Secondary ATAR results

Prudster I understand where you are coming from, but the pressure and expectations of myself are placed on me by myself, I have high expectations which stems from my own ambitions, not that of what my teachers or parents or friends have taught me.

I understand where you come from and have read and considered seriously what everyone has said on this page and wish to apologise if I came accross as arrogant. I understand that the ATAR does not mean everything, I understand that you can transfer and I am aware that it does not correlate to immediate success, but please remember I had just studied my ass off at a school ranked top 10 with exremely high ranks, a conservative estimate of 98 and had fallen short of my course preference by marks I don't feel I lost and had to reassess all of my UAC preferences so I don't feel rational enough to put things into perspective until a day or two after I get over the disappointment. But now I feel better... so I am defs not ungrateful but relative to input it's frustrating. Like I said, apologies if I seem arrogant or elitest, I don't mean to.

In happier news I'm so proud of my cohort :thumbsu: So much excitement for them! & Personally I got an atar of around 97 so missed out on my prefs. Keen to hear how everyone else did? Get into your courses?
I don't know if this is still the same system as when I did it (in 2005) but the 'clearly-in' ATAR scores etc that you are looking at are last year's. They change every year depending on demand and how many people apply for it vs the places available.

Had a mate in VCE whose first preference course had a clearly in of 94, he got 95.5 or something and was pretty happy. Then that same year the demand was high so the clearly in became 96 and he missed out. Devastating.

So you don't need to re-assess all your preferences. Still leave the top ones as they are as there is a chance you might get in if the clearly in drops in the current year.

True, but I think many left-brain courses do not require as high ATAR scores and hence would not need such scaling; it's all relative.
Not true.

Western Australia's most prestigious university requires an 80 - as a minimum. All of my counted subjects are in the 'A' list. They're English (scaled down about 2, 3), Philosophy (according to my school 15), History (stays about the same, but requires an amount of study). Even Economics, although not left brain, goes down by about 3 or 4.

The better schools in Victoria require 83's and 85's for something like Journalism.

You're up against it for the most part.

Not true.

Western Australia's most prestigious university requires an 80 - as a minimum. All of my counted subjects are in the 'A' list. They're English (scaled down about 2, 3), Philosophy (according to my school 15), History (stays about the same, but requires an amount of study). Even Economics, although not left brain, goes down by about 3 or 4.

The better schools in Victoria require 83's and 85's for something like Journalism.

Mmm, I guess so. I did History and Economics this year (economics actually gets marked up a bit) and whilst the workload was incredible, the actual difficulty was probably not as high as Specialist or Methods, two other subjects I did. If you look at subjects like medicine or biomedicine though, they are both 98+ and science-orientated subjects that are pretty hard to get into :\

Ah well. High school has finished and that's all I care about. Got into my course and can continue schoolies without worrying :)

92.05 for me, pretty much what i wanted so pretty happy. Only got 37 English because of a b+ in the exam which is pretty disapointing, as i thought the exam was pretty good and i got almost straight a+ throughout the year and on all of my practice exams. Can't complain though, as my 29 in spesh went up to a nice 41, and i pulled an a+ on methods part one! Also did better than expected in Japanese, after scoring less than expected on my sacs i got an a on the exam, brining me to a raw score of 33 and a scaled score of 42. No-one in my school seemed to do very well in history, i got 34 (a, a, b+) and i was one of the top four or five of the year level i think, but it was always going to be a 10% subject.

TCE results just came in down in tassie today, got 102.5 which translates into an ATAR of 96.45 which im just stoked with, cant believe it. Thought i'd done ok but not that well.

One of my mates that i went to school with and grew up playing footy and cricket with got 109 in TCE and 98.6 for ATAR which is just freakish. Will be a very big week of celebration down here :thumbsu:

Anyone else want to help me set up an ATAR depression group? :p

I didn't get the ATAR i was hoping for, although i should get into my course fairly easily. I was extremely sick from Thursday night until today, and i couldn't keep any food down, meaning i missed my scholarship interview on Friday :(

TBH, some of my results are just plain disappointing. I dropped 3 marks all year in SACS for ITA, got 33/35 for the relevant GAT section, but got 37, which scaled down to about 31. English i averaged A's for SAC's, but got a 31 which scaled down to 29.

Further maths was about the only subject i was happy with this year. Dropped 4 marks all year in Sac's and ended up with a 46 which scaled down to 45.

Oh well, i suppose getting into my course is the main thing. My ego could use a boost right about now.

TBH, some of my results are just plain disappointing. I dropped 3 marks all year in SACS for ITA, got 33/35 for the relevant GAT section, but got 37, which scaled down to about 31.
It's quite annoying how much some subjects get marked down and how much answering one wrong question can cost. Did Further, English, ITA, ITS and Multimedia last year and they all got marked down between 2-6 points...

How a subject like music can get marked up because it's like learning another language (hope I'm right on that, that's what I seem to recall but it's a few years ago now that I checked into that) yet writing program code in ITS gets marked down I found a little frustrating.

I'm sure plenty will disagree with me but I can't say I'm the biggest fan of the scaling system (probably because none of the subjects I did last year got marked up:p).

As for those two brothers, really don't know how anyone could dedicate that much time to study a day... At least they had each other to motivate the other but still, 12 hours a day...!!!:eek:

I'm the only person out of my group that did well at VCE. All my friends were disapointed in their marks. At the moment I'm deciding which Uni to study at.

Melbourne or Deakin for psych?

I would have thought it was an easy choice? Granted I haven't looked into Deakin too much but on facts alone, leaving everything else aside Melbourne is ranked the #1 university in Australia in most if not all surveys.

The thing that partially dissaudes me from Melbourne is the whole 'breadth' subjects. It works brilliantly for some but not so much for others. I want to do the course I select and surrounding areas of study, not something that essentially has no relation to it. That and I've had some people tell me since the introduction of the "Melbourne Model" some streams have become a bit vague/not as focused.

On a similar note I went to the Melbourne Change of Preference Expo today after going to the Monash one on Saturday. It only really sunk in today how high a score you really need for Biomedicine at Melbourne. Regardless as long as I get one of my first two preferences I'll be more than happy.

I'm the only person out of my group that did well at VCE. All my friends were disapointed in their marks. At the moment I'm deciding which Uni to study at.

Just on that, being from Hobart I'm not really too familiar with the reputations of the Uni's in Melbourne. I'm planning to go to Deakin at Burwood to do Exercise Science/Business, then hopefully specialise in Exercise Physiology after that. Deakin seems pretty impressive from what i've seen, especially for that field. Is Deakin a good uni?

Haha, these two went to my old school. I heard that one of them freaked out and got depressed because he got addicted to tetris one night and didn't study haha.

:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu: That's hilarious.

12 hours a day preparing, jesus:eek:

Congrats to everyone, hope all your hard work payed off:thumbsu:

THERE ARE 12 HOURS IN A DAY? SINCE WHEN?

55 :(

Haha, none of my subjects had exams, but I did four music subjects as well as business and enterprise and english communications. I didn't actually do too bad in the scores, I ended up with 3 B's, 2 B-, a C+ and a C-, my music subjects just got scaled down like a bitch unfortunately. Oh well..

Not true.

This is true. I did all left side subjects and got just below 85 in 2005. Had I not had the scaling bias then I would have ended up with well over 90 and somewhere around 93 that would have given me my first desire. The system is biased and the fact kids at certain schools can do latin and Hebrew where others are stuck with no language is a joke.

12 hours a day preparing, jesus:eek:

Congrats to everyone, hope all your hard work payed off:thumbsu:

I spent 12 hours a week.

Look at what you want to do within the psych field. My friend got overlooked for Deakin for postgrad becasue his marks were below par. Went to Monash then Latrobe. Melbourne may be a top institution but is not the best for all fields and ranks are biased like the VCE.
I had the choice to apply for Melbourne arts or Deakin Commerce and Arts. I chose Deakin because the HR program was better at Deakin compared to Melbourne which was more management focused.
I would have thought it was an easy choice? Granted I haven't looked into Deakin too much but on facts alone, leaving everything else aside Melbourne is ranked the #1 university in Australia in most if not all surveys.

The thing that partially dissaudes me from Melbourne is the whole 'breadth' subjects. It works brilliantly for some but not so much for others. I want to do the course I select and surrounding areas of study, not something that essentially has no relation to it. That and I've had some people tell me since the introduction of the "Melbourne Model" some streams have become a bit vague/not as focused.

On a similar note I went to the Melbourne Change of Preference Expo today after going to the Monash one on Saturday. It only really sunk in today how high a score you really need for Biomedicine at Melbourne. Regardless as long as I get one of my first two preferences I'll be more than happy.

Go somewhere else even interstate. Just like law degrees Medicine courses don't vary.

Got a 95.75 which I am thrilled with. Got hit a bit, with scaling of Intergrated Sport and English Comms, but can't ask for much more than that!

Good Job!

I'm not sure on how good Deakin is on Psychology, they might specialise in it, but based of the universities themselves, definitely go for Melbourne. It's currently the best university in Australia.

This is the same flawed logic that a number of Education graduates from high school got into when choosing Melbourne on name. The industry certainly doesn't rank Melbourne as number one in the field. Again, it comes down to what you want to do career wise. Institutions will go for their own graduate first when it comes to postgraduate studies.

This is true. I did all left side subjects and got just below 85 in 2005. Had I not had the scaling bias then I would have ended up with well over 90 and somewhere around 93 that would have given me my first desire. The system is biased and the fact kids at certain schools can do latin and Hebrew where others are stuck with no language is a joke.
I disagree. I did specialist, and probably averaged 6+ hours a week throughout the year studying for it. I almost did more study for that that any other subject, and if it wasn't scaled, then i'd be left with a 29 which would not be just reward. It would encourage me to instead do further, where little work is put in and little is learnt, but a high raw score is easier to come by as some of my friends have seen, recieving high scores.

If you want to do a lote and your school doesn't offer lote, then go to another school. Your parents pick a school, among other things, on the ability to broaden your studies and let you do what you want. There are many high schools around, you shouldn't be limited like that. And again, just because it's scaled up, does not mean it's easy to get a good score. You must apply yourself for a good 6 years if you want a good score, as it's not an area you can just pick up overnight.

Secondary ATAR results