AFL Live 2

I kind of compare it to the cover choice Sam Reid, showed some promise early and needs more work to become a good final product.

I can live with the average graphics but my main problem is as many have mentioned it is hard to kick it more than 5m out of packs and it seems impossible to kick a goal from passed 30 using the flick motion. The forwards (both mine and the computers) being open by 20m constantly is annoying but I do like how I can chip the ball down the wing (albeit fairly easily) rather than the old style of just bang it straight up the guts every kick.

Plenty of flaws but I will play it because it's AFL.

When playing online against good opponents you needed to use the wings and could chip it up slowly if you wanted. Just banging it up the guts every time was a big risk since it could go back the other way very quickly, just like in the real sport.

Okay, against the AI is one thing, but in online against good opponents you really had to play good football tactics.

The issue in AFL Live 2 seems to be that defenders don't man up, and that isn't something you can fix by being a better player.

Gee reading most of the reviews here you'd think people were getting a FIFA14/NBA2K14 type of product instead of an Australian developed game for a small local market.

I can't speak for anyone else, but I'm not complaining because it's not up to Fifa/NBA standards, I'm complaining because it's not even up to a 2 year old Australian developed game for a small local market standard.

From the time I've spent with AFLL2, I'd have to say it's better and more fun than I ever expected it to be. I honestly had the lowest of low expectations and it's a better game than those expectations envisioned. I think they should never have called it AFL Live 2, because all people are going to do now is compare it to AFL Live. Had they released this game as it's own standalone title, for a cheaper price, I think people would be less critical of it.

Positives & Negatives:

+ The leading kicks and ability to chip it around the field.
+ The quick handpasses out of congestion are really fun.
+ It's not a tacklefest (and don't give me the "You must be shit at AFL Live then" explanation. AFL Live 1 is an absolute tacklefest).
+ Bumps are fun and less murder-inducing than AFLL1.

- It obviously lacks polish.
- The sound is shite.
- Some animations are derp.
- The way Denis pronounces Blicavs.

My advice for people on the fence about buying who may be strapped for cash:
Wait it out until the game is marked down and buy it then. Had it been released for 30 bucks I think we'd all be way less critical of the game. Don't get me wrong, I don't think people shouldn't be critical of it, this is just my opinion of the game.

^ Had it been released for 30 bucks we'd all think it's pretty damn amazing. Unfortunately it just fits in that gap between what could have been a good game and what isn't a good game.

The difficulty gap between Easy and Medium is too much. On Easy your players have all the time in the world, on Medium the opposition players seem to teleport to your players just to tackle them.... And they can run 20% faster.

Regardless of the size of the budget, the thing that any studio can get right is gameplay and game mechanics. Great graphics, animation, sound, intros, licenses, slick presentation; these are the domain of the EAs of the world (The EAs the 2Ks the Acclaims the Judds the Selwoods). Obviously sport is harder than most as you're simulating an existing activity and there are certain expectations about how it should look and feel, but I think it's still within the realms of possibility that a small studio can hit somewhere close to the mark.

Obviously, there are some aspects of the AL2 gameplay that need addressing. I hope TB note the (rational) critiques and patch it up soon. If they do that (and address any obvious bugs), all the other stuff doesn't matter much.

I've played 2 full 80 minute games and enjoyed both. Unlike the first version it's not an out and out tackle festival and you can with a bit of practice put together some good pieces of play

You are still playing on easy, say it is not a tackle fest when you move up a difficulty level.

I think they should never have called it AFL Live 2, because all people are going to do now is compare it to AFL Live.
That's my biggest issue with the whole saga. It feel like deceit. People thought they were getting a sequel to BigAnt's game, developed by BigAnt, and Tru Blu did nothing to dissuade this assumption.

Yeah, it was a silly move. People would be less resentful if they came out from day one and said it's a new game by different people. I know I would be less annoyed after the initial annoyance of finding out it wouldn't be built off the decent foundation of AFLL1.

I keep reading reviews on here, and decide "yeah nah I won't buy it" then I read a couple where they say it is actually good, which changes my mind. Make up your mind people! :p

How long will it take for the game to be marked down to around $30-40?

I keep reading reviews on here, and decide "yeah nah I won't buy it" then I read a couple where they say it is actually good, which changes my mind. Make up your mind people! :p

Probably not until a few weeks after the season ends i'd reckon. You'd be better off taking the punt on a pre-owned one. I'm sure there'll be plenty of them around.

Like I said, just wait until it's about 30 bucks and then you'll be less disappointed. It won't be long before it's marked down substantially. I think the biggest problem is the fact it's $70. It's not up to scratch to be a $70 game, at least I don't think so.

Probably not until a few weeks after the season ends i'd reckon. You'd be better off taking the punt on a pre-owned one. I'm sure there'll be plenty of them around.

I don't think I can wait that long.

I'm actually really holding out for the end of the trading/drafting period, where I can update the AFL Live 1 lists.

Played it for quite some time tonight with my brother. Overall I think its a pretty fun game, though far, far less polished than AFL Live 1.

Overall the controls are probably a little better IMO, but the actual implementation is not so good with a lot of things not happening as you would expect them to. E.g kicking can be extermely random, and I often have things happen without me telling the game to. Marking contests often don't make a whole lot of sense, and the free kicks are completely random. The bounce is also rather random.

I actually think the game is harder than AFL Live 1, but it might be because I'm no good at it yet. I believe the difficulty may stem from this randomness that happens, which isn't the best but I'd rather a challenge than a perfect game that is easy.

The graphics aren't great at all, the commentary is awful, really awful, and the one thing that strikes me most is that it honestly doesn't seem that whoever made the game is a fan of the AFL.

Firstly, the ratings are way, way off. They were either done at the start of the year and have been untouched, or they were done by someone who doesn't watch football. Next, the rules are wrong in a number of cases, such as hitting the ball through the goals deliberately after a ball up, and a couple of other small things that I cannot remember right now. Also when you get a hit out Tom Harley says something like "Matthew Lobbe gets the clearance" which is obviously wrong. Finally the stats screen is presented rather badly IMO, and in general the presentation really isn't there.

But seriously, I'd reccomend this game. You just have to keep an open mind, and understand that its not a good game by any means, but it is a hell of a lot of fun so far, and while the career mode doesn't seem fantastic, it is definitely more interesting than any other AFL season mode I've played with a few things you have to manage. The actual gameplay can be hilarious, but if you take this game too seriously you will definitely get upset, as like I said a lot of random shit happens.

In a direct comparison to AFL Live 1 I would list the advantages as:- More random (making the game more fun to me)
- No part of the game is completely broken (substitutions, spoiling, and a couple of other things were broken in AFL live 1)
- Harder to beat the AI (certainly with two players it is a lot harder, single player I can't be sure yet)
- The camera angles are pretty good IMO too.
- The tactics might be better, not sure yet.
- The controls are a little better, I prefer the kicking, handballing, marking, and even the shooting for goal in this game.

Disadvantages:
- Less responsive/polished controls overall
- Graphics
- Physics are significantly worse
- The commentary is actually worse
- I'd like to list more, but honestly there aren't many more, though some of those I've listed are rather big disadvantages. Particularly the reponsiveness of the controls, and player switching is a lot better in the first game. Also the interface is very trashy, the kick power bar is probably the biggest annoyance to me.

I don't think I can wait that long.

I'm actually really holding out for the end of the trading/drafting period, where I can update the AFL Live 1 lists.

Buy the game then. Or just keep playing AFLL1. Or do what everyone else will be doing until next September and play GTA V constantly. Maybe with a little DayZ Standalone thrown in there if that ever gets released.

I'll be honest, I was the biggest supporter for this game. Even ignoring all the trash talk in this thread and on their Facebook page.
After playing it for what is 3hrs, I'm going to return it next week for my money back. It's really not worth it, and that hurts me to say.

Yeah, won't be buying it after hearing further similar criticisms. Will just stick to AFLLive1 when I need a fix.

Crying shame, on the plus side get to save some money I guess.

Haha, I was playing a VFL game with the Cats and I could have sworn Tom Harley had a chubby over Jordan Schroder.
I don't mind it though. The commentary is definitely an improvement. Tom Harley makes a load of different comments about different players stats. He talks about loyalty, reaction time, speed, etc

Yeah, tbh I had no issue with the commentary. I thought that it was clunky but fairly accurate at times. Especially when Harley rattles off some stats at qtr time breaks etc. I don't know how people can honestly say it's worse than the other games. It sounds exactly the same to me, except this time there's no BT and lord knows that's a good thing.

Buy the game then. Or just keep playing AFLL1. Or do what everyone else will be doing until next September and play GTA V constantly. Maybe with a little DayZ Standalone thrown in there if that ever gets released.

There's a thought, with golf and tennis this time around, GTA VI: Melbourne Mafia might be our best chance for a quality AFL experience.... even if it is in a mini game.

Is the game at least fun to play
Forget realism, is it a game that is free flowing and fun to play

Yes, its fun.

I also forgot to mention that the tackling is improved a lot. Its actually quite hard to land tackles now, and it very fun/rewarding.

The graphics aren't great at all, the commentary is awful, really awful,
I can only speak on what I've seen in the vids ( won't get the game until tomorrow arvo) but I honestly think it looks better graphically in comparison to Live 1 and the commentary while choppy in areas seems a huge improvement as it seems more detailed, fast flowing and seems to commentate everything that happens rather than just shouting names and a few repetitive lines.