Kegs44

Although this has probs been brought up, I reckon we are, although the whiiping boy of the cats, he always gave us a target, tried all day and was a good leader. Imagine having him, Ottens, Playfair and then Kinglsey as the fourth tall target in our forward line.

the way Nathan is going, it sounds like he could develop into a daunting CHB. listening to SEN on the weekend, they were impressed with his ability. Henry has the belief now to be our CHF. hopefully now that someone has hurt him, he'll get more mongrel in him and start laying the (lawful) smack down on some of these sniping defenders.

Of course we miss Graham. Despite his extreme softness, he was an extremely talented big man, every club misses those types.

In the long term though we'll be better off because it allowed H the chance and the challenge, a challenge he's not only accepted but excelled at.

If Ben Graham was here Henry would be nowhere near the player he is now, because he has had the opputunity because Ben left. Henry in 2-3 years will be one a very good player for us. Even now we miss him when he does not play.

do u think that brad ottens was the best deal?
from a outsider i think that geelong had it all planned out that they would get brad and have a 3 man attack, ottens, graham, kingsley, have ottens as like a 3rd tall kinda thing or resting ruckman.
do u think that maybe geelong should have looked else where and tried to attract some other player?

from a outsider i think that geelong was taken to the cleaners by richmond and melbourne got the best result in giving up there pick for boomer whos young and has heaps of talent if u's had him now it would be scary as.

and richmond is maybe thinking they got 2 first rounds for a lemon basicly

Magpies2005 said:
do u think that maybe geelong should have looked else where and tried to attract some other player?

You know they didn't?

Magpies2005 said:
from a outsider i think that geelong was taken to the cleaners by richmond and melbourne got the best result in giving up there pick for boomer whos young and has heaps of talent if u's had him now it would be scary as.

Who is Boomer? If you meant Brent Moloney, is he the same bloke who hasn't been able to get a kick for weeks and the same bloke who started on the bench on the weekend?

He was a fringe player at Geelong and now the hype is dying down he's fast becoming a fringe player at Melbourne as well.

BTW Melbourne lost Scott Thompson and replaced him with Brent Moloney. Best result my arse.

Magpies2005 said:
melbourne got the best result in giving up there pick for boomer whos young and has heaps of talent
Who is Boomer im pretty sure melbourne didnt get Norths Brent "Boomer" Harvey. I think you mean Beamer. Get it right mate before you come here with your opinions.

Yeah fair enuf, H has been good this year, but Graham kicked more goals, H averages just over a goal a game, and u could have graham in a goal square and still keep Playfair at centre half forward.

Harsh to compare them based on goals.

H runs twice as much as Graham ever did, spends so much more time up the ground.

nananana catman said:
Would having Graham out injured have as dire effect on our structure as the loss of Playfair does?

Excellent question.

I think it's pretty obvious the answer is no. H gives us something we've craved for a long time, a tall marking option who presents and runs his arse off.

I do think H has filled in Ben's spot nicely, but in Ben's defence, he would have the longest hamstrings in Geelong, now the USA due to the fact that every time he made a lead the ball was delivered to his shoes, meaning he wuold have to bend down everytime. That was due to our young/inexperienced/bad midfield, but now with a better group delivering the ball, H is getting the ball on his chest mostly, unlike Graham did.

Sammy D said:
I don't know about you guys. I mean H has done a fine job for us, so with him holding up that end, wouldn't it be nice to slot him in at CHB instead of Harley/Mooney?

I'm with you - a lot of this thread has talked about Ben up forward and god knows he may have spent a fair bit of his time up there had he stayed, but yes H is far better at CHF than Benny ever was, but lets not forget where Benny spent most of his career. We've talked about Ottens and Graham but what about Scarlett and Graham? Right now wouldn't he be handy across the back line?

An interesting but of course altogether pointless hypothetical........

Correct..BUT!
As already stated, would H have improved as much, let alone be in the team had Ben stayed? Works both ways.

ablettjnr said:
Correct..BUT!
As already stated, would H have improved as much, let alone be in the team had Ben stayed? Works both ways.

Yeah.....I know, I guess the temptation to keep Ben up forward would probably have be too much and therefore H would have had limited opportunity or worse been put in the backline............as I said, an interesting albeit pointless hypothetical