Game Day At The MCG - 2016 Grand Final

• Thread starter Thread starter Aphrodite

RwJlWkw.jpg

Collingwood 15 and 26!

It's the ducking and chucking that's a real blight on the game at the moment that's team tactics.

The non-calls/inconsistent calls on dropping the ball and holding the man are driving me nuts and not sure that will ever change?

Ok umpire rant over! How about those doggies eh?

Just a couple more points.

For those complaining about the complaining about the umpiring, just put yourselves in the mocassins of a Swans supporter, if that Free Kick differential happened to us in a big final, especially a Granny, there would be hell to pay here, it didn't cost the Swans the game IMO, but it sure as shit didn't help, and frankly I reckon Swans fans and anyone else are entitled to be pissed off, its simply not good enough on any game, let alone a grand final and perhaps gives further weight to the argument that the MCG isn't a 'neutral' venue for The Grand Final.

Secondly, if the Swans won that game, it would have been the most noble and courageous and against all odds flag since Hawthorn in 1989, they had no right being so close right up till the last 2-3 minutes of the game, given all the injuries and setbacks they had suffered during the game, when Dan the Man went hobbling off, I thought to myself, Hello, The Bloods will get overrun here by 6 goals plus, but nope, they kept on keeping on, and they threw everything but the kitchen sink at The Dogs, they were bloody magnificent in defeat, i don't care if the perception is they are sore losers because they cancelled their supporters function after the game, if I was a player who suffered such a physically and emotionally draining performance in one of the biggest games of their lives, I wouldn't want to meet the fans either, the players are only human and need time to lick their wounds.

It just seemed to me that the Football Gods wanted The Dogs to finally have their day, but I think we should also be gracious enough to acknowledge the magnificent season Sydney had, and their gallant grand final performance, and we can all be thankful they knocked Geelong out of the finals :D

Well to be fair, The Dogs started this Premiership journey back when they gave Rodney Eade the arse and made a philosophical decision to hit the draft.
Appointing Beveridge to conduct their Symphony was an inspired move, but its naive to think Bolton can deliver us a flag in a relatively short space of time. Our list is still sadly light on for depth and talent, probably best case scenario is 4 years away before our flag window opens again. And only if we start hitting our 2nd/3rd etc round picks in the draft..
Do you even read what you type? You contradict yourself with your pessimistic attitude, the Dogs can do it, but we can't. Dogs had huge drafts in 2013 and 2014. Won a premiership in 2016. By that time table... we can win a flag in 2018.

There is something about Tom Boyd being a premiership player that upsets me... not sure why... he played a blinder..
Might have been the making of him yesterday. Played a ripper.

Do you even read what you type? You contradict yourself with your pessimistic attitude, the Dogs can do it, but we can't. Dogs had huge drafts in 2013 and 2014. Won a premiership in 2016. By that time table... we can win a flag in 2018.

Cry me a river, Irene, I said that The Dogs rebuild actually started their rebuild back in 2010, the appointment of Bevo was the icing on the cake, and they had a lot more talent and ready to go young players when Beveridge was appointed, then when we hired Bolton (I think it's safe to say that at the end of last year, before the national draft, the universal consensus was that we had the worst list list in the AFL)

You can't make up for more then a decade of putrid drafting and trading and player development in the space of two years, I'm sorry if my harsh reality assessment is too 'negative' for you, but that's a much more realistic line of thinking then you suggesting we can win the flag in 2018.

We are still miles off the pace of the best teams in this league, we lost to Essendon and Brisbane this season for Christ's sake. I'd suggest maybe you try tone done your expectations, cause you'll invitably end up disappointed when we're still struggling next season.

Cry me a river, Irene, I said that The Dogs rebuild actually started their rebuild back in 2010, the appointment of Bevo was the icing on the cake, and they had a lot more talent and ready to go young players when Beveridge was appointed, then when we hired Bolton (I think it's safe to say that at the end of last year, before the national draft, the universal consensus was that we had the worst list list in the AFL)

You can't make up for more then a decade of putrid drafting and trading and player development in the space of two years, I'm sorry if my harsh reality assessment is too 'negative' for you, but that's a much more realistic line of thinking then you suggesting we can win the flag in 2018.

We are still miles off the pace of the best teams in this league, we lost to Essendon and Brisbane this season for Christ's sake. I'd suggest maybe you try tone done your expectations, cause you'll invitably end up disappointed when we're still struggling next season.

Universal concensus lol, by morons on bigfooty and the media and pessimists like you maybe.

Watch us be in the Dogs position by 2018, we'll be at the keast 7th on the ladder.

Universal concensus lol, by morons on bigfooty and the media and pessimists like you maybe.

Watch us be in the Dogs position by 2018, we'll be at the keast 7th on the ladder.

:$

frankly I reckon Swans fans and anyone else are entitled to be pissed off, its simply not good enough on any game, let alone a grand final and perhaps gives further weight to the argument that the MCG isn't a 'neutral' venue for The Grand Final.

Swans fans were pissed off. Did it actually influence the result much? Arguably, no. One sided free kick counts happen in several games every weekend and the good teams learn to live with it.

Blame the fact that WB had 4 more inside 50s per quarter - neither team had the dominant forward line but more efficient use of the footy counts.

The doggies got back into the match mainly through lady luck and hardwork, not withstanding Jakey Stringer's spuddy efforts every time he went near the ball! :)

when Dan the Man went hobbling off, I thought to myself, Hello, The Bloods will get overrun here by 6 goals plus, but nope, they kept on keeping on, and they threw everything but the kitchen sink at The Dogs
Sorry but you thought wrong! It isn't in the Swans DNA to give up and in a low scoring windy contest it was always going to be a scrap.

Also another lesson bulldogs taught me was their match committees ruthlessness in dropping Stringer before the finals.

We seem to only drop the lesser lights of our team. Daisy should have been playing out the year in the VFL!
The Bulldogs were able to do this as they had a VFL team playing very good football, with a number of players putting their hand up for consideration. In contrast, we had a VFL team which was getting smashed & the players we were hoping would put their hand up were instead playing very ordinary football.

We really need to do something about what is happening at the Northern Blues. It is no coincidence that Geelong & Hawthorn's dynasties came on the back of having strong VFL teams & Footscray have won 2 VFL premierships in the last few years.

In that situation, very difficult to slap the ball to a teammate without swiping the ball in an upwards direction, which constitutes a one-handed handball. As opposed to a 'tap' which ruckmen do from a height.
don't reckon he 'carried' the ball