Gets!

Waiting on the odds to come out for this round...

Personally I just bet on straight wins or half time straight leads.

Collingwood over Melbourne is an absolute lock.

Bulldogs over Richmond is another.

Will be getting on both.

Another week begins!

1.20 would be rad but I thought it would be under 1.10.

Bulldogs might be 1.20 at the most.

No value there but I'd be interested to see what the Collingwood line is. I'd take 6 goals I reckon but it could be more.

Yeah, at 1.06, the line is usually 40 +.

I can't blame betting agencies for offering crappy odds for round 2, they did take a battering with the first 6 favs getting up then a last minute plunge on the pies once Morris was out. (No it wasn't me, I was already on).

I refuse to back stupid odds. No value, plus I hate how people back 1.10 winners and then carry on like they've just done well for themselves and found a good thing.

Multi up and mix the lines and you only need about 4 games to get some big value.

I said I hate multis but I did it on this occasion because I wanted to lock in the odds on Geelong which are massive overs IMO @ 1.53.

I have:

Brisbane
Bulldogs

$160 @ 2.79 = potential return of $446.40

I said I hate multis but I did it on this occasion because I wanted to lock in the odds on Geelong which are massive overs IMO @ 1.53.

I have:

Brisbane
Bulldogs

$160 @ 2.79 = potential return of $446.40

You should get that - but will Hawthorn put up a better fight (with Franklin back) against Geelong than Essendon?

Hawks do have a good record against the Cats going back 5 years - and Bombers were pretty good for 3 quarters.

I wouldn't be surprised to see the Hawks try and "make a statement" that they're back next Monday whilst the Geelong players might still be a bit underdone.

Wouldn't discount Carlton on Thursday either - a point to prove to Fev, more so than a point for Fev to prove for the Blues.

You should get that - but will Hawthorn put up a better fight (with Franklin back) against Geelong than Essendon?

Hawks do have a good record against the Cats going back 5 years - and Bombers were pretty good for 3 quarters.

I wouldn't be surprised to see the Hawks try and "make a statement" that they're back next Monday whilst the Geelong players might still be a bit underdone.

Wouldn't discount Carlton on Thursday either - a point to prove to Fev, more so than a point for Fev to prove for the Blues.

I know Buddy is back but I reckon that Hawthorn played the worst ever side to grace a football field last week and will be brought back down to earth when Geelong take them on, well I hope anyway :p

Thought long and hard about including Brisbane but I can't see how Carlton can combat Fevola (that feels weird typing that) and Brown. They have Jamison, Thornton and Bower but those 2 are superstars. Brisbane will be a lot better for the run against WCE and they had a few recycled players who will be more used to each other now.

I do have the option of hedging my bets and popping $160 on Hawthorn if it comes down to the last leg, but will wait and see ;)

There is no way in hell the Crows will play that bad 2 games in a row. We absolutely dominate the Swans at AAMI and will be getting Maric and Porplyzia back.

Also steering well clear of the Port/WCE game, that could go either way.

Brisbane seem very short, 1.40 against Carlton, I know they don't have Judd, but 1.40 seems a little short to me.

Essendon at 1.45 seems like a good bet, and of the "shorties", StKilda might be value at 1.15, if you can call that value.

Port at 2.45 vs WCE seems like a nice little bet, Port have a good record on Subi, and West Coast aren't exactly reliable, even at home.

Not a great AFL betting round though.

While I think geelong will win, the Hawks have a great recent record against them, so I won't be touching that game unless it's the last leg of a small multi.

It is a shit round of betting, don't think I will get on too many games. A few really, really short teams and Cats/Hawks, Eagles/Port are too tough to call. I think Brisbane will get the win this week but they don't offer great value.

Will wait til some lines come out later in the week before I make a decision. Adelaide have a good record against Sydney recently so will probably get on them for the straight out win.

I reckon Freo are good value at $2.80.

Might put a bit on them at the line.

They really impressed me yesterday.

Carlton are surely value to keep it under three goals. Lions were cramping up last week and are coming off a 5-day break here. Collingwood will cover the 48.5 IMO, but other than that it is a useless round. Could be some 8-leg multis coming in.

difficult round as many have stated. WB and Collingwood are too short so I won't be getting on that H2H.

Probably find 2 good lines and multi that up and that will be it for me if I can find 2 good lines

Will go Collingwood at the line (don't care what the line is :p) into Essendon but only after all the flogs throw away their money on Freo.

Carlton are surely value to keep it under three goals. Lions were cramping up last week and are coming off a 5-day break here. Collingwood will cover the 48.5 IMO, but other than that it is a useless round. Could be some 8-leg multis coming in.

damn, thats a good call, placed a 2 unit bet involving the Lions.

But your right the 5 day break is an issue. But I wouldnt read too much into Carltons effort against the Tigers, still no Judd and lets see them play against Fev. It will probably allow Brown a lot of latitude.

The 5 day break is crucial.

I would be interested in the history regarding this from anyone.

I reckon Freo are good value at $2.80.

Might put a bit on them at the line.

They really impressed me yesterday.

As has been said - you are brave if you do that - do you know what their record at the Dome is?

Played - 29
Won - 7
Lost - 22

Last win there - against Carlton in Round 17, 2006 (Being one of the years Carlton was tanking).

Other wins - Round 14, 2004 - Western Bulldogs (Finished 14th and got a Priority Pick)

Collingwood - Round 4, 2004 - Pies finished 13th that year.

Western Bulldogs - Round 7, 2003. Bulldogs "won" the Wooden Spoon.

Hawthorn - Round 18, 2001. Probably their best win at the Dome given Hawthorn went on to nearly make the Grand Final. Amazingly, that was 1 of Fremantle's 2 wins that year. The year Freo actually won a Wooden Spoon - that no one can deny they deserve given their 15 years of mediocrity writ large.

Given that record - you'd be a brave man to back Freo in.

Their record against the Bombers at the Dome?

Played 8
Essendon - 8
Fremantle - 0

(Mirrors their record against my Saints by the way - haven't beaten us in Victoria since 1995)

Definately backing Swans this week to beat the Crows, don't care about records it's a new season and Swans are playing quicker footy than they used to which could trouble us again.

If anything the line margain will be a great bet, Swans don't usually get smashed.

Nth +36.5 v St Kilda at Centrebet is ridiculous.
Nth beat them last year and were right in it up until 3/4 time in the other game.

Teams always struggle after playing Sydney (especially at ANZ) and with Kosi out might be a bit one dimensional up forward.

In fact, I think Nth are a really good chance of winning.