AFL round 1

• Thread starter Thread starter Demon3

Apparently Sportingbet are going to bring an option up that if you back the first goal scorer - it applies for the second goal scorer as well and if the player kicks the first two goals, you get double your winnings up to a maximum amount. Something like that.

Waite and Betts stand out.

Carlton are the best of good things at $1.35 (not that I advocate taking such short prices). Only a huge bag of goals by Riewoldt could scuttle it. $3.15 for 39.5+ is considerably over the odds IMO.

I'll qualify the above by saying that I don't often bet on footy because I'm not good at it.

Not sure if anyone is interested, but Tom Waterhouse has a market on Collingwood making the grand final, refunding first $100 if they don't make. Currently paying $1.80.

http://blog.tomwaterhouse.com/afl-flag-top-fluc-all-the-way-to-anzac-day/

You are tying up $100 for half a year to only win $80, but it is a free shot.

Erm, so he's basically given you $80 for free, otherwise your $100 back? Is this bloke fair dinkum? What does he have to gain if eveyone just places the minimum requirement of $100? He stands to lose alot and gain nothing, regardless of the outcome. Wow! :eek:

Yep, even if you deposit the $100, win $180, I'd guess a majority of people are too lazy to go through the withdrawal process. He gains a customer, who is more than likely to lose in the long run.

He offered the same promotion on a horse race late last year I think? MJ maybe, was paying $1.35, and he refunded all bets if she lost, up to $100. She won anyway, not a bad return for 1 afternoon, 1 bet.

Thank god Footy is back! Will be posting plays for this season also. Good luck all :thumbsu:

ATS - BLUES -18.5 (x1.5) WINNER

Write up soon

Quick question - will any sites allow multis with highest goal scorers in individual matches?

E.g. could I take a multi with Riewoldt to kick most goals tonight into Sydney to defeat Melbourne?

How is the weather looking down in Melbourne guys?

Typically weird Melbourne day. There has been some rain, the ground will be a bit wet/slippery, but at the moment the sun is out. Forecast a little bit more rain. A bit of wind as well.

Wet weather would definately help Richmond, but I still think they are no chance.

Typically weird Melbourne day. There has been some rain, the ground will be a bit wet/slippery, but at the moment the sun is out. Forecast a little bit more rain. A bit of wind as well.

Wet weather would definately help Richmond, but I still think they are no chance.

Cheers. I am looking at the over/under total game score and the weather is obviously a major factor!

High risk high reward, $200 a round over the whole season. Lets see how I go :thumbsu:

Round 1 Bet's

WB -10.5
10 units @ $1.92

Multi 1
Carlton -9.5
North +13.5
Syd +17.5
WB -8.5
Bris +18.5

5 units @ $11.23

Multi 2
Carlton -19.5
Port +57.5
WB -10.5
Syd +7.5
North +7.5

5 units @ $19.323

High risk high reward :D

Round 1 Bet's

WB -10.5
10 units @ $1.92

Multi 1
Carlton -9.5
North +13.5
Syd +17.5
WB +8.5
Bris +18.5

5 units @ $11.23

Multi 2
Carlton -19.5
Port +57.5
WB -10.5
Syd +7.5
North +7.5

5 units @ $19.323

Not bad, multi 1 looks good.

Hey Guys

I'm Thinking for tonight

Carlton -19.5 @ $1.90

I'm also leaning towards North and Sydney.

Anyone know what the Sydney v Melbourne over/under is? I reckon that might be worth getting on the under as Sydney will keep this game very low scoring

I would think the wet weather would suit Carlton more than it would Richmond.

Wet weather only separates the good players from the average ones and Carlton players are a lot more skilful than the Tigers. Plus Carltons forward structure of Betts and Garlett would do much better in the wet than Riewoldt as they rely less on one grab marking.

Hey Guys

I'm Thinking for tonight

Carlton -19.5 @ $1.90

I'm also leaning towards North and Sydney.

Anyone know what the Sydney v Melbourne over/under is? I reckon that might be worth getting on the under as Sydney will keep this game very low scoring

As mentioned before ''Total Game Score' markets usually come out on game day or 12 hours before bouncedown. Bookies usually have to weigh up weather conditions and late injuries.

For tonights match

Carlton Under 100.5 pts v Over 100.5 pts
Richmond Under 80.5 pts V Over 80.5 pts
Game Total Under 180.5 pts v Over 180.5 pts
1st Half Total Under 90.5 pts v Over 90.5 pts

Interesting to note these 2 teams have opened the season in 2008, 2009 and 2010.

Results were:
2008: Carlton 79-109 Richmond
2009: Carlton 150-67 Richmond
2010: Carlton 120-64 Richmond

all games clearly going over the 180 mark. Weather is predicted to rain tonight 40-50% precipitation.( i expect it to be heavy conditions and dew on the ground) Id be wary of touching overs in this match.

Unders in 180.5 shouldbe the best play for this match.

2U Carlton/Carlton HT/FT @ 1.58
1U Carlton (-5.5) @1.47
Collingwood (-17.5) @ 1.22
Brisbane (+ 25.5) @ 1.39
Multi @ 2.49

It's Pick Your Own Line time again.:D:D

Round 1 PYOL Multi.

1. Carlton -9.5 (@1.56)
2. Collingwood -19.5 (@1.24)
3. Hawthorn +18.5 (@1.36)
4. Brisbane +21.5 (@1.47)

1 unit @ 3.86

Only leg that has me slightly concerned is the Hawthorn leg, as I can't see Freo winning by a big margin with all the injuries they have.

Pies and Blues should cover easy.:)