Roast AFL Nepo Babies Rort

• Thread starter Thread starter Hubnester

I think that most are happy to do it without the media spot light. I'm still a bit cynical. It gives our board who oversaw most of our terrible rebuilds leading up this and their appointment of a new coach and promise of finals an out.

I think we are on the right path now but we are a lot further back than they realised.It's very possible that we have a few more years of bottom 6 finishes and if a few go possible bottom 3. When our guys who are around 30 finish up we will need a lot of our youth to have made huge strides or we could be down for a proper hard rebuild again

The board knows that that will make them come under increasing pressure. If the can convince everyone that it was all the academies in the northern states and not them it takes all pressure on them off.
Inequity is a problem for us that has spanned administrations. Obviously I have listed those that I see repeatedly in above posts. Personally I don’t care if people think that this is the current administration seeking to absolve responsibility for anything, if they enable an environment at the AFL to allow change.

Administrations will come and go but such a legacy would be golden for us.

Anyway, probably going over old ground again.

I actually think we are. At least we have people talking about it. Things have always just “gone away” for the afl. This one is lingering.

it's been 5 days, trust me this one will go away. It's been happening for 100 years in one way or another.

If we and the media are still talking about it in 5 weeks then yes it is lingering.

A bit more on the training side, working on ball skills and goal kicking would be more beneficial.

But yes keep putting kindling on the fire.

it's been 5 days, trust me this one will go away. It's been happening for 100 years in one way or another.

If we and the media are still talking about it in 5 weeks then yes it is lingering.

A bit more on the training side, working on ball skills and goal kicking would be more beneficial.

They will be training as well 👍

I actually think we are. At least we have people talking about it. Things have always just “gone away” for the afl. This one is lingering.
Its changed me, Suns will always be the Nepo babies to me now, or maybe the Nepo Sons.

You're over thinking it.

Other clubs can lose things, so they STFU and work in the background.
We are the shit kid that everyone considers the shit kid, so WGAF if we get shouted down, we'll just scream louder next time.

It's not that involved as these people aren't stupid, it's just there's far too many vested interests getting in the way to sully reputation and perceptions with, so let the shit kid take the fall if it ends belly up.

Working about as well as when GT bagged the umpires ATM. They are making us pay with fixturing and we are getting ridiculed by the media and other afl fans.

Inequity is a problem for us that has spanned administrations. Obviously I have listed those that I see repeatedly in above posts. Personally I don’t care if people think that this is the current administration seeking to absolve responsibility for anything, if they enable an environment at the AFL to allow change.

Administrations will come and go but such a legacy would be golden for us.

Anyway, probably going over old ground again.

They are already set to action it after we complained last year. It would have been introduced last year but Carlton had a meltdown.

Working about as well as when GT bagged the umpires ATM. They are making us pay with fixturing and we are getting ridiculed by the media and other afl fans.

We were already rorted with fixtures.
Fans & media were already deriding us.

They're not going to pull fundings, they're just not just as we aren't going to just not show up, the "true" threat is how the AFLPA act as that'd throw out the CBA agreement, so it's a say we have that 6 in backing there's a ground swell for class action to shake that CBA agreement if push comes to shove.

Is to say, AFL can't really do much more than they are already doing, they can just make themselves look a tad desperate for it to go away, ala the North picks in the 1st round from Kane to STFU against cries of corruption at AFL house.

Apparently the Club has been backed in by 5-6 other clubs.

Who will lobby behind the scenes.
Of course they have.
But all too nervous to put their heads up.
Well done, Saints. More power to you.

So they are just leaving us out the front to cop the crap from everyone while they hide and reap the benefits, sounds so Saints like
Who cares really?
I’m enjoying all the hoo ha and notoriety to be honest.
We’ve been “good little Sainters” for far too long.
I think we are coming of age and becoming relevant after years in the wilderness.
Yes I know, we’ve got to win games of course, but it’ll happen. We are building in more ways than one.

Then again, it could just be the glass of red talking 🤣

Pretty sure we can walk and chew gum at the same time.
Coaches and team don’t get caught up in all the administration battles.

They need to come out publicly.
It’s pretty simple it’s just gone to far by weight of numbers
Leave academies father sons etc let GC and GWS perhaps keep 1 - rest into the draft
Gonna have to so Tassie have access to something
These ghost 5-6 clubs backing us are piss weak

So for me as a close to 45 years of VFL/AFL watching I've switched off everything apart from going to games and on here.

Gringo am I the canary because this canary is dyIng? Not because of us but because the system is fundamentally screwed. I was young in the 80s and it seemed unfair and broken. The draft came in and for a glorious decade it worked.

The AFL who was bought in to oversea the game and not be beholden to the clubs has become the overseer. The pigs are walking on two legs.

I've not watched a minute of the last two Thursday or Friday night games. I'm a deep and abiding lover of Australian Rules Football. The game is dead. The Saints aren't.

Look to whom we should blame. It's not Boxer! (thanks to George Orwell)

So for me as a close to 45 years of VFL/AFL watching I've switched off everything apart from going to games and on here.

Gringo am I the canary because this canary is dyIng? Not because of us but because the system is fundamentally screwed. I was young in the 80s and it seemed unfair and broken. The draft came in and for a glorious decade it worked.

The AFL who was bought in to oversea the game and not be beholden to the clubs has become the overseer. The pigs are walking on two legs.

I've not watched a minute of the last two Thursday or Friday night games. I'm a deep and abiding lover of Australian Rules Football. The game is dead. The Saints aren't.

Very similar to me. Except I still love to watch on TV as I’m now in Sydney. I don’t watch much AFL media away from the game. Just grates me. The 80s to 2010s may have been the most equal the game was. It certainly wasn’t in the early days pre salary cap, it was success for the richest then. But at least they didn’t pretend otherwise…

Who cares really?
I think we are coming of age and becoming relevant after years in the wilderness.
Yes I know, we’ve got to win games of course, but it’ll happen. We are building in more ways than one.

I guess at least we're relevant for a second

It's been a long time since we were a consistent exciting side. It takes it out of you when hope starts to erode. When we finished well last year my son started getting excited at the start of the season. We left the game last week with him saying he's not going to another game this year. He was too young to remember 2009 or 2010 when we last had some momentum.

I'm finding footy make me angry more than happy and I'm so miserable about our prospects that I can't enjoy anyone else's fortunes. Add terrible umpiring and uneven access and the whole thing just gives me the shits.

I agree with everything you say but we are 90% self inflicted wounds. The AFL makes it harder but others have rebuilt multiple times and played off for flags before we got results for one.

I guess at least we're relevant for a second
If something actually comes of it, and appears it is starting g to happen, then we’ve made a difference to the equality of the competition. And that will always be relevant.

It's been a long time since we were a consistent exciting side. It takes it out of you when hope starts to erode. When we finished well last year my son started getting excited at the start of the season. We left the game last week with him saying he's not going to another game this year. He was too young to remember 2009 or 2010 when we last had some momentum.

I'm finding footy make me angry more than happy and I'm so miserable about our prospects that I can't enjoy anyone else's fortunes. Add terrible umpiring and uneven access and the whole thing just gives me the shits.

I agree with everything you say but we are 90% self inflicted wounds. The AFL makes it harder but others have rebuilt multiple times and played off for flags before we got results for one.

What parts are self inflicted?
The Blues rorting of SC rules?
The Dons rorting of player welfare?
The AFL using grounds that were frankly subpar for purpose?
The Eagles having a drug culture so Mainwaring could die from drug use?
What about the Cats selling farmland to lure peeps cause Geelong is a shithole that needs people which is why they plugged a prison nearby previously? (or I suppose it's technically just outside of Lara which is technically not Geelong...)
This all self inflicted?

The AFL said you're surplus to needs and creditors agreed, where we got signed off on.

Was it also self inflicted when the AFL went "I can't be stuffed amending records, but let me replay that Hawkins poster goal a billion times for the lols. WGAF about results of matches? I certainly don't."

Was it self inflicted when ASDA went "oi, AFL, WADA are doing this, better shift that GF date" and AFL went "oh shit" and shifted that GF date because there is no coincidence with such things, there's organised corruption so people can remain seated whilst the squeaky wheel spins.

Or was it self inflicted where the AFL also went "you know what, you're right, we pushed back for years about it is this particular one where we are fnally putting our foot down and going we were wrong, extra time is better. For next season cause too much pressure man, I am sweating, don't make me amend things when it's bleedingly obvious...."

What about when other clubs pres and journos go "so umm, umps kinda mighta been shifty bastards" for that be our fault? Becuse we were 50% of that match played?

Or do we only care about 2 hours of gametime and things surrounding it cause we like oval balls and staring at tight arses in shorty shorts?

I sit here and think; the Roys died for this.
Those bastards killed the Roys for this.

Who cares really?

I'm taking this option

What parts are self inflicted?
The Blues rorting of SC rules?
The Dons rorting of player welfare?
The AFL using grounds that were frankly subpar for purpose?
The Eagles having a drug culture so Mainwaring could die from drug use?
What about the Cats selling farmland to lure peeps cause Geelong is a shithole that needs people which is why they plugged a prison nearby previously? (or I suppose it's technically just outside of Lara which is technically not Geelong...)
This all self inflicted?

The AFL said you're surplus to needs and creditors agreed, where we got signed off on.

Was it also self inflicted when the AFL went "I can't be stuffed amending records, but let me replay that Hawkins poster goal a billion times for the lols. WGAF about results of matches? I certainly don't."

Was it self inflicted when ASDA went "oi, AFL, WADA are doing this, better shift that GF date" and AFL went "oh shit" and shifted that GF date because there is no coincidence with such things, there's organised corruption so people can remain seated whilst the squeaky wheel spins.

Or was it self inflicted where the AFL also went "you know what, you're right, we pushed back for years about it is this particular one where we are fnally putting our foot down and going we were wrong, extra time is better. For next season cause too much pressure man, I am sweating, don't make me amend things when it's bleedingly obvious...."

What about when other clubs pres and journos go "so umm, umps kinda mighta been shifty bastards" for that be our fault? Becuse we were 50% of that match played?

Or do we only care about 2 hours of gametime and things surrounding it cause we like oval balls and staring at tight arses in shorty shorts?

I sit here and think; the Roys died for this.
Those bastards killed the Roys for this.

Seaford which put us in massive debt for a failed move.

Keeping a head recruiter who was so obviously unqualified despite zero results from National Drafts for a years.

Failed to invest in the football department despite having money to spend on woke appointments.

Employing Lethlean to review the list with no experience then handing him the football department and list build strategy that jhas now left us with massive holes through the player group who should now be lifting the side on the back.

Extending Ratts then sacking him and promising more than we can deliver (again).

Ignoring strategy when building a list and going for quick fixes.

You could write an essay on how not to do a list build and run a successful sporting team by looking at our periods between Ross Lyon and Ross Lyon II.

Seaford which put us in massive debt for a failed move.

Keeping a head recruiter who was so obviously unqualified despite zero results from National Drafts for a years.

Failed to invest in the football department despite having money to spend on woke appointments.

Employing Lethlean to review the list with no experience then handing him the football department and list build strategy that jhas now left us with massive holes through the player group who should now be lifting the side on the back.

Extending Ratts then sacking him and promising more than we can deliver (again).

Ignoring strategy when building a list and going for quick fixes.

You could write an essay on how not to do a list build and run a successful sporting team by looking at our periods between Ross Lyon and Ross Lyon II.
that Lethlean was with us AT ALL was yet again totally due to boys club ineptness of the AFL. I know let’s just dump him at the Saints. 🙄