Bucks

Whats going on???

didnt they have it live the previous years?? fair dinkum the second biggest footy events for the year (GF number 1) and a expected crowd of over 85k+ so why not have it live?? WHAT THA?!

dissapointed eddie.. thought u served for the better of fans...

this is where the footy rights are gonna be interesting but dont hold your breath because there is time still before it will be played live

dont despair yet

it will rain on anzac day and if its put on tv before its a sellout less people will go

Originally posted by The Ewok
It's not soldout,
**** a duck, what's happened to the crowds this year? Back to the bad old days of 4-figure crowds last week, and can't sell out the traditional Anzac Day blockbuster.
What's going on? Why aren't people going to the football any more?

I'm sure it will be live if it sells out. But I wouldn't think it would be a sell-out at the moment.

Last year wasn't a sell-out either despite the live telecast. Nearly all tickets were sold, so the AFL decided to do a live telecast even though you could've still walked up at 2pm and taken a seat.

Originally posted by Bucks
Whats going on???

didnt they have it live the previous years?? fair dinkum the second biggest footy events for the year (GF number 1) and a expected crowd of over 85k+ so why not have it live?? WHAT THA?!

dissapointed eddie.. thought u served for the better of fans...
BUCKS
Do you live in Vic ?
If so,you could always buy a ticket and go to the game.

Originally posted by Bomber Spirit
**** a duck, what's happened to the crowds this year? Back to the bad old days of 4-figure crowds last week, and can't sell out the traditional Anzac Day blockbuster.
What's going on? Why aren't people going to the football any more?

Lots more live games against the gate - more people have Fox than Optus.

3:30 TV coverage of Saturday games.

The AFL's idiotic scheduling of non-Carlton games at Elliott's Shame - that will knock at least 100,000 of the attendances by the end of the year.

Also the fact that a lot of the viewers have had a gutful of the game, I (o and many others, I can assure you) only watch a Brisbane game on the telly, but I would rather be doing something else than watch football adnauseum.

I'm getting bloody sick of the AFL, they're no doubt trying to ruin local footy into the ground through lack of funds in recruiting umpires, helping grass-roots footy clubs (even if they're saying that their helping, which is a big pile of bull****) and putting games at 3:30 on a saturday (they're cutting their nose of to spite its face, there's no doubt about that).

Well Wayne, two chins Eddie, and all you AFL stooges out there, YOU'RE NOT GETTING ANY OF MY GOD DAMN MONEY OR VIEWERSHIP UNTIL YOU PISS OFF AND PUT SOMEONE IN CHARGE THAT KNOWS WHAT THEY'RE DOING AND REALISES THAT AUSSIE RULES ISN'T JUST THE BLOODY AFL.

I've put my money into local and suburban football (through Tatura, Murchison, Panton Hill and Mernda), I think it's about time that true football followers do the same thing, JUST TO TEACH WAYNE JACKSON A LESSON.

Dare I say it: sometimes less is more. In the old days (he says getting all misty eyed and donning his rose coloured glasses), top class football (i.e. VFL) was only played on a Saturday. Supporters went to see the game live and the best quarter of the game was replayed Saturday night along with highlights from the other games. The Channel 7 replay was punchy and cut out all of the crap. It was very similar to the Premier League show on the ABC-the best put-together sports show of all time. The average Premier League game can be a pretty boring affair but with some creative editing and showing only the best stuff they had a killer show.

Playing footy on a Saturday also meant Sunday was free to play footy, watch the VFA or another local league, go to the Pleasant Sunday morning (what happened to those).

They were still tryin' to flog tickets via a telly commercial last night.

And GOALden Hawk, Optus has Fox Footy too, so that pretty much covers everyone with Pay in metro Melbourne (who has an interest in footy, anyways).