AFL Handout.

That's correct. I can't find the link because I'm on my phone currently but a poster on another Richmond forum posted a link to what some of the clubs have been approved to spend the cash on. Ours was simply to reduce debt and grow supporter base through the north (I imagine of Melbourne). I can't remember what the Roos' was exactly but I remember reading a part of it was to grow through the west of Melbourne and into Ballarat as well as Tasmania. So I'm pretty sure we're OK to dump cash on our club debt. The AFL will definitely be keeping tabs on it as Brayshaw was saying on Triple M on Monday arvo that at very regular and specific intervals they (the clubs) will have to show the AFL the money is in fact going where intended.

North's is all going off-field

http://www.kangaroos.com.au/latestnews/newsarticle/tabid/4912/newsid/124306/default.aspx

Some of the Dogs is to boost their footy dept (They don't even have an Alter G machine).

Given the level of AFL scrutiny and involvement, I'd rather the money be spent off field. Far easier to account for that way.

Yes an no.

Lets say the AFL puts in $4Million tied to specific areas, and FTF raises another $4Million

If the club wants $2Million to resurface PRO ( not sure what the real figure is ), and the AFL 'only' want to put 400K into improved facilities such as this. We take 1.6 M from the FTF, and required funds are available.

At the same time, the AFL thinks debt eduction is a priority, so insist that half their money ($2Million) goes to that...well, the FTF was partly to pay the debt off anyway, so rather than putting $3Million in there to pay all our remaining debt, we 'only' put in 1 which, coupled with the AFLs contribution mean all or debts wil be paid and $2Million from the FTF will be freed up for other activities.

Having 2 sources of additional funding gives the club a lot of flexibility, even if one of those sources is 'directed'.

Agree with that entirely. For example, some North people were saying why aren't we putting any money into the footy dept from this. But we will be now investing the Tassie cash straight into the footy dept etc.

Anyway, having read Gale's statement, reckon like it is going well for you guys. Good to see, everyone wants the Tiges up.

FWIW I agree, I don't think people realise that Collingwood are only renting @ Melbourne park; if their revenues cop a big hit (unlikely over the short term but entirely possible over 10 or 15 years) they're right where Melbourne are, trying to find a home.

fingers-crossed.jpg

The only think that would make me happier then a Richmond flag.