Storm, Bushies
Crows stung by Johnson: Trigg
11:23:53 AM Thu 10 October, 2002
afl.com.au

The Crows concede they’ve been ‘stung’ by Kane Johnson’s determination to return to his hometown, Melbourne, and the experience will make them rethink their recruiting priorities.

Adelaide chief executive Steven Trigg said the club was extremely disappointed to lose Johnson, whose 104 games over seven seasons included two premierships.

“He wants to go back to Melbourne, his home town. We’ve had a bit of a battle with him over the past couple of contract negotiations to keep him here in Adelaide and have done so successfully up to this time,” Trigg told Sport927.

He said that proximity and locality were becoming increasingly important factors in deciding which players to recruit.

“You do need to think about it. The biggest draft pool is in Victoria, but if you lined up a player from interstate against a local one, it tends to be more and more weighted significantly in terms of the home-grown product.”

Trigg conceded, however that homesickness works both ways.

“Over the years we’ve had players come back after stints in Victoria like Jarman, Ellen, Robran, Bond, Koster and the list goes on.”

“It just stings a bit when you lose one that’s so valuable to you,” he said.

Johnson is believed to be keen to move to Punt Road, but Trigg said it was by no means a fait accompli that the midfielder would end up at Tigerland.

Trigg said Adelaide was interested in picking-up Tiger discard Jason Torney, who is understood to been keen to return ‘home’ to South Australia.

“We like him as a player. But at the same time there’s no formality that’s been applied to that either. We’re going to endure a fair bit of speculation over the next couple of weeks.”

Meanwhile, Wayne Carey, according to Trigg, is in ‘great nick’ and shaping up nicely ahead of the deal with the Kangaroos that’s expected to clear the path for his move to the Crows.

“He’s keen to demonstrate his commitment to Adelaide and be settled here prior to the trade,” said Trigg.

“He has been super-impressive in terms of our dealings with him, the way he’s presented himself physically and his desire to play again. We will do everything we possibly can to turn that agreement with have with him to come to us next year into a trade.”

As I have said, a deal already has been worked out by Richmond and Johnson, Johnson will do a Carey and demand to get traded to Richmond, and like Trigg said they are interested in Torney so Torney + Another player + a third or fourth round pick should be enough!

Interesting wasn't it on Brownlow night Patrick Bowden was sitting on the Richmond table, and not on the Bulldogs table......just a thought to take to bed with you!

are u sure you couldnt write any more mate, i think u could probably squeeze in about three more chapter, so stop bludging.

If we can get Kane Johnson without getting tangled up in the
Carey deal ,all the better .
How about Torney ,Rogers , & fourth round pick

We can't trade the 3rd round pick as it will be used for the father&son rule for McGhie.....

I really don't want to give away our 1st round pick (no 4 ) to the
Roo's :confused: :eek: .........:cool:

Originally posted by Tigerbob
Interesting wasn't it on Brownlow night Patrick Bowden was sitting on the Richmond table, and not on the Bulldogs table......just a thought to take to bed with you!

Don't they only invite around 5 players and then they get to bring a guest? And those invites go to the players who have a chance of winning the Brownlow so Patrick wouldn't have got an invite. Joel must have taken him along.

Originally posted by TheFoxhat

We can't trade the 3rd round pick as it will be used for the father&son rule for McGhie.....

Johnson is a gun & I doubt would be traded for 2 players you wish to disguard & late pick. Start mentioning Ottens & we may be closer to the mark. ;) :p

Don't really like the 4th pick, you want the third and the first so logically you could give us the second. But I don't really like this trade but we'll see what the clubs think. I'm with Kane, Ottens sounds pretty good.;)

McGhie

I think it has been decided that Lucas McGhie isnt going to be worth a 3rd round pick

We are still keen to get him to Tigerland, but will look at taking him with a later pick in the draft, he is more of a project player, similar to Ray Hall, who may take a few years to develop, and we are looking for some ready made midfield talent with our higher picks

Is giving away the #4 for Johnson really a bad thing though?

He is 24yo with 6-7 years at least ahead of him,

On the other hand, we can use it to pick up an 18yo midfielder who will take 1-2 years to develop into the type of player Kane is now.

So essentially, we can spend another two years waiting for our senior midfield to develop whilst bolstering Coburgs, or we can get Johnson now and boost Richmond's midfield from next year on, whilst letting others develop over the next couple of years.

We have an URGENT need for a good midfielder in the vein of a Kane Johnson.... Using our #4 on a young kid is not going to achieve that goal, a trade is and oif #4 has to be sacrificed to achieve it. I don't neccesarily see that as a bad thing.

You can wish all you like lads ,but you wont be getting Ottens .

He is a tiger :) :D ...................:cool:
...but if he came to the Crows it would make room in your salary cap for Gasper's next pay rise & give Richo full access to your forward line. ;)

Would the Carlton salary cap situation potentially change this mix? If Carlton lost their first 2 picks and we ended up with #2 in the draft, does this make it too valuable to trade away?

I agree with those that think that #4 is too high a price to pay.

I see your point meltiger, but I really would like to have my cake and eat it too! As a starting point, Torney and pick #19 (maybe #17) seems fair.

Could also Ben Holland be thrown into the mix?

As for Ottens, tell 'em they're dreamin'! :p

Even though he did his knee and there's a chance he might do a dragga and do it twice (hopefully not touch wood), I wouldn't trade dutchy as we need someone to take the more bulky/strong forward (for instance Barry Hall, Lynch, Brown). We got stretched in defence (even given our midfield was non-existent) with Gaspar taking the main forward then AK taking the next. Dutchy seem to balance us there when he plays IMHO.

PUNTROADEND - The Voice of the Tiger Army.

Originally posted by rfctigerarmy
I dont want to see our fourth pick go at all.

Tigers join `Duck' hunt
By MICHELANGELO RUCCI
18 October 2002

RICHMOND is ready to help Adelaide's campaign to get Wayne "The Duck"
Carey, but it wants resigned Crows midfielder Kane Johnson in return.

And the Tigers have knocked back the proposal the Kangaroos are
understood to have put to Adelaide this week ­ get Richmond's valuable
first-round draft pick, No. 4, for 24-year-old Johnson and hand it and
the Crows' No. 14 pick over for 31-year-old Carey.

Carey, who is waiting to sign a two-year contract with the Crows,
arrived in Adelaide yesterday afternoon to take up residence.

Richmond's new director of football, Greg Miller, yesterday ruled out
next week trading the No. 4 draft pick for Johnson.

"It's not what we want to do, so we're looking at other options that
allow a three-club deal between us, Adelaide and the Kangaroos," said
Miller, a former chief executive at the Kangaroos.

"We've spoken to Adelaide and sincerely believe something can happen.

"There is a good chance we can link Kane Johnson's trade to us and
Wayne Carey's move to Adelaide. And if we do, we'll be happy ­ we'll
have got our man (Johnson)."

Richmond's critical part in engineering Carey's trade to Adelaide will
not be consolidated until after the weekend. Miller cannot convene a
match committee meeting at Punt Road until all of Richmond's football
department returns from Ireland and London, where the Tigers played
Essendon in an exhibition match on the weekend.

And there also is a telling meeting in Adelaide next week between
Miller and Richmond utility Jason Torney, who could feature in the
trade.

Originally posted by mellowyellow

Tigers join `Duck' hunt
By MICHELANGELO RUCCI
18 October 2002

RICHMOND is ready to help Adelaide's campaign to get Wayne "The Duck"
Carey, but it wants resigned Crows midfielder Kane Johnson in return.

And the Tigers have knocked back the proposal the Kangaroos are
understood to have put to Adelaide this week get Richmond's valuable
first-round draft pick, No. 4, for 24-year-old Johnson and hand it and
the Crows' No. 14 pick over for 31-year-old Carey.

Carey, who is waiting to sign a two-year contract with the Crows,
arrived in Adelaide yesterday afternoon to take up residence.

Richmond's new director of football, Greg Miller, yesterday ruled out
next week trading the No. 4 draft pick for Johnson.

"It's not what we want to do, so we're looking at other options that
allow a three-club deal between us, Adelaide and the Kangaroos," said
Miller, a former chief executive at the Kangaroos.

"We've spoken to Adelaide and sincerely believe something can happen.

"There is a good chance we can link Kane Johnson's trade to us and
Wayne Carey's move to Adelaide. And if we do, we'll be happy we'll
have got our man (Johnson)."

Richmond's critical part in engineering Carey's trade to Adelaide will
not be consolidated until after the weekend. Miller cannot convene a
match committee meeting at Punt Road until all of Richmond's football
department returns from Ireland and London, where the Tigers played
Essendon in an exhibition match on the weekend.

And there also is a telling meeting in Adelaide next week between
Miller and Richmond utility Jason Torney, who could feature in the
trade.

whatcha trying to tell me?

Originally posted by rfctigerarmy

whatcha trying to tell me?

"Richmond's new director of football, Greg Miller, yesterday ruled out
next week trading the No. 4 draft pick for Johnson. "

tigers

happy days...Duck's worth a 2nd round pick and/or an OK player...
True : at his peak, you'd have to give 'em 2 first round picks and a star....No argument there. But that's history.

so we could end up with kane Johnson, des Headland and No.4 in the draft...wow...! :)

somehow though...I think Brissie will trade Des.

Originally posted by mellowyellow

"Richmond's new director of football, Greg Miller, yesterday ruled out next week trading the No. 4 draft pick for Johnson. "
Sugar may end up at another Melbourne club such as the Pies then, who would be offering more than your 2nd round pick...

Originally posted by GhostofJimJess
Jason Torney and our 4th Round (No.52) - our 3rd Round (No.36) at a real stretch .... that's the best offer you'll get in this town.
We will soon see about that. Reckon the Crows will get more than a 3rd round pick (& a player another team wishes to disgard) for a player in demand such as Sugar.