ATSAM

Arrive at the footy on Friday night to find that my membership will not allow me to enter the ground. Fully booked they say, go and stand in that queue for 30 mins and pay an additional $8 and you can enter!
Thought about it and did, if only to support the players after that awful Sydney game. But what the *******. $30 plus dollars to go to a game, sure we were allocated a seat on the back of $8 but I had been prepared to stand. For a friend who couldn't find a babysitter an extra $8 would have not been affordable.
On Sunday it was a $10 entry to the Movies, similar entertainment, similar time spent there.
Who gets the $8, why would I take out a membership as it affords me nothing(except the vague chance of a ticket to a Grand Final if my team plays), what benefit is a membership when it bars you from getting into a game.
And of course 36,500 odd people only at the game. A Joke. The AFL have and continue to destroy the game for ordinary members.

I totally agree. The variable ticket pricing is a disincentive to take out memberships, and a disincentive to go to the "premium" games when you have to fork out extra on top of your membership. It seems like a greedy attempt to gouge supporters to pay more for a reserved seat, and is even worse when you see the final attendance at the Carlton game was only 36,000, with plenty of empty seats everywhere.

I believe both the variable ticket pricing and the poor scheduling, with games on Thursday nights, Sunday twilight and Monday nights are all detrimental to the game overall. These times are not family-friendly, and not convenient for the majority of people who have to work the following day, and are clearly designed just for the TV audience. Crowd numbers are clearly down this year for all AFL games, and I think ticket prices and scheduling are both significant factors.

These decisions by the AFL are short sighted attempts at maximising revenue, without understanding that reducing crowd numbers at the games will have long-term negative effects on footy in general. Without grass-roots support at the games, particularly from loyal members who take out club memberships, some clubs will continue to struggle financially, which has a flow-on effect to the money they can spend in the footy department, player recruitment and development, and their on-field success. Perpetually under performing and struggling teams are detrimental to the whole competition, as no one wants to watch one-sided blowouts every week.

Arrive at the footy on Friday night to find that my membership will not allow me to enter the ground. Fully booked they say, go and stand in that queue for 30 mins and pay an additional $8 and you can enter!
Thought about it and did, if only to support the players after that awful Sydney game. But what the *******. $30 plus dollars to go to a game, sure we were allocated a seat on the back of $8 but I had been prepared to stand. For a friend who couldn't find a babysitter an extra $8 would have not been affordable.
On Sunday it was a $10 entry to the Movies, similar entertainment, similar time spent there.
Who gets the $8, why would I take out a membership as it affords me nothing(except the vague chance of a ticket to a Grand Final if my team plays), what benefit is a membership when it bars you from getting into a game.
And of course 36,500 odd people only at the game. A Joke. The AFL have and continue to destroy the game for ordinary members.
I just spoke to someone today who told me that she paid $400-ish for her membership (just an average one- not the gold standard ;)) and she then pays $30 on top of that for each game that the AFL has deemed she needs to pay extra for. It's a huge joke and I hope that people continue to not line the pockets of the AFL in this fashion. the online booking fee is also ridiculous.

A mate of mine was sick of working too hard.
So he put his prices up 30% and lost 30% of his customers.

Zero change in revenue.
Maybe the AFL are going that way. They lose no money, TV viewers go up.
WIN.

I have always had a reserved seat at K'Park, Jihad and the G for home games so the whole "Fully Ticketed" thing is not a concern. But I think that the idea has hairs on it.

where have you been? do you not get the emails from the club re games and ticketing?

i think the $8.50 is daylight robbery but there was plenty of advance notice beforehand that the crooks were charging members.

I totally agree. The variable ticket pricing is a disincentive to take out memberships, and a disincentive to go to the "premium" games when you have to fork out extra on top of your membership. It seems like a greedy attempt to gouge supporters to pay more for a reserved seat, and is even worse when you see the final attendance at the Carlton game was only 36,000, with plenty of empty seats everywhere.

variable pricing is nothing but a price gouge on members.

my entry was $8.50 but general admin was $25. general admin arent paying the $8.50, so why are members?

and the handling fee is a total rort...apparently it costs more for a computer to spit out a ticket which one prints out on their own resources than for a attendant to man a booth and print out a ticket.o_O