Any other Runners?

Arsenal, Melb Victory
I was browsing through a runners forum this week and noticed the announcement of the 2008 Run for the Kids. The 2007 event was my first competitive outing as a runner and it got me thinking about certain aspects of the run. I am a pretty competitive sportsperson and one of my most vivid memories was of busting my guts to make sure I beat home the young bloke running in a Port Power jumper. I stayed with him most of the event, but lost him towards the end when the distance began to take it's toll.

It got me wondering if there are any other Hawks Board visitors who get out and pound the pavement. Although I've seen a few football tops at events, I've never seen any Hawks gear. (I picked up a couple of the training singlets this year to remedy this situation). I did read CAPTAINCRAWF's thread about Clarko running in Tassie, so I know there is at least one other.

If you are a runner I'd love to hear from you about where you run, what events you are aiming at, what music you run to... etc etc.

Great thread, Keef!

During the Rugby season, I try to run 3-4 times a week for roughly 6-8km's. As you know, the terrain up here in Sydney is pretty 'hilly', so I tend to do a lot of hill running - particularly up and down Vaucluse hill.

To be honest, i'm not that much of a music fan whilst running. I tried to get into it at one point, but found that the music was distracting me from running at my 'optimum' level. Instead I try to count in my head my running 'goals' - such as 2000 paces until I can take a 25m walk, etc.

The big event for runners up here in Sydney is the 'City to Surf'. I've only done it over the past two years and my first goal is to one day eventually finish in the Top 8000 (seems like a large number - but over 64k compete these days, of which around 10k are professionals!).

I'm usually pretty good over the first 10kms of the run, but it's the last 4km that really kill me. Need to build up the fitness base for next years' race!

I love running. Not overly good at it but I have two dogs to keep fit so we help each other out.

I only really run on a semi-professional level once a year for a 10km road run...not that it compares to half the other runs people seem capable of doing :(

:edit: To answer the OP questions I run normally around Ulverstone, I'm aiming to do the Burnie 10 in <45 minutes and while just running for fun I listen to dance/pop songs with a good beat and tunes. In events I set my music up to go from fast paced beats to slower more uh inspirational songs at around the point I expect to be reaching my limit.

I attempt to go for a run at least 4 nights a week. I really like running and usually end up doing between 10-15KM. Footy training helps me keep fit as well.

I just basically love my sport!

I tend to do a lot of hill running - particularly up and down Vaucluse hill.

Go to give you credit there Phil. Where I am is pretty flat, so I only tend to do some Hill work on the treadmill at the Gym. It really sor4ts out the men from the boys. If I don't run for a while, I also find that my ability to take on hills goes backwards fast!!

Great thread, Keef!

To be honest, i'm not that much of a music fan whilst running. I tried to get into it at one point, but found that the music was distracting me from running at my 'optimum' level. Instead I try to count in my head my running 'goals' - such as 2000 paces until I can take a 25m walk, etc.

I use the nike+ system with my ipod to measure distance, so the music is always on. I do find that I tend to sync my footfalls with the beat. This can muck up my pace a bit, but I've been running to music for years and I love it. If I'm doing some fast work I only listen to songs with a fast beat.

The big event for runners up here in Sydney is the 'City to Surf'. I've only done it over the past two years and my first goal is to one day eventually finish in the Top 8000 (seems like a large number - but over 64k compete these days, of which around 10k are professionals!).

The missus suggested that I head up to Sydney this year for the C2S. Just couldn't get it to work. Thinking 2008 could be the year! Love to get up there for it and catch up with you Phil. Just got to get organised and book the frequent fliers early.

I only ran 2 events this year. I struggled a bit with motivation at points throughout the year and also strained a knee which stopped the training for about 6 weeks. I did manage to finish in a fairly respectable time in the Run to the G and managed to place 420th out of about 8,000. Was stoked as it meant that I finished 127th in my age group.

last year i did the run for the kids and the city 2 surf. im not the ebst runner but it keeps me fit:thumbsu:

i wore my hawks jumper in both lol:thumbsu:

Didn't see any other "Hawks" at the Run for the Kids, but that's what I wanted to hear about. Good to see a preoud Hawks fan wearing the colours. I'll have on the Hawks training singlet this year if weather permits!!

I attempt to go for a run at least 4 nights a week. I really like running and usually end up doing between 10-15KM. Footy training helps me keep fit as well.

I just basically love my sport!

I love my running and try and get out as much as I can. Over Winter I tend to do a bit of running in the Gym on the treadmill. With my partner being a consultant and working 3 days in the office and 2 days at home, a lot of times I have to run early or late to fit in with her and our 2 kids. I got sick of twisting ankles on tree roots/bad pavement in the dark so I joined up at the Gym she goes to. I much prefer to be out on the road, but at least in the gym the view tends to be pretty good!!

I understand your point with the footy. I used to play competitive soccer, and stayed pretty fit just training and playing. The problem was that after I stopped playing, I kept eating and drinking at the same rate. So I took up running again to trim down a bit.

Anyone else doing the Run for the Kids on March 30?

For anyone interested there are 2 distances: 14.14 km and 5.76. Website is : www.runforthekids.com.au.

I was going to sign up for that a few weeks ago but I realised i'll be in Europe at the time! Instead i'm going to tackle the Puffing Billy Run.:thumbsu:

That's on my list for 2008 too. It's one I'm looking forward to. Plus I may try and make it up to Sydney for the City to Surf for the first time.

Is that the one over the Harbour Bridge?

Sorry mate....

How far is The Sun-Herald City2Surf and what route does it take?
cts07_map.gif

G'day G

I ran to the letterbox the other day and I was stuffed!:o
I run from the wife regulary (she's maltese) and it's more of a scared kind of standing up crawl.
I run to the car everyday because somewhere, at sometime, i am late!
I run to the loos and the kiosk on level one at the G at quater and half time, so I make it back for the opening bounce.
I run quite a bit if I have spicey foods
I run out of time at the end of every day for a bit of me time:(
I've run out of examples?:thumbsu:

G'day G

I ran to the letterbox the other day and I was stuffed!:o
I run from the wife regulary (she's maltese) and it's more of a scared kind of standing up crawl.
I run to the car everyday because somewhere, at sometime, i am late!
I run to the loos and the kiosk on level one at the G at quater and half time, so I make it back for the opening bounce.
I run quite a bit if I have spicey foods
I run out of time at the end of every day for a bit of me time:(
I've run out of examples?:thumbsu:

Not bad mate.

Hope you're not on the spicy food too much then....

brother i know a bloke called the runner but theres a court order on giving out his name on account he is in the witness protection program

i can give his number but i got that from a copper i know for two slabs of beer what the winning post paid me for my articles thats a fair trade i reckon a life for two slabs life is expensive in cranny

brother i know a bloke called the runner but theres a court order on giving out his name on account he is in the witness protection program

i can give his number but i got that from a copper i know for two slabs of beer what the winning post paid me for my articles thats a fair trade i reckon a life for two slabs life is expensive in cranny

Get me the number and a certainty for this week's Blue Diamond Cranny and I'll fix you up with a slab of Draught brother.

At the moment I do two three k runs and a five k run a week. Will have to up the ante as one of my clients wants to do the 10k during the Gold Coast Marathon.

Did you end up doing that run? How was it?

Hi mate.

Yeah I did the 14km. It was great. I enjoy the course going over city link because the roads are nice and smooth. Plus running over the Bolte was good value. Clocked 62:45 so I was pretty happy with that. Took about 7 minutes of the time I did in '07. Had a bad time with a chest infection for about 3 weeks through Feb so I was pretty stoked in the end.

Was thinking of running the Puffing Billy race next, but have had an achilles strain and am struggling a bit ATM.