Big Ant have next to no input on when the game will be released(obviously if it's not finished they'll not let it be released). once it is completed it is up to tru blu to release it, or for tru blu to tell big ant that it's coming out at x date, have it ready for print at y date..

And Tru Blu don't have the emotional attatchment that big ant have with it being their own creation.. So they'll make the best option in a marketing sense, Which would probably be february/march when cricket finishes and people are getting back into Footy.. or maybe even christmas (lots of games sold around that time)

Lynchy, they want to MAXIMISE how many sales they get on all their games. so they won't steal sales from their own games (meaning Rugby) and they won't release it whenever it's ready just because "footy fans will buy it anyway".

Hey Ross

Question from the retail POV

Will our buying department be aware of when you will be sending the press release, and will we get a chance for a pre order sku to be set up ASAP?

And have the Publishers been talking to retailers, so they are aware that the game is in development

Also (and i'm not asking for a date of said press release) will we be given a bit of notice on BF of the press releases imminent arrival:

eg: Hey guys, the presser is coming out in 5 days. Stay tuned for more details

Or something along those lines

Is two boxes the max? Or can say me on my ps3 and a mate on his ps3, play two other guys on their ps3s?

Two boxes is the max, sorry to disappoint. This is due to having 18 players per side multiplied by the number of boxes, the bandwidth required would be too high.

Those two boxes can have a total of 8 players in any configuration 1 v 7, 4 v 4, and players from either location can play on either of the selected teams.

Hey Ross

Question from the retail POV

Will our buying department be aware of when you will be sending the press release, and will we get a chance for a pre order sku to be set up ASAP?

And have the Publishers been talking to retailers, so they are aware that the game is in development

Also (and i'm not asking for a date of said press release) will we be given a bit of notice on BF of the press releases imminent arrival:

eg: Hey guys, the presser is coming out in 5 days. Stay tuned for more details

Or something along those lines

These are decisions made on the publisher side of things but I can guarantee that there will be a warning of imminient press release, and if possible (which it probably will be) I will post here to say it's coming.

Retailers such as yours will be well in the loop, every product that HES/Tru Blu have put through this year have had a pre-order bonus (controllers, footballs, etc..).

Guys. remember that Big Ant have next to no input on when the game will be released(obviously if it's not finished they'll not let it be released). once it is completed it is up to tru blu to release it, or for tru blu to tell big ant that it's coming out at x date, have it ready for print at y date..

And Tru Blu don't have the emotional attatchment that big ant have with it being their own creation.. So they'll make the best option in a marketing sense, Which would probably be february/march when cricket finishes and people are getting back into Footy.. or maybe even christmas (lots of games sold around that time)

Lynchy, they want to MAXIMISE how many sales they get on all their games. so they won't steal sales from their own games (meaning Rugby) and they won't release it whenever it's ready just because "footy fans will buy it anyway".

I understand that but at the same time, don't both games have different markets.

I could be very wrong as I have said before, but they have said nothing to make us assume that the game would not be coming out 2010, they said they have a release date in mind and they hope to stick to that, their banner on their website say's coming in 2010.

Lets face it, whenever a new game comes out , people buy it, flog it till death and then get over it move on, wait for the next installment and play it every so often. I don't see a hell of a lot of difference in the game coming out in finals time when there is a lot of hype, or coming out at the start of the season.

I am just assuming this all on the fact that, if they have ever player modeled etc, then they will have to go through that process again for the following season and rating new players. which would have been pointless of doing the 100 ? that get delisted/moved on at years end anyway.

Until it is advertised stating that it won't be a 2010 release, why should we believe that it won't be released then

I'm certainly not attempting to overhype the game, no new interviews, no press, the only place you can get info right now is here. On that note, I am glad that the responses have been really constructive, especially when you all know what I look like now!

That may or may not have been my doing. :cool: