Anything on which to make that claim, or are you just flinging a warm n fuzzy statement out there to make the gullible feel good...Originally posted by chemical
Also now in the heartland now, the Lions rate better than the Broncos

If you are seeing this notice, posts and uploads you make now may be lost when we cut over to the upgraded system. This should only last a few hours.
Post feedback, issues, errors and omissions here. Read the OP first, please.
Due to a number of factors, support for the current BigFooty mobile app has been discontinued. Your BigFooty login will no longer work on the Tapatalk or the BigFooty App - which is based on Tapatalk.
Apologies for any inconvenience. We will try to find a replacement.
Anything on which to make that claim, or are you just flinging a warm n fuzzy statement out there to make the gullible feel good...Originally posted by chemical
Also now in the heartland now, the Lions rate better than the Broncos
AFL types would have you believe those poeple dount count.. because OzTam figures suit the agenda of AFL types to create the illusion of being bigger than they really are compared to the NRL.Originally posted by Hicham
Hurbie, just to confirm your point, you will find that Newcastle's NBN Television is in fact the 4th largest TV market in the country -
"This market has a population of 1.7 million people, and is the 4th largest television market in Australia, behind Sydney, Melbourne and Brisbane".
http://www.nbntv.com.au/main.php?page=about
Hicham.
ohOriginally posted by littleduck
are you just flinging
theOriginally posted by littleduck
a warm n fuzzy statement out there
ironyOriginally posted by littleduck
to make the gullible feel good...
Feel free to object, thats being too agreeable..Originally posted by nicko18
true
true
If I took 6 of 1 and half doz of the other you'd have a dozen stubbies to watch the game.. why would you complain? (unless it was VB)or Australian Football, perhaps might be six of one half a dozen of the other?
Yes, I would cuddle Katie Holmes if given the chance..If that's what turns you on, then each to their own.
You should have gone down to 4 decimal places to round back to 3..or should that be multiplication? Negligible either way.
If you say it hasn't , it most probably hasNo it hasn't. Rubbish.
Aren't they the same place?Both Stadium Australia previously and Olympic Park currently both had better tracks.
Where can I get a new stylus?Please don't tell me you still use vinyl you funky thing you!
Consider it blown..I only have to point as far as a Jehovas Witness to blow your theory out of the water here.
but southern border towns of NSW like AFL..arguable, NSW + Qld still has 52% of the population.
Would you like Hoppa to help the AFL push up into NSW & QLD?John Hopoate board![]()
Have you been to the basketball again?Only assuming the said seats are undercover, and preferably under a closed roof.
True.Originally posted by nicko18
i'm surprised some ratings company doesnt do the whole lot of Australia, surely sponsors would also be interested in these large markets that are neglected in Oztam? Why is it sponsors are only interested in capital city ratings? i thought people from Newcastle spent money too. Just doesnt make sense.
Maybe foxtel should equip their boxes such that it can tell who's watching what rather than relying on a very restricted sample? It would be naive of a company like Harvey Norman to think Oztam figures are reflective of how many people are being exposed to those appaling ads.
I'll call a spade a spade, and the truth as it is..... You're bracing yourself too much for an argument!!Originally posted by littleduck
Feel free to object, thats being too agreeable..
Originally posted by littleduck
If I took 6 of 1 and half doz of the other you'd have a dozen stubbies to watch the game.. why would you complain? (unless it was VB)
geez littleduck, excuse me for the repeated agreeances, i'm as scared as you are!Originally posted by littleduck
Yes, I would cuddle Katie Holmes if given the chance..
ah yes, the old trick for young players.Originally posted by littleduck
You should have gone down to 4 decimal places to round back to 3..
remember who i'm agreeing with here!!Originally posted by littleduck
If you say it hasn't , it most probably has![]()
The world revolves around Sydney, not Brisbane.Originally posted by littleduck
Aren't they the same place?
these trendy groovy words you use are way over my headOriginally posted by littleduck
Where can I get a new stylus?
Mark Gasnier boardOriginally posted by littleduck
Consider it blown..
the 52% still stands, regardless if the people across the road like AFL, or some other small outpost.. i've already mentioned Sydney is where it's at.Originally posted by littleduck
but southern border towns of NSW like AFL..
probably best to ask Kouta that one.Originally posted by littleduck
Would you like Hoppa to help the AFL push up into NSW & QLD?
Ms.Storm, is that you? basketball with kicking wasnt it?Originally posted by littleduck
Have you been to the basketball again?
If you quote something and always remove the bits you agree with, and leave the bits you disagree with to respond to, then you end up disagreeing in 100% of your posts. So, I often (very often) reply saying "true" "agreed" "couldnt agree more" etc.Originally posted by nicko18
I'll call a spade a spade, and the truth as it is..... You're bracing yourself too much for an argument!!
Correct.Originally posted by Spiteful Beetle
... didn't the NRL season start 2 weeks before the AFL season, giving the NRL ratings a 2 week head start.
22. Our H&A season finishes on the 27th/28th/29th August.Originally posted by LebaneseForces
How many Rounds are their in the AFL? don't their season finish one week before the NRL season?
Pretty simple answer to that. Scrums are necessary to remove the forwards from the backline, otherwise it would be a radical change to having a fully set backline on a restart.Originally posted by Sid
What are scrums for? To stick ur head up ur team mates arse and wait until u get the ball. Complete waste of time. Why not just tap?
It has been for years..Heard on SBS the other night that soccer is the most participated game in australia, which is good news and definitely a positive in my mind.
Decreasing?The other positive was that league participation is decreasing. I guess parents dont like the idea of their kids running into a line of other kids.
Decreasing?
The trend in recent years is upward mate - crowds, participation, ratings... all trending upwards in recent years.... which no doubt would be a negative in your mind..
Originally posted by Sid
What are scrums for? To stick ur head up ur team mates arse and wait until u get the ball. Complete waste of time. Why not just tap?
Heard on SBS the other night that soccer is the most participated game in australia, which is good news and definitely a positive in my mind. The other positive was that league participation is decreasing. I guess parents dont like the idea of their kids running into a line of other kids.
Yeah, thats why the AFL is now more national than the NRL. Last few years however, the NRL GF has outrated he AFL GF nationally, including non-metro areas, AND smashes the AFL GF ratings when the NZ audience for the NRL GF is included (note: the Warriors played in a recent GF). How do you explain away that fact? How do you explain the fact that RL has more high end ratings than AFL, but AFL has better mid tier ratings?Originally posted by doggies1954
The AFL is a bigger competition than the NRL in australia, ok, the nrl has queensland NSW and the ACt and the AFL has VIc, SA, Wa and while they have smaller popualtions the AFL is much bigger in Sydney and Brisbane than the NRL in melbourne.
There is also a high % of patrons at Lions & Swans games also who have NFI about the intracacies of the game, eg tactics,field position... in fact i would guess that at least 1/3rd of swans/lions season ticket holders couldnt even be certain about the number of players on a team, simply bcoz its an ocassion and a social outing more than a love of the game and its tactics & intracicies.Last night big Storm vs Penrith game got a crowd of 9 and a bit thousand, which is actually a reasonable good crowd for the STorm to get in Melbourne, but half the fans couldn't give a **** about the storm, where i was sitting in general admission 40% of the people didn't even really know what was going on, 20% of them seemed to have travelled from Penrith or were from NSW yet lived in Melbourne.
The Swans game I part watched last week got almost 55000. Were you watching a different game? Still a great crowd though, and excellent ratings nationally.Now the Lioins and the swans get much bigger crowds than that when they play at home, Sydney got 72,000 last week which the NRL would be estatic to get.
No argument from me mate, nor any other RL supporter I know of on BF.comAnd to say RL is more skillful game is more than just a lie, ok the tackling is harder, so there is one skill they have which is ahrder than ours, but to throw the ball to someone 30 metres to the side of you is no where near as hard as kicking the footy 45m to a player on a lead, and to earlier in this thread someone said that only 20 AFL players can do it, well that a pile of ****, 90% of the playes can do it, and are expected to do it every week.
AFL is a more skillful sport.
Your 300k international internet interest in the AFL GF is totally different than being an international game capable of hosting meaingful internationals. AFL cannot provide a meaningful international, and arguably never will. On the other hand, RL most certainly can, with 3 countries traditionally providing very competitive International teams, including Australia New Zealand and England. (note: few decades ago I would have included France)ANd to say that the AFL has no international support at all is a flawed comment, while it is not as big as RL last years Grand Final got over 300,000 international viewers over the internet, which while is not much compared to RL you have to remmebers AR only spread out to have a multiple state league in the 70's while Rl has been seen a international for much longer.
... in fact i would guess that at least 1/3rd of swans/lions season ticket holders couldnt even be certain about the number of players on a team, simply bcoz its an ocassion and a social outing more than a love of the game and its tactics & intracicies.
Originally posted by doggies1954
Now the Lioins and the swans get much bigger crowds than that when they play at home, Sydney got 72,000 last week which the NRL would be estatic to get.
I think you forget the publicity stunt played by andrew "over-rated" johns as well as union scheduling their game on the same day as ours.Originally posted by Crooked Rain
Make that 50,089 for the only game of AFL on in Australia for that weekend. It was heavily promoted and the Swans were on the periphery of the eight with their previous home game a smashing of the then undefeated Saints.
I'd say the AFL expected a little more considering the amount of money they would have spent on promotion.
The game was an appalling failure on TV in Sydney and wasn't even shown in Brisbane.
Not one of the AFL's best weekends considering certain people were calling it their "Bledisloe".
Be interesting to see Storm crowds with even half of that publicity and promotion.
The AFL GF is live and replayed throughout the USA on ESPN and many asian countries too. I've come across many americans who saw last years grand final. It's a shame that there is not some pay channel or pub that shows aussie sport during the regular season or the 3rd SOOOriginally posted by doggies1954
ANd to say that the AFL has no international support at all is a flawed comment, while it is not as big as RL last years Grand Final got over 300,000 international viewers over the internet, which while is not much compared to RL you have to remmebers AR only spread out to have a multiple state league in the 70's while Rl has been seen a international for much longer.