AFL LIVE 2011 - 360, PS3 & PC - Part - 25

• Thread starter Thread starter Beloved

I was 6 goals down at 3/4 last nite and came back and got the lead, guy was pretty good too, I dont think he understood the value of changing tactics tho.

He quit of course. And I got the win.

Also had another guy quit, I had game selection open and got a fone call, left room. Came back and saw a game had started, with 7:00 gone he had only kicked 2 goals.

I kicked the next ten and he quit.

Im so glad the patch changed this.

Changing tactics is the key if your getting beaten. Only good players realise this though

I do it twice a quarter at least usually, just to keep opponent guessing.

Usually when opponent is lining up for goal, just make a change that gave him the path to his last goal, so if he tries it again ill get a turnover and work my way back up the field.

It stumps the players who try the same shit all the time.

I do wish the players would automatically aim the handballs a bit higher to get over defenders. It's very annoying when you have a teammate free but an opponent in the way and your handball goes straight to him, who gathers it completely cleanly. In real life the handballer would loop the ball over. It would take longer to get there but at least it wouldn't be intercepted.

Out of interest has anyone ever been spoiled by their own player before? Happened to me 3 times today and i've never seen it before. 1 of them was reaonably contested although i still thought i could mark it so it was fine, but the other 2 times i was well infront of my team mate (who was also just infront of the opposition), i go in to mark it and the ****** comes blaring through and spoils my mark! painful!

ah, this game is starting to affect my studies lol

This happens a lot to me. Get a player in position to make and a teammate spoils. Usually to the opposition, who are running toward their goal and my turning circle leaves me for dead. :(

I do wish the players would automatically aim the handballs a bit higher to get over defenders. It's very annoying when you have a teammate free but an opponent in the way and your handball goes straight to him, who gathers it completely cleanly. In real life the handballer would loop the ball over. It would take longer to get there but at least it wouldn't be intercepted.

Take the tackle and then handball it out to your free man.
Works a treat for me. :)

Also that players ALWAYS have to stand completely still to receive the handball, and to a lesser degree with marks.

Also on a different tangent, the bounce of the ball is crazy. It actally bounces faster than it moves through the air sometimes I reckon. I'll have the guy there about a metre from where the ball is going to bounce, but it'll go straight past him and another 10 metres!!

i can relate to the AI being slighty ******ed, haha. However playing with a couple mates cooperativley makes so much better the experience. I would be very keen to play the 7 or 8 player match as it would be much more enjoyable and add more realism to the game

I tried to play with mates once, they were worse than the AI. :p They have minimal attention spans so they now refuse to play because they couldn't figure out the game in 30 minutes. w***ers.

Last night I versed a guy who I had previously played the day before and I beat him comfortably. When I saw his name I was pretty happy but Last night was the most bull**** game I have ever played. It did not matter what i did nothing worked, I would be in front running on to the loose ball and he would get to the ball first and in a marking contest I would be in the perfect position to spoil or mark but he would mark it. Most of the time I would get a tackle on him it would be a push or too high even though I wasn't holding sprint. And to top it off he had a 5 star Essendon Team with Ablett, Judd, Mitchell, Corey and alot more good players. He was a flog to say the least and the first time I played him he used the same team as last night and No it wasn't lagging either.

I think I've played the same bloke. Is he on xbox?? If so is his gamertag Supercoach or something?

Flog. :D

Just played a guy on Xbox i think his name was Coopz01 it was probally one of the best matches that i have played. I was Carlton and he was West Coast. I kicked the first 3 goals though i was gonna win easy. He kicked the next 5. And went into half time with the score me 36 to his 54. In the last quater i kicked 6 goals. And then with 15 seconds on the clock and the score me 71 him 68. Lynch picks up the ball having already kicked 6 goals snaps at goal hits the post i kick the ball out siren goes and i win 71-69. Good fun.:thumbsu:

I think I've played the same bloke. Is he on xbox?? If so is his gamertag Supercoach or something?

Flog. :D
Yeh on Xbox. No this guy was Dan1el Nash but i have versed supercoach something as well and yeh he's a flog as well :D He used a custom Essendon team as well right?

Just had my best night on the game so far.

Playing as standard North Melbourne, I decided not to knock back any matches tonight, even 5 star created teams.

Started off well, smashing a 4 and a half star custom team, followed by a 5 star custom team. My next match was my only loss of the night - a five star team with 3 players....and I only lost by 2 goals.

I proceeded to win the next 7 matches straight, including two matches where it was 2 on 1 and also a 3 on 1 match, as well as some more 5 star custom teams.

Was just one of those nights....after I beat that first custom team, I was on a high and just felt I could do no wrong, playing a very open and fast paced style of play. Was just able to open up the game after the first 5 mins so many times to get out to a handy lead, which I was able to hold on to for the remainder of each game.

After initially hating North on this game when I first got chosen to use them in our PS3 comp, I've really come to love the way I can play using them - Harvey, Petrie, Hansen and Campbell are very much the stars in my side, all in their own separate ways :thumbsu:

I went online for the first time last night and it was great fun. Out of 7 matches, I played 5 default teams and 2 super teams. I was playing as Brisbane. I only won 1 game, but it went down to the last kick of the game twice.

In my closest game, I was 2 points down with 10 seconds to go and I had a shot on the run from 50 meters out. It landed in the goal square and bounced through for a behind as the siren went. I lost by 1 point!

After one of my online matches on Thursday, I turn on my PS3 yesterday to find a lovely message from one of the people I played: "GO EAT SHIT." Apart from all the lovely BigFooty posters, this game's community does little to excite me.

Also, I think I lost three games last night by a single point. :(

Just had my best night on the game so far.

Playing as standard North Melbourne, I decided not to knock back any matches tonight, even 5 star created teams.

Started off well, smashing a 4 and a half star custom team, followed by a 5 star custom team. My next match was my only loss of the night - a five star team with 3 players....and I only lost by 2 goals.

I proceeded to win the next 7 matches straight, including two matches where it was 2 on 1 and also a 3 on 1 match, as well as some more 5 star custom teams.

Was just one of those nights....after I beat that first custom team, I was on a high and just felt I could do no wrong, playing a very open and fast paced style of play. Was just able to open up the game after the first 5 mins so many times to get out to a handy lead, which I was able to hold on to for the remainder of each game.

After initially hating North on this game when I first got chosen to use them in our PS3 comp, I've really come to love the way I can play using them - Harvey, Petrie, Hansen and Campbell are very much the stars in my side, all in their own separate ways :thumbsu:

Haha you weren't such a sure thing in the game that we played.

Was a good shoot out though.

Speaking of winning against the odds, I beat a team of 4 last night by 2 points with my stock north melb. I think I scored 2 goals directly from their them giving away rough play free kicks.

Illnino you should try moving Wells onto the ball, I've not looked back since. :thumbsu:

I went online for the first time last night and it was great fun. Out of 7 matches, I played 5 default teams and 2 super teams. I was playing as Brisbane. I only won 1 game, but it went down to the last kick of the game twice.

In my closest game, I was 2 points down with 10 seconds to go and I had a shot on the run from 50 meters out. It landed in the goal square and bounced through for a behind as the siren went. I lost by 1 point!
I can beat that I had a game ages ago i was down by 2 points and i marked it 25m in front with 10 secs left. I took the shot after the siren, I don't think i've ever missed a goal from that distance especially in front and guess what I missed it and lost by a point. :o I didn't add enough for the arc of the kick and hooked it for a point.

After one of my online matches on Thursday, I turn on my PS3 yesterday to find a lovely message from one of the people I played: "GO EAT SHIT." Apart from all the lovely BigFooty posters, this game's community does little to excite me.

Also, I think I lost three games last night by a single point. :(

Yeah it ain't great. I say "gg" to everyone who completes a game against me, and possibly something else if something interesting has happened.

If they quit though, I send them abuse or something sarcastic :)

I usually cbf using the PSN message thing to be perfectly honest.

Speaking of winning against the odds, I beat a team of 4 last night by 2 points with my stock north melb. I think I scored 2 goals directly from their them giving away rough play free kicks.

Illnino you should try moving Wells onto the ball, I've not looked back since. :thumbsu:

Will definitely try this. Been wondering what to do with Wellsy....No good in my team on a wing or on a forward flank, just doesn't find enough of the ball (mind you, when he does, he is a sublime user of it in the game).

So my midfield will be Harvey, Swallow and Wells....Sounds pretty lethal.

Here's a tip for you mate, get rid of Grima (if you haven't already) and use Firrito as your CHB with Thompson (I think...he's a key back right?) as FB. Then use Warren as a HB flanker with McMahon, and Urquhart as a back pocket with Pratt. Rawlings to start on the bench. Perfect blend of height and pace I find, Firrito does a very good job playing tall most of the time, while Rawlings comes in handy being auto-interchanged to the midfield and even up forward sometimes where he gets me quite a few goals/assists. Get Harper into the side too :thumbsu:

Why not Hansen CHB, Petrie CHF and Edwards FF? Works well enough for me. Petrie, Edwards and McKinley should be enough marking power in the forward line.

just had a weird bug... half way through a game on xbox online my controller battery fell out ( i may or may not have smashed it on the ground :P ) anyway after that i got the disconnected controller message so i put the battery back in and it wouldn't let me go back to the game even though my controller was now re connected... Also the weird thing was my team was taken over by a AI so it was like i was playing but i wasn't...

Weird

Had a decent session tonight. Had some good competitive matches, but got r*ped twice by souped up sides again after trying to take them down with the default Crows. Nearly came back from 6 goals down in the last to beat some mug playing with a Carlton side with Franklin, JBrown, Fev, Pavlich. Ended up losing by 4 after a snap with 1 minute left went OOF. Then he just there without kicking while the clock ticked down.
He was a shit player, but half the time my backs would refuse to spoil no matter how hard I pressed the button, and the other would just get out marked anyway. Same with a beefed up Freo. Apparently it's physically impossible to spoil people like Brown, Sandi and Pavlich.

Can someone please fully explain the form line thing, because no matter how well and efficient my player goes I just cant seem to get rid of the red arrow, ive even tried dropping them but that doesnt do anything.

in a nut shell form means nothing...