Man City Blues!

Suspended
mcgrathut2.jpg

Where will he be playing this year? what position? how many fantasy points do you reckon he'd get? will he play on the ball now due to notting's injury, like in the midfield?>

Pick 13 in the 2000 National Draft

mcgrath2xb3.jpg

Summary:

* broken forearm (#15)
* 2007 review (#22)
* 100th game: round 7 vs Geelong (#65)
* 2008 review (#89)
* 2009 review (#147)
* 150th game: round 16 vs Hawthorn (#187)
* 2010 review (#209)
* 2nd leading goal kicker for the year (#252)
* 2011 review (#255)
* unrestricted free agent (#271)
* 2012 review (#350)

Contract status: 2013 - 2014
Merrett-Murray Medal Results:

2001: =33rd (0 votes)
2002: 26th (9 votes)
2003: 17th (40.5 votes)
2004: =19th (28.5 votes)
2005: =11th (32.5 votes)
2006: 23rd (13 votes)
2007: 18th (24.5 votes)
2008: 18th (18.5 votes)
2009: 7th (41 votes)
2010: 6th (25.5 votes)
2011: 7th (25 votes)
2012: =15th (12 votes)

Coach's votes:

Tribunal history:

* NAB Cup, 2009 - making forceful contact from front on (125 demerit points reduced to 70.31)
* Round 3, 2010 - unreasonable and unneccessary contact to the face (225 demerit points reduced to 168.75)
* Round 15, 2010 - first offence for engaging in a melee ($1600 reduced to $1200)
* Round 16, 2010 - rough conduct (137.5 + 68.75 carry over reduced to 154.69)
* NAB Cup, 2011 - first offence for misconduct and hair pulling ($1200 reduced to $900)

Ashley Mcgrath

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Where will he be playing this year? what position? how many fantasy points do you reckon he'd get? will he play on the ball now due to notting's injury, like in the midfield?>

Will almost definitely play in the forward line as a crumber. Doubtful he will go into the midfield. Has been a little under performing in the NAB cup but IMO is still our best small crumbing forward (apart from Power who will not play there) and will do well in Brown stays on the park. Doesn't always get a lot of possies even when he plays well. How do they judge fantasy points?

With Bradshaw and Clark now gone you would certainly have to think that Ash would play in the forward 50 all season.

He's a small forward, would probably have played there anyway.

you can tell he's reaching his 100 game mark cant you? best season ever so far, kicking a score consistently and great defensive efforts as well.

oooooo ahhhhhh!

From the Courier Mail

The Courier Mail said:
Ash `creams' Dockers
Andrew Hamilton
May 07, 2007 12:00am

ASH McGrath had only vague memories of his five-goal heroics against the Dockers yesterday but his wits were sharp enough to enjoy the moment.

Adelaide star Andrew McLeod looms on the immediate horizon and McGrath knows his output next week won't be measured on the scoreboard.

"I'm sure I'll get the job on McLeod, which is more of a defensive job because he's in Brownlow Medal form," McGrath said.

"I'll be going out there to try to nullify him, and if I get one or two goals I'll walk off the ground happy."

McGrath felt his defensive pressure had been down in recent weeks and he steeled himself for an improvement in that area. The five goals were just a bonus.

Lions coach Leigh Matthews has always been a fan of McGrath's commitment to tackling and chasing because it often forces defensive errors that lead to Brisbane goals.

"Ash's value is the pressure he puts on," he said. "The offence of his game is the cream of the cake."

McGrath said the details of his star turn were a little hazy, after a Shaun McManus knee to the back of the head temporarily knocked him out.

However, he was thrilled he had kicked more goals than good mate Jonathan Brown, who finished with 2.2.

"I think I've kicked 16 for the season. I'm in front of him now and I'm telling him about it," he said. "He sprayed a few today and he's always into me about my kicking."

The victory was especially sweet for McGrath and teammate Richard Hadley, two West Aussies who grew up playing their footy in the shadows of Fremantle Oval.

Hadley was an East Fremantle junior and McGrath was one of three brothers who played for South Fremantle, the side that formed the nucleus of the Dockers organisation and shares facilities with the AFL club.

"We just love sticking it up Freo. We're both Freo boys so it's good to win against them," Hadley said.

I think McGrath is now playing a tagging role. I thought he was on Murphy last week (11 possessions) and Lockyer this week (18 possessions).

mcgrathjz3.jpg

Fair observatio Grim. With him not having been regularly in the goals recently and the rest of the forwards working well, not a bad idea to try him elsewhere.

He may end up playing a different position or go back to forward pocket - it doesn't matter, it's part of the education.

I reckon the reason for Brennan's recent surge in both performance and commitment was because of his classes in defence. It looks like he now knows that footy isn't all easy, and that plenty of hard work is needed. He's always had the talent but it's been his commitment without the ball that has really stood out for me.

I think McGrath is now playing a tagging role. I thought he was Murphy last week (11 possessions) and Lockyer this week (18 possessions).
He certainly has the speed/strength to do that role which has surprised me a bit.

Good pick-up. Not much has been said but he has moved upfield and doing very well running the lines. I think I saw a stat were he had 5 clearences last night. As much as Brennan move to the forward line has seemed to work, McGraths move to the back line has seemed to work. He is more involved in the game now.

The best thing is the move of Sellwood, McGrath and Joel MacDonald to the back half has allowed Jed to move the midfield (and I hope he never leaves again).

I think the coaching group as a whole desrves some praise for the effort over the last 6 weeks in the change in structure, play and attituted.

I wasn't surprised about that, but I didn't think he would have the motor to perform that role. It's hard to tell on the TV, but I suspect he might be being used as an impact tagger, who can make his opponent work hard and indeed hurt them in attack, then have a rest while another defensive player goes to that player.

Link

THE BRISBANE Lions are counting the cost of Saturday night's important win over the Kangaroos at the Gabba, with Ash McGrath likely to miss the rest of the season through injury.
McGrath broke a bone in his left forearm when he landed awkwardly after flying in a marking contest in the third quarter, and is not expected to recover in time to return this year.

mcgrath4gl9.jpg

Link

But the news isn't all good for the Lions, with Ashley McGrath's season more than likely finished as a result of a broken wrist he suffered in a mid-air collision with teammate Rhan Hooper. He landed awkwardly on the wrist and was taken immediately from the field.
"He actually has broken a bone in his wrist that needs to be pinned apparently so he'll be missing for four to six weeks, I'm told by the medical people. It's a lengthy time and sort of a minimum of four weeks which takes us to the end of round 22," Matthews said.

mcgrath9tr3.jpg

How do you guys see Ash's career in 08 and beyond?

Is he still a starting 22 player when fit?

Do we persist with him as a small forward option, or was the small snippets we saw of Ash this year as a defensive midfielder a sign of things to come?

I'm a big fan of Ash and feel he has been forgotten somewhat.

I would think there are two options for McGrath next year IMO. To either step up to the forwardline role left open by Johnson's retirement or maybe a run with role in the midfield (i wouldn't mind seeing him tried in that position).

Do we persist with him as a small forward option, or was the small snippets we saw of Ash this year as a defensive midfielder a sign of things to come?

I think the couple of games he played in the midfield were some of the better games in his career.

End of Season Player Review

2007 was an interesting year for McGrath with plenty of twists and turns along the way. He started in the forward line, and after a very poor NAB Cup there was a lot of speculation he would be dropped for the round 1 clash against the Hawks. But he kept his spot and things clicked for him when the season started. He had always been one to apply terrific defensive pressure, but he was now consistently contributing in attack as well, and after 9 rounds he was our equal leading goal kicker with 20 goals (including 5 against Freo in round 6).

In round 9 McGrath injured his medial ligament, and while he only missed a couple of weeks, when he returned he wasn’t having the same impact on the scoreboard. Then in round 16 against Carlton he began playing as defensive midfielder. It was only a few games but he was very impressive in keeping his opponent quiet and was even getting a bit of the ball himself. Unfortunately his season ended in round 18 when he broke his arm (ulna) in a collision with Rhan Hooper.

All up I think it was a fairly productive year for McGrath and he has increased his value to the team by showing he can play a different role. It remains to be seen where McGrath will play in 2008, but having been a little inconsistent as a small forward, he may well continue to get a run in the midfield to see how he goes.

mcgrathhs8.jpg

That is dis-heartening. What is going on at the club that we have quality players such as Ash still un-signed and in a position to get sweet FA for him - absolutely staggered - for mine a disappointing weekend all round, except for Collier.

Like Cozi stated, i bloody hope Ash re-signs, but knowing he can get to Freo pretty easily, i wouldn't be holding my breath and whilst i will be pissed at Ash, questions need to be asked of our footy admin dept - happens all too regularly.

It just annoys me the continual rhetoric responses from the club regarding this issue and some BF posters that its not the club nor key people's fault - i would actually respect these people more if they admitted they stuffed up regarding players still being out of contract at such a late stage because it is a joke - it should have been ascertained if he was going to leave and then attempted to trade him if so - at least we could have got a pick in the mid 30s to 40's today instead of nothing - another diabolical effort on the part of whoever is resposnible if he leaves in these circumstances:(

It just annoys me the continual rhetoric responses from the club regarding this issue and some BF posters that its not the club nor key people's fault - i would actually respect these people more if they admitted they stuffed up regarding players still being out of contract at such a late stage because it is a joke

I respect people more for trying to understand things from the club's perspective rather than thinking they know better.

If it was a simple process of signing up everyone before draft week then that's what they would do, but obviously it's not that simple. I hardly think threatening players that they will be traded if they don't sign by Oct 7 is the best way to go about it.

There seems to be rumours about McGrath leaving every year. Lets just wait and see what happens before we spit the dummy.