marz

hi guys, anyone know who kicked the winning goal in your 1994 finals win over the dogs and was it after the siren. thanks in advance

Bill Brownless kicked the winning goal after the siren.

If he kicked a behind it would have gone into extra time - the second extra time of that particular season of finals. Ironic because it was the first year extra time was implemented for drawn finals.

marz said:
hi guys, anyone know who kicked the winning goal in your 1994 finals win over the dogs and was it after the siren. thanks in advance
Comon, are you serious. You obviously have never heard Billy B on SEN or on TV. His constant references to it really underplays what a good footy player he was. He kicked a heap in 92 , I think, against the Dogs in a final and really would of kicked a lot more goals at another time frame without Ablett.
His best year was 91 at FF , with Stoneham at CHF feeding him. I'd love to have a Billy Brownless in the square for the Cats now, top player

Turbocat said:
Comon, are you serious. You obviously have never heard Billy B on SEN or on TV. His constant references to it really underplays what a good footy player he was. He kicked a heap in 92 , I think, against the Dogs in a final and really would of kicked a lot more goals at another time frame without Ablett.
His best year was 91 at FF , with Stoneham at CHF feeding him. I'd love to have a Billy Brownless in the square for the Cats now, top player

yes mate im serious. i havent lived in melbourne for over 10 yrs so i've never heard SEN.

marz said:
yes mate im serious. i havent lived in melbourne for over 10 yrs so i've never heard SEN.
Sorry for being too parochial mate, I also presume you have never seen the Footy Show on sundays on channel 9 either. Its a running joke in a way, when ever some one kicks a goal after the siren to win the game , he mentions stuff like"you have to be a good player to do that sort of thing". Its been done that often that are now saying that the tape is worn out.

Billy had a form slump in 1994 too for a while, so it really broke the shackles.

I think he kicked eight in the final against the Dogs in 1992 and in that season won our goal kicking with 79 goals. In 1991 he kicked 81 goals to take our leading goal kicker.

What a memory!!! Ah, I was at that game.. down the other end of the G.. i dont think i even watched the kick.. couldnt bring myself to look!!

I did have a laugh tho.. couldnt believe someone on the planet would even ask that question!!! If someone knows Billy, please show him this thread!! :D

JUBJUB said:
"Billy .... you are king of Geelong"
Indeed he was. Was absolutely chockers trying to get out of the MCG car park, so my half-cut dad and uncle came up with the brilliant idea of having my brother fake an athsma attack, course, neither of us even had athsma. Worked a charm too. :D

One of my favourite (and one of my first) memories of the Cats when I was 9 years old. Would watch a replay all day of that kick if I had to :)