An Omen for Friday Night

SpiritOfCarlton

http://spiritofcarlton.com/blog/2011/04/03/an-omen-for-friday-night/

This Friday night we will witness one of the most hyped Carlton versus Collingood games for quite some time. Both teams undefeated, both with a long and traditional rivalry.

If you read the papers, watch the TV and peruse the net you would be forgiven for thinking that Collingwood are an invincible winning machine. This is a team that scraped through by the barest of margins for a second chance at a premiership against a club that has one premiership in over a century. Since then they have beaten Port Adelaide and North Melbourne, two teams currently in the bottom four and looking likely to stay there.

This scenario brings back some memories.

After Essendon convincingly won the 2000 premiership they won their first two rounds of the 2001 season. They were being praised as possibly the greatest team of all time, they seemed invincible.

The two teams they defeated in the first two round were ..... Port Adelaide and North Melbourne.

Essendon were due to play guess who in Round 3?

Yes, Carlton.

This was the game where the Blues had Silvagni, Bradley and Kouta as late withdrawals before the game. The Blues were given no chance at all against the invincible Bombers.

We won by 17 points!

Lets just see what happens on Friday night. No team is invincible.

http://spiritofcarlton.com/blog/2011/04/03/an-omen-for-friday-night/

This Friday night we will witness one of the most hyped Carlton versus Collingood games for quite some time. Both teams undefeated, both with a long and traditional rivalry.

If you read the papers, watch the TV and peruse the net you would be forgiven for thinking that Collingwood are an invincible winning machine. This is a team that scraped through by the barest of margins for a second chance at a premiership against a club that has one premiership in over a century. Since then they have beaten Port Adelaide and North Melbourne, two teams currently in the bottom four and looking likely to stay there.

This scenario brings back some memories.

After Essendon convincingly won the 2000 premiership they won their first two rounds of the 2001 season. They were being praised as possibly the greatest team of all time, they seemed invincible.

The two teams they defeated in the first two round were ..... Port Adelaide and North Melbourne.

Essendon were due to play guess who in Round 3?

Yes, Carlton.

This was the game where the Blues had Silvagni, Bradley and Kouta as late withdrawals before the game. The Blues were given no chance at all against the invincible Bombers.

We won by 17 points!

Lets just see what happens on Friday night. No team is invincible.

OMG I was at that game, it was STUPENDOUS

Ha , here;s hoping !

If you want another spooky coincidence, both sides have conceded 136 points. And we have been sans Jamo, our best defender. :eek:

Real test this one. If we can win this, even by a point the lid will come completely off and top 4 is odds on.

Now this could be a game where an honorable loss is acceptable.

If you want another spooky coincidence, both sides have conceded 136 points. And we have been sans Jamo, our best defender. :eek:

Real test this one. If we can win this, even by a point the lid will come completely off and top 4 is odds on.

Couldn't really call this a coincidence, but rather a fact :):thumbsu:

Well facts can be coincidental, which is what this is.

We have had 75 scoring shots to their 73, but they have been more accurate to have amassed 298 points to our 275, so our poor accuracy last week is reflected in this. Of the 136 points against each ours was made up of 36 scoring shots from our 2 opponents of which 20 were goals, compared to 41 scoring for collingwoods opponents of which 19 were goals. We both kept our opponent to 7 goals this week. We both have 2 players each in the leading goalkickers, we have 2 on 7, Garlett and Walker, they have Cloke on 7 and Dawes on 6. We both have 2 players in the top 5 possession winners, they have Pendles and Swan, we have Murph and Gibbs.

Inside 50s we had 132 to their 144 and restricted our opponents to 78 inside 50's while they allowed 104 so we seem to have controlled our opponents better despite allowing the tigers to come back (the pies allowed a similar run on for port who came back from 10 goals down to only 3 before being blown way again, ours seemed worse because our poor kicking meant we were only 4 goals up and went in at 3/4 time 2 goals down to go back to 3 goals up) so again these 2 sides have performed very similar in their 2 respective games, against similarly poor opponents, arguably Collingwood have played slightly better opponents overall.

One key indicator they are superior on is tackles, we have had 133 so far, they have had 154. We have to pressure them, and this is one area we must match them in.

Our rucks are giving us first use (second only to WCE), having 90 hit outs to their 65.

If you didnt know recent form you would say both these sides on paper were closely matched.

Lets hope the game is a close one. If it is we will have done well.

I went to that game with a mate and we sat in the car and debated whether to go in and face the wrath of my brother who is a Bummers supporter, knowing we were on a hiding to nothing with the late withdrawals. Given the long journey to get there we decided to be brave in the face of impossible odds.

When they played the two theme songs before the match I leant over and told my brother to enjoy singing the Bummers song as it would be the only time he would hear it that day. Didn't need to say a word after the match, singing "We are the Navy Blues" at full volume was reward enough after my brother snuck out without saying goodbye before the siren.

One of the sweetest victories I have ever seen live given the circumstances. If it could happen again .......

Collingwood have played no one. Port and North are lowly sides. We seemingly have played no one although I think Richmond are much improved and playing well. Time will tell, this will be a great test and it would be good to wipe the arrogance off the faces of Collingwood people and the stinking media.

Fantastic stuff Spirit :) Really pumped for Friday night now!

THESE are the games we bleed Blue for. I yearn for the days that I could stand up in front of the Scum or the Filth and declare boldly "we took it to ya, you dirty buggers" regardless of the result.

Losses happen. Invariably, so do big losses! But all I want every week - win, lose or draw - is to be able to hold my head up high because we've given it a red hot go.

GO BLUES

Well facts can be coincidental, which is what this is.

We have had 75 scoring shots to their 73, but they have been more accurate to have amassed 298 points to our 275, so our poor accuracy last week is reflected in this. Of the 136 points against each ours was made up of 36 scoring shots from our 2 opponents of which 20 were goals, compared to 41 scoring for collingwoods opponents of which 19 were goals. We both kept our opponent to 7 goals this week. We both have 2 players each in the leading goalkickers, we have 2 on 7, Garlett and Walker, they have Cloke on 7 and Dawes on 6. We both have 2 players in the top 5 possession winners, they have Pendles and Swan, we have Murph and Gibbs.

Inside 50s we had 132 to their 144 and restricted our opponents to 78 inside 50's while they allowed 104 so we seem to have controlled our opponents better despite allowing the tigers to come back (the pies allowed a similar run on for port who came back from 10 goals down to only 3 before being blown way again, ours seemed worse because our poor kicking meant we were only 4 goals up and went in at 3/4 time 2 goals down to go back to 3 goals up) so again these 2 sides have performed very similar in their 2 respective games, against similarly poor opponents, arguably Collingwood have played slightly better opponents overall.

One key indicator they are superior on is tackles, we have had 133 so far, they have had 154. We have to pressure them, and this is one area we must match them in.

Our rucks are giving us first use (second only to WCE), having 90 hit outs to their 65.

If you didnt know recent form you would say both these sides on paper were closely matched.

Lets hope the game is a close one. If it is we will have done well.

FFS mate you cant compare stats of carl and coll when when we have played the GC, it skews the stats far too much given what an absolute pasting we gave them.

In all honesty you cant compare the likes of North Melb to Gold Coast.

These stats are not an accurate reflection, Collingwood are still streets ahead of us. Hopefully on Fri night we can go some way to closing the gap but we are a fair way off just yet.

FFS mate you cant compare stats of carl and coll when when we have played the GC, it skews the stats far too much given what an absolute pasting we gave them.

In all honesty you cant compare the likes of North Melb to Gold Coast.

These stats are not an accurate reflection, Collingwood are still streets ahead of us. Hopefully on Fri night we can go some way to closing the gap but we are a fair way off just yet.

I can. In fact I just did. There were a lot of people predicting GC would beat us, suddenly all the things that made them think that no longer exist? For all you know North could continue to get towelled by everyone, we will smash Collingwood this week and Gold Coast will play well against the Bulldogs. Unlikely yes, but possible.

So lighten up. If you dont like the comparisons fine. Tell ya story walkin.

Collingwood have only beaten the same two teams that last years wooden spooners have also beaten.

Great pick-up. Also the 'subi-factor' would've been relevant for the Kangas with a 6-day turnaround after playing in 35C heat on the largest ground in Aus.

Carlton have beaten no-one? Tell that to the Saints, who even with Lenny gone, had fewer outs than us and couldn't beat the Tigers. At full strength, our side is closer to Collingwood then they think.

Richmond board.

As good as Collingwood are, i'm going to keep my classic Carlton arrogance.
F*ck losing. If we lose, i'll be shattered for a week. Same if we drew. Doesn't matter how good we play.
I don't give a shit if it bites me on the arse. It might be Collingwood.

But we're Carlton.

You do have a chance at winning,but i doubt you will.

Will be a good game it will show both sides at where they are at.

Believe me the Pies are only motoring along in second gear at the moment,besides who would want to be playing their best footy at the moment only 2 rounds in.Granted we have only played weaker sides but we beat them both by at least 10 goals,playing in second gear.

Either way the blues will play hard footy,and at the moment carlton are firing on all cylinders.

So what does that tell you,that if we beat you while we are in second gear?

Either way there will be least 80k there,and the papers have to sell papers so of course they will build this game up its media hype!

Either way the blues will play hard footy,and at the moment carlton are firing on all cylinders.

Dunno about the "all cylinders" thing mate. Kreuz, Jamison, Bower, Henderson are a few guaranteed ins that haven't been playing. Hopefully a couple of them will be fit and firing for this week, just hope they are not rusty from being on the sidelines.

Richmond board.

As good as Collingwood are, i'm going to keep my classic Carlton arrogance.
F*ck losing. If we lose, i'll be shattered for a week. Same if we drew. Doesn't matter how good we play.
I don't give a shit if it bites me on the arse. It might be Collingwood.

But we're Carlton.

Plenty of time for that. If we only beat em once this year I want it to be truly memorable.

You do have a chance at winning,but i doubt you will.

Will be a good game it will show both sides at where they are at.

Believe me the Pies are only motoring along in second gear at the moment,besides who would want to be playing their best footy at the moment only 2 rounds in.Granted we have only played weaker sides but we beat them both by at least 10 goals,playing in second gear.

So what does that tell you,that if we beat you while we are in second gear?
!
It tells us you are a feral flog of the highest order who is wanking at full steam .
Love to see the Mighty Blues roll the filth and put some of you toothless flogs back into your holes .

Im going to the 2nd clash later on in the year, would be an enormous build up to that one if we pulled over the line in this one. Cannot wait!!