anyone worried

• Thread starter Thread starter baconb

Just wondering... YES its a practice GAME I get that,

We had a near full strength list and got flogged by a shite team..... have no respect for freo, useless team and to lose by 40 points is a joke....

Any one else feel that way or are we all "its a practice game" attitude?

cheers

it's not even that...it's Freo's inability to do what's expected of them. seriously!

It's the mounting injuries right now that is really worrying me, we are going to be pretty under-strength for rnd 1 against the Tuggers, esp now Grigga is going to miss the first month or so, that stupid report and suspension for stevens in rnd 22 last year is really going to hurt.

Where'd you hear that? Seemed to be simply precautionary, or at worst a minor strain according to those at the game.

No need for any team to be happy or unhappy with wins or losses in practice matches imo.
But i was happy to the result :P but you guys shouldn't be worrying.

Anyone else here actually play footy? I play U16 A's and for our praccy we just got told he couldent care less about the score just wanted to have a look at the players. Plus if you havnt noticed I dont think anyone on our team was very keen to play there.

It doesent mean shit, I agree thet Freo are with out a doubt un deserving of playing AFL but today meant nothing...Congrats to them but think about it...We flogged last years premiers a couple of weeks back? Were good but that surprised me....Yesterdays game will play absolutley no part of how the rest of the seaosn will go.

I'm not worried one iota about the result, practice games are meaningless, Port thumped St.Kilda by nearly 10 goals, and the Saints are (still IMHO) a top 4 side, and the Power are pretty much a bottm 8 side ...

It's the mounting injuries right now that is really worrying me, we are going to be pretty under-strength for rnd 1 against the Tuggers, esp now Grigga is going to miss the first month or so, that stupid report and suspension for stevens in rnd 22 last year is really going to hurt.
I think the club should be patient though and not risk rushing back Walker for rnd 1 (still needs a couple more scratch matches in the VFL to get through IMHO)

I dont think our injury list is bad at all. Expecially when you compare it to other teams. A slight strain and maybe miss round 1 at best, a torn hammie and a few games at worst for Grigg from the weekend, and Carrots and Hartlett the main injuries sustained for the entire preseason.

Walker is no longer injured and just needs a little more match fitness, which he may get from the Bullants next weekend and that should be enough for him to get through Rd1. Scotland not quite over his summer surgury but again just match fitness. Carlos suspended until rd 2, Stevens with 1 match hangover so also rd 2 and Wiggins unlikeley to miss, he may get 97 points and a reprimand but no matches. Thats not bad at all. The cats lost Hunt for the season over the weekend. The tigers lost Coghlan, Johnson and Cotchin for round 1 (actually more like till round 6). That equates to or is greater loss to them than our outs for round 1.

I think we can easily cover the lost players so far. I think our preseason could not have been much better and we also get a wake up call over the weekend that we still need to do the work to win the matches. Perfect build up for round 1.

If you believe the peanuts on Bay 13, it's all over for us in season 2009 :D

As I have said before, it's one of the very few boards I don't go anywhere near. The amount of crapola that goes on over there is just plain out frightening.

Now im worried about you getting a card... the word gimp is very disrespectful.

Gimp is a usually derogatory term used to refer to a (male or female) sexual submissive person, typically dressed in a black leather or rubber

i guess it was a good choice of words then.... but seriously your post is stupid! if ur worried about a result of a praccy match played against freo in bunbury then maybe you just don't have to much faith in ratten and the boys

You hear all this nonsense about Fremantle going in with an inexperienced side, when in reality:

Fremantle's 23+ players on the weekend (from their squad of 30):

Dean Solomon 29
Antoni Grover 29
Roger Hayden 28
Chris Tarrant 28
Paul Hasleby 27
Luke McPharlin 27
Matthew Pavlich 27
Scott Thornton 26
Daniel Gilmore 26
Aaron Sandilands 26
Brett Peake 25
Ryan Crowley 25
Steven Dodd 25
Josh Head 25
Andrew Browne 24
Michael Johnson 24
Paul Duffield 24
Byron Schammer 23
David Mundy 23
Kepler Bradley 23
Ryan Murphy 23

Carlton's 23+ players named in our squad of 29:

Nick Stevens 29
Brendan Fevola 28
Ryan Houlihan 26
Simon Wiggins 26
Jarrad Waite 26
Chris Judd 25
Bret Thornton 25
Richard Hadley 25
Kade Simpson 24
Brad Fisher 24
Cameron Cloke 24
Chris Johnson 23

21 of Freo's 30 were aged 23 or over. 10 of them were 26 or over.

12 of Carlton's 29 were aged 23 or over. Only 5 of them 26 or over.

I dont think our injury list is bad at all. Expecially when you compare it to other teams. A slight strain and maybe miss round 1 at best, a torn hammie and a few games at worst for Grigg from the weekend, and Carrots and Hartlett the main injuries sustained for the entire preseason.

Yep, agree.

Just hope no-one gets involved in any social faux-pas this coming weekend.
Has been notorious in previous years.

I'm not worried if we run out with this team in round one.

B: Armfield Jamison Thornton
HB: Johnson Waite Bower
C: Simpson Hadley Gibbs
HF: Walker Cloke Houlihan
F: Betts Fevola Kreuzer
R: Jacobs Judd Murphy

I/C: Yarran Robinson Russell Fisher/Wiggins

We might lose Grigg and miss Stevens, but I don't feel overly worried about facing Richmond without them.

Richmond will be without Coughlan, Cotchin, Pattison and Johnson.

Arguably bigger outs than Stevens, Carrazzo- Meh! :o, Scotland and Grigg.

These teams suggest they lack quick defenders to play on Yarran, Betts and possibly Garlett.
B: Luke McGuane, Will Thursfield, Jordan McMahon*
HB: Andrew Raines, Kelvin Moore, Alex Rance
C: Chris Newman, Shane Tuck, Matthew Richardson
HF: Brett Deledio, Jack Riewoldt, Mitch Morton
F: Nathan Brown, Jay Schulz, Joel Bowden
R: Troy Simmonds, Nathan Foley, Ben Cousins
INT: Angus Graham, Dean Polo, Daniel Jackson, Matt White

Stiff - Tambling, Thomson, King and Edwards
* - Would not be playing if TigerGlory was coach.
This is how I hope we are named:

FB Tambling Thursfield Newman
HB Moore Rance Polo
C Richardson Tuck White
HF Deledio Reiwoldt Bowden
FF Brown Schultz Morton
FOLL Simmonds Foley Cousins
INT Graham Jackson Mcguane Raines
EMER Edwards Connors Mcmahon Thomson

I just hope we don't play Mcmahon. we can do without goals resulting from his turnovers. I'm not a big fan of Raines but he deserves a spot for Round 1, but if he goes back to his running in circles and turning the ball over by foot he's out :cool:

We are currently missing Cotchin(replaces Raines), Pattison(replaces Graham), Polak, Coughlan and Hughes from our best 22 for at least the first 2 rounds.
Throw in Houlihan who can finish if given a sniff.

And Walker who adds pace and aggression to our forwardline.

Even if we lose first up, I think we will finish the season strongly with our favourable draw and depth.

Yarran kicking two goals against Fremantle has me toey. ;)

JR appears to have lifted and gained some confidence after his showing against the Cats.

Russell kicked two goals on the weekend.

A set shot from 40 and a snap on the run from 50 that was disallowed.

Russell can move into Grigg's postion and give us some pace and run if Shaun misses.

Or a run with role after he did a job on Johnston in round 21.

I'll probably be called biased* by some Richmond flog, but we would be slitting our wrists if it was 2006 and we were without Carrazzo, Stevens and Scotland for round one.

Not any more.

*It could be the alcohol speaking.

Given that he played the game out I can't imagine that the Fev injury is too bad, hopefully Grigga was rested and iced as a precaution, not the result of a serious injury ( I don't think he would have been going hard enough to do himself any real damage).
I hope JR has stepped up, it would be fantastic for him to deliver on his potential, and it would achieve the not very difficult task of making a few people around here look very silly..................
The tiges should be very worried..............

I honestly couldn't give a Ratts ar*e that we lost.

We beat North Melbourne, we beat Hawthorn AND the Bullants almost beat Geelong. I'm stoked and can't will Round 1 on faster. :thumbsu:

Now im worried about you getting a card... the word gimp is very disrespectful.

Gimp is a usually derogatory term used to refer to a (male or female) sexual submissive person, typically dressed in a black leather or rubber

Black-Pig-1.jpg

;)

ps I would be a little worried if it had been in Melbourne but I am not expecting miracles this year

We made the semis of the NAB Cup, and all our matches were against last year's finalists. Seems like pretty good preparation to me. We shouldn't have been playing in Bunbury though. We're the last team to play a practice match and the first to play in the regular season. I think that warranted a match closer to home.

You might be worried . 7 News..

There were 3 incidents caught on camera that are going to be looked at by the AFL. Apparently they are against Carlton and their treatment of the Freo Youngsters....:thumbsd:

Gee, thats all you need.. Bully-tactics against rookies and 1st years players in a game that didn't really matter... So you SAY. :cool:

Oh and I still can't get over Rattan's comments about traveling to Bunbury...Who does he think his team is...Collingwood? :eek:
Very Dis-respectful :thumbsd: It puts a arrogance to the team in respect to the fans....I am sure all the Blues fans in Bunbury and the southwest were grateful ....

.It was a sold out, 10,000 full of Footy supporters.....I mean would he rather play at Visy park in front of 750 people....

There were 3 incidents caught on camera that are going to be looked at by the AFL. Apparently they are against Carlton and their treatment of the Freo Youngsters....:thumbsd:

Gee, thats all you need.. Bully-tactics against rookies......

Freagle supporter, the crocodile tears routine is a little laughable. First point - the Blues were fielding a much younger team than Freo. Second point, you got a crowd there because the Blues played, so be grateful. Third point, the AFL now regrets giving your silly little unsuccessful regional Club an AFL licence rather than Tassie. So again, be grateful. :)

Gee, thats all you need.. Bully-tactics against rookies and 1st years players in a game that didn't really matter... So you SAY. :cool:

Are you talking about a Fremantle squad that contained 21 players aged 23 & over, of which 10 were aged 26 & over? This in comparison to a Carlton team that contained 12 players aged 23 & over, of which 5 were aged 26 & over. We apologise for our big, bad kids beating up your mature bodied players. Kids will be kids though.

Gee pharrot, you must have me on your hot list....The last few times I've posted on YOUR board you are in for the kill.
Re: fielding younger players..

Rookie and first year players that played against you..

Suban, Broughton, Hill, Walters, Clarke, all 0 AFL games.

Players and Career AFL games.. Hinkley(5), Head(3),
Drum(17), Duffield(24)

We still have Palmer, Ibbotson, Mayne, Campbell, and Ballantyne to come in who are Youngsters with less than 20 games to 0 games..

You are obviously Drunk and looking for someone's Dog to Kick...Just chill out...cause you guys have the Premier Midfield in the Comp....

Its obvious that half your mob was going out at 3/4 speed to avoid injury..Maybe you guys thought the Bully tactics would allow you to do that and win the game...???? Anyway good luck....and go FEV. One of my favorite players..

144337.jpg

Carlton checked their DOB before tackling men who had crossed the line and wanted to play football.

We clearly lined them up like Nick Maxwell and took them out. :rolleyes:

If you cross the line, you're fair game.

And Bunbury is a hole.