Angwin resigns

Banhammer Big House Under 70s
Yet another wasted Victorian draft pick becomes homesick and quits

Unfortunately the AFL rules prevent the club from replacing Angwin on the list with an extra pick in tomorrows draft.

Doh!!

What a cant of a rule

:(

What it does mean however is that it effectively adds one of our rookies to the main list.

Its not like Crows expand the main list, they just pick rookies as normal.

Then as soon as any of the rookies looks like meriting selection, Crows can list Angwin as a "long term injury", and pick the promising rookie in his place.

Net effect - Crows don't have to wait for a long term injury to be able to select one of their rookie players if they want to. Outcome - Crows have got one rookie player added to their main list already.

Thats about the only positive thing about the whole affair.

That, and the fact that if Angwin wants to go to another (presumably Victorian) AFL club, then he will still have to be traded by Crows.

I feel it unlikely that another club would be interested in the quitter (shades of Tom Gilligan here), but you never know.

John Reid was saying on TV tonight that they would still hold him on the list and see if he wants to come back early next year. OK sure, they can promote a rookie, but why hold a spot open for a guy that does not want to be here? Especially when there is no certainty that he will do well in the VFL (if he gets a run there).

Jerome

You could tell this guy was a no hoper from his first training session when he fainted and bashed his head on the concrete. Another kid that obviously has no heart or will to succeed in the face of adversity.
In a way that was the best thing about Vardy - who had 5 groin operations by the age of 19....he worked hard and succeeded.

The guy is injury prone anyway....how many games did he play last year?? 4? He got injured in every game he played! Plus he is a sook.

No big loss really. Just means youll probably have Jamar on your list next season - as he will probly be drafted by you's in the rookie/pre season draft.

Still, its a shame because we haven't had many top 10 draft picks over the years, and this one seems to have gone begging.

Still, as they say one door closes another opens. Hopefully we will upgrade a youngster from the rookies that will do us proud.

Garth

Originally posted by Macca19
No big loss really. Just means youll probably have Jamar on your list next season - as he will probly be drafted by you's in the rookie/pre season draft.
Nope - they went for Trent Hentshell in the Pre-Season draft and Melbourne picked Jamar in the Rookie draft before TROSA got the chance.

Hawthorn would take Angwin, both for the family connection, but also because of the success of Picioane. Quitting the Crows isn't a disincentive to being picked up by a Victorian club.

This is really bad for us. I thought this season he would breakthrough and be a good ruckman for years to come.....If he backflips and decides to stay....would we all want him? If hes heart isnt with the club.........let him go. I personally think hes heart isnt even in the game!

Originally posted by Porthos
Hawthorn would take Angwin, both for the family connection, but also because of the success of Picioane. Quitting the Crows isn't a disincentive to being picked up by a Victorian club.

This isn't exactly the case though, Porthos. Hawthorn or any other team cannot simply "take" or "pick up" Angwin. They would have to trade with Crows for him. They would have to offer Crows a player or draft pick in return.

And that is a disincentive for Vic clubs.

Originally posted by ok.crows

This isn't exactly the case though, Porthos. Hawthorn or any other team cannot simply "take" or "pick up" Angwin. They would have to trade with Crows for him. They would have to offer Crows a player or draft pick in return.

And that is a disincentive for Vic clubs.

Not just Vic clubs. Any club that has to trade. Not enough of one that they'd just say no though, I'd expect. In any case, the quote below was what I was replying to.

I feel it unlikely that another club would be interested in the quitter (shades of Tom Gilligan here), but you never know.

The mere fact that he quit the Crows probably isn't a disincentive.

Sounds like with all his injury problems combined with homesickness, he has had enough & packed his bags. A real pity, as the guy has the talent to make it. Certainly he is the ruckman/forward type we need.

I think it is in the Crows should send him home to play in the VFL. Hopefully, he will get some decent form in an environment that he is more confortable & could give the Crows the option of playing him mid-season &/or provide some (rather than no) value as a trade at the end of next season.

Personally, i think the Crows have done everything they could reasonably do to help Angwin.

1) They drafted his best mate to come over with him
2) They made sure they were at the same SANFL club

What more could they do? But Angwin is running off because he doesn't want to make an 1 hour flight (which he could easily afford) to visit his family on a weekend?

Originally posted by Porthos
What more could they do? But Angwin is running off because he doesn't want to make an 1 hour flight (which he could easily afford) to visit his family on a weekend?

Good point, it's quicker to go to Melbourne than go to a game at Noarlunga. He must be a real softc**k to be 'homesick' while living just down the road. It's not as if he has been relocated to Kabul. Obviously his heart isn't in it and the Crows are better off without him.

How much is a flight to Melbourne from Adelaide these days? Probably less than the amount you would pay for petrol.

Originally posted by Blues_Brat

Good point, it's quicker to go to Melbourne than go to a game at Noarlunga. He must be a real softc**k to be 'homesick' while living just down the road. It's not as if he has been relocated to Kabul. Obviously his heart isn't in it and the Crows are better off without him.

Like M.Robran was a soft**k when he walked out of Hawthorn ten years ago???

Aside from that I agree to an extent. If they (all players) go into a draft where they could end up anywhere they should accept that with the pay cheque there getting for (essentially) unproved talent they have to make the sacrifice to earn that pay cheque.

But strictly as a Hawks fan, I hope we get him cheap! ;)

Grendel - What do you reckon the Hawks will offer for a talented player who can only play in Victoria to avoid homesickness? 2nd round pick perhaps (he was our no. 1 pick last year). I mean you did get a good deal for Rehny & Lance. I'm hoping he will go home to play in the VFL to demonstrate he can play footy. Also, I think there is less chance of him being picked up by the breathiliser!

Kane, its really hard to judge how things will work out ten months down the track.

From reports ive heard, all he (Angwin) ever wanted was to play for the Hawks. Now that he has shown (lets face it a questionable application to 'stick at a hard task') his value (much like Lance id guess) would have diminshed somewhat.

Saying that, the Hawks DO need to get a replacement ruckman (a real one) and soon. Rehns a short (2/3 more seasons at best...and THATS being optomistic on my part)! ;) We do have two 'young' listed (Loats, most Hawks fans dont rate him, Campbell the jnr monstaa called so for his resembalance to Thompson, he is rated but very raw and maybe not quite tall enough *195cm* for a 'true' ruck). So im sure Angwin would be seriously looked at and what sort of trade/deal could arise is anyones guess.

A homesick, soft mentally but gifted young player with some injury soft tissue concerns two seasons down from his intial drafting.

From a Crow view point, they would id suppose hope for that 2nd round pick you mentioned. From a drafting perspective id say it would be the lowest they could get (probably fifth, more likely fourth). Add to that other Clubs that are sure to come into the mix looking for young rucks (Woods, Dons, Blues) that could strengthen Adelaides bargining position. Or maybe Angwin goes into the pre-season (if a Vic club finished lowest on the ladder).

I reckon this could be a very interesting situation around October this year. We should drag it up again then and see how close the outcome comes to the speculation!! :D

Cheers.