Mega Thread AFL uses Simonds Stadium for qualifying final

• Thread starter Thread starter Vdubs

Can you guys go back and edit your posts? Just include the first line... don't quote the whole thing. :)

Leave Rossy alone!

Their city is on the brink of tipping into Thunderdome times. A dystopian​
squalor where hordes go from Target warehouse to Target warehouse, looting​
lucky bamboo pot plants and inappropriate children's wear. The economy is in​
the toilet, people are fleeing the city, they've lost two Ablett brothers​
and Cameron Ling not only refuses to leave the place, he's stopped bleaching​
his hair. The local church has taken to holding all night vigils begging God​
just to finish the job and put them all out of their misery.​

Come on Mods ban this moronic troll.I'm sick to fricking death of these bitching Freo flogs coming onto the GEELONG board and slagging off our club or city.
I hope there f***ing plane crashes on the way over.

Did you guys see Neroli asking Chris about how unfair it is etc. Her voice was quivering she was so mad, it was hilarious. Chris Scott was just like "Yep. Next question". Priceless... :rainbow:

Subject: An open letter to the AFL
If your club hadn't treated St Kilda with so little respect and if Chapman didn't touch that certain goal on the line, you probably wouldn't have had to write that huge smoking pile of bullshit in the first place.

Love how you make note that you apparently smashed teams that came up against you. As far as I know, you've had 3 wins against the top 8 all year.

If you came here looking for sympathy or awareness or something, you're sure as hell not going to get any. Do you really think we're going to have some vendetta against our own team having our own home final at our own home ground?

If your club hadn't treated St Kilda with so little respect and if Chapman didn't touch that certain goal on the line, you probably wouldn't have had to write that huge smoking pile of bullshit in the first place.

It's actually written by Shane Richmond, who runs the Dockerland website. Either way you look at it, some of it is still amusing.

It does raise a serious question though. If this event is designed to lift the spirits of the community, what happens if you lose?

It's actually written by Shane Richmond, who runs the Dockerland website. Either way you look at it, some of it is still amusing.
I don't find bullshit amusing :p

It does raise a serious question though. If this event is designed to lift the spirits of the community, what happens if you lose?
We make a huge financial profit, Fremantle fans can FINALLY stop their whinging yay (if they lose, we know we won't hear the end of it) and we'll move onto the next game quickly.

I don't find bullshit amusing :p

We make a huge financial profit, Fremantle fans can FINALLY stop their whinging yay (if they lose, we know we won't hear the end of it) and we'll move onto the next game quickly.

We the club won't as the AFL controls the tickets... but the town will make a lot from it
If Freo lose they already have their excuses ready to go... they have been making them for almost a week already

Subject: An open letter to the AFL
Dear AFL,

There are two things I really hate. Injustice and people who write open
letters. Sadly, when you gaze into the abyss, the abyss gazes also into you,
and through your recent actions, the decision to send Fremantle to Geelong,
you've turned me into what I despise, an open letter writer. May God have
mercy on me.

As Fremantle supporters, we know that the A in AFL is taken much more
literally for our team. We've been down to Tasmania to play Hawthorn and up
to Queensland to play Carlton, to Darwin to play a team you think comes from
the west and to Canberra where North Melbourne threw some cyclone fencing up
around a dog park and told us it was a football ground.

We're used to the rules being a loose set of guidelines, with umpires
intercepting marks and teams not only being allowed to take a shot on goals
after the siren but being invited back for a second shot when the first one
misses. There was even that one time when the umpire asked an Essendon
player whether he thought Fremantle should take another shot at goals or let
the point stand, after an off the ball incident. Once you fined our coach
because he wore a duffle coat to the game. It's been a colourful
relationship.

None of this has caused us too much fuss. We're a fairly laid back people in
Fremantle, we even let the protestants put up a church in town, but this
time you may have pushed us too far.

As I understand it, there is a bloody big oval in Melbourne that you
imaginatively called the Melbourne Cricket Ground. Having seen your cricket
team in action, it's hard to imagine it needs to be anywhere near that big
but it seems to be popular with the local football followers.

When we realised we were going to finish up in the nosebleed section of the
ladder we were all looking forward to heading over to watch our team play a
game of footy there. The rush of risking it all on budget airline tickets,
the hunt for a cheap hotel room that had one of those rickety box cars from
the 1800's that you like so much running past it, the anticipation of going
into a pub an ordering one of the various kinds of meats you've covered in
cheese and then named after a cut price shampoo - Parma. Normally people in
Fremantle don't even like to cross the river to North Freo but everyone was
looking forward to this one.

Unfortunately a couple of the teams in the Making Up the Numbers division
have dibs on that ground so it's caused the bloke on those bank ads some
problems regarding the grass.

That was ok though. You also built another bloody big ground that you put a
roof on, without realising that grass needs sun to grow, so wear and tear
isn't really an issue. We've played on that before where you just painted
the mud green. That's what we like about you blokes in Victoria, you're
problem solvers.

It came as a bit of a shock to us then, to hear that we'll be heading to the
country. To a place called Kardinia Park, to play our first final of the
year. We have a Kardinia Park over here as well. It's a suburban shopping
centre, we spell it with a Y and it has a similar capacity. They do a good
kebab if you're ever in the neighbourhood.

I looked up your Kardinia Park. Apparently it's in Geelong. Poor bastards.

It's bad enough that the car industry is struggling and Ford are closing
down but they've also got Target and with the bottom falling out of the
decorative frame market it must be bleak times over there.

Which brings me to my point.

Fremantle don't care where they play. Everything is bloody far away when you
come from Perth. They don't care who they play in front of. When you've
played in front of a West Coast Eagles crowd for 19 years straight, there's
very little that can scare you. Have you see some of that lot? Crikey
they're feral.

Put us on a plane, a bus, give us a walk through inbred morons telling us
about the premierships they've won and projectile vomiting a mix of dodgy
hamburgers and mid strength beer and it doesn't bother us. We call that
'Saturday'.

What you should do is consider Geelong in all this.

Their city is on the brink of tipping into Thunderdome times. A dystopian
squalor where hordes go from Target warehouse to Target warehouse, looting
lucky bamboo pot plants and inappropriate children's wear. The economy is in
the toilet, people are fleeing the city, they've lost two Ablett brothers
and Cameron Ling not only refuses to leave the place, he's stopped bleaching
his hair. The local church has taken to holding all night vigils begging God
just to finish the job and put them all out of their misery.

And you, AFL, would send Fremantle to their doorstep.

Last year the humiliation Fremantle handed them in the Elimination final
nearly broke the town on it's own. Matthew Pavlich kicked half a dozen
majors, Hayden Balantyne had 5 of their blokes take a swing at him - he
still kicked three goals. Aaron Sandilands served up the footy to Barlow and
Mundy the footy like the Ford factory used to produce cars and Stephen Hill!
Wow. Just wow.

And That was Fremantle operating on one leg with a nasty hangover. This year
Fremantle are up and firing. Teams that have played Fremantle have not only
been belted, they've gone into a downward spiral for weeks afterwards,
sometimes never to recover. Fremantle are going to annihilate this Cats team
on the weekend and you're going to force them to do it on Geelong's
doorstep. No buffer zone, no safe distance, nothing to shield them from the
horror that is about to rain down on them. Just pure, unfiltered Fremantle
hooked into the veins of Geelong.

I implore you to move the game somewhere else. The MCG, Etihad, York Park if
you must, but not to Geelong.

It's a hell of a thing to kill a man but doing it in front of his family
isn't something we'll enjoy.

Well, maybe a bit.
[George]
PS http://www.geelongcats.com.au/news/2013-07-17/geelong-wont-host-finals

"However, the AFL have made it clear that finals hosted in Victoria will
only be played at the MCG and Etihad Stadium to allow for a maximum crowd.
AFL spokesman, Patrick Keane, told News Limited that their decision to keep
Victorian finals in Melbourne is based on capacity and increasing peoples
chances of a seat, even if it's not their team. "It's just our view on
capacity that the largest possible number of people should be able to attend
matches during the finals, so therefore we use the MCG and, potentially,
Etihad for one final in the first two weeks," Keane explained."

Call me a cynic but the fix is in here ...​
Poor purple ****s. Afl will never let you win a flag, it would make the game a laughing stock.

Definitely has a talent for amusing invective.
Made me think of an old mate who used to handle complaint letters for a semi-govt instrumentality. For the legit ones he'd collect the info and draft a reply for his boss to OK. For the loopy ones, he'd give his recommendations to the boss to draft a reply, and he had a couple of rubber stamps made up for some standard replies, to wit:
Polite ones
Dear Sir,
We have read and carefully considered your letter of etc
Please do not write again.
And impolite ones
Dear Sir,
We have read and carefully considered your letter of etc
Please Eff Off.

That 40000 word wall of tears is exactly why freo is the laughing stock minnow of the AFL.

Did you guys see Neroli asking Chris about how unfair it is etc. Her voice was quivering she was so mad, it was hilarious. Chris Scott was just like "Yep. Next question". Priceless... :rainbow:

Yeah she was an absolute moron on Before the Game too.

FOR THE LOVE OF GOD STOP QUOTING THAT ******* POST IN FULL!
This is probably the most sensible post in this thread

And I now kinda want to quote the post in full