Other Australian Media Noob Watch

Those last two paragraphs - spot on

As for the show sorry if it doesn't tickle your fancy - we just try to be a little off centre. There are so many bland and boring NFL shows that quote stats and players that really is meaningless. We just like to have an opinion. I don't do it for money - just the love of the game
I laughed.

Those last two paragraphs - spot on

As for the show sorry if it doesn't tickle your fancy - we just try to be a little off centre. There are so many bland and boring NFL shows that quote stats and players that really is meaningless. We just like to have an opinion. I don't do it for money - just the love of the game

A little off-center is fine. As long as it's got some meat or comedy to it. Like the FBI NRL program on 94.5. What's it called? Fired Up, or something? That's off-center but enjoyable because it's funny but intelligent. To a degree anyway. Sure, don't be a boring parroting stats type of program. It's all about giving an opinion as the host, and getting people to call in and talk. There are plenty of extremely interesting US-based NFL podcasts just in that vein. Not being a boring stats type of thing.

Anyway...as for this board....we're ALL happy to let bygones be bygones, and start all over again, introducing ourselves to each other. No animosity. No mockery. As long as we all give each other the respect of being equal human beings, like everyday people having a chat over a beer. This board has a ton of interesting everyday people who have varying degrees of football knowledge. We all get on well because we all talk about the sport with sincere interest in it, we have a thick skin, can enjoy trash talking with a :p and we don't put anyone down for being new to the sport or less educated and genuinely wanting to learn it better.

We only attack when people (either here or media) make a mockery of the sport with outlandish comments or putting down the sport etc. Like people who say "Hayne will revolutionize the sport, all they do is run in a straight line, they've never seen anyone sidestep or fend before". Etc.

We can START OVER if you like.

A little off-center is fine. As long as it's got some meat or comedy to it. Like the FBI NRL program on 94.5. What's it called? Fired Up, or something? That's off-center but enjoyable because it's funny but intelligent. To a degree anyway. Sure, don't be a boring parroting stats type of program. It's all about giving an opinion as the host, and getting people to call in and talk. There are plenty of extremely interesting US-based NFL podcasts just in that vein. Not being a boring stats type of thing.

Anyway...as for this board....we're ALL happy to let bygones be bygones, and start all over again, introducing ourselves to each other. No animosity. No mockery. As long as we all give each other the respect of being equal human beings, like everyday people having a chat over a beer. This board has a ton of interesting everyday people who have varying degrees of football knowledge. We all get on well because we all talk about the sport with sincere interest in it, we have a thick skin, can enjoy trash talking with a :p and we don't put anyone down for being knew to the sport or less educated and genuinely wanting to learn it better.

We only attack when people (either here or media) make a mockery of the sport with outlandish comments or putting down the sport etc. Like people who say "Hayne will revolutionize the sport, all they do is run in a straight line, they've never seen anyone sidestep or fend before". Etc.

Ok I'll start from the beginning:

My name is Shane Donoghue and I'm an NFLoholic.
I was born and bred in the Bay Area, my parents are passionate Raiders fans. My grandparents are from Vancouver and they are passionate Canucks and Seahawks fans (I don't count the BC Lions).
As a kid I was taken to many Raiders and Seahawks games. I loved both teams but ultimately I had to make a choice and the left arm of Jim Zorn and the fact he wore number 10 (my bday) got the Seahawks over the line.
Tragically my parents sacrificed what would have been a successful college career and ultimately pro career for me by shipping us to Tasmania in 1981.

Even more horrific was the fact Tasmanian hadn't even heard of America let alone the NFL. I had to rely on audio cassettes (yes thats right about 5 of them per game) and newspaper clippings.

It wasn't until Don Lane that I could watch some NFL in any way shape of form during the 80's so it was tough.

Finally the coverage started to improve and it made life bearable to a degree and with the advent of the Internet and fox sports all is now forgiven.

I was fortunate enough to travel to New York with Croc Media and Darren Parkin to cover SuperBowl 48 for media week and get to see my Seahawks win their first Super Bowl.

Steve Salisbury asked me to contribute to the Stars n Stripe program on Sunday nights on SEN which I happily agreed to and that has been fun. NOT EVERYONE agrees with me (oh really) and I'm quite unashamedly a passionate Seahawks fan and also not a Peyton Manning fan.

Anyways I love talking NFL so hit me up on any topics. I promise to be as unbiased as possible with my opinions and prose.

This is brilliant. I've now reached the upper echelon of the media - getting hammered by people on big footy and not only that 2nd only to Robbo. Love it. Keep it coming lads.

Glad to have you aboard Shaneo, i would say keep up the great work but we both know thats not true. :thumbsu:

Whatever you do mate, please, dont chuck in the doggy day care chasing a media career, there are enough homeless already.

Anyways I love talking NFL so hit me up on any topics. I promise to be as unbiased as possible with my opinions and prose.

I've watched the Seahawks three times this season. Twice against the Rams and the playoff game against the Vikings. Why are the Seahawks so bad?

DocklandsDan and Thirdandlong are using same ip address, a wireless connection probably at the SEN studio.
tho both have different home ip addresses.

I've watched the Seahawks three times this season. Twice against the Rams and the playoff game against the Vikings. Why are the Seahawks so bad?

In those games? The Rams is easy - being a divisional foe the Rams know the Seahawks well. Yes they haven't beaten them in a while but this year they had a good enough squad to get the job done. The Seahawks have a few weaknesses in that much vaunted defense and one of them is defending the slot receiver/tight end and I reckon if you looked at the games they lost this year they would have been slaughtered in that position at times. Eifert & Olsen immediately come to mind.
Secondly the Seahawks offensive line although they have at times protected Wilson well this year, still have a few questions when up against a quality pass rush.
As for the Vikings I think it was just a combination of the weather, the timeslot (10am Seattle time) and the fact that the Vikings did a mountain of study on the weaknesses especially after the Seahawks embarrassed them a few weeks ago.

And haven't seen you heroes troll him on Twitter either. Gutless

Couldn't be arsed setting up a twitter account and then learning the ins and outs of it all in the end Dan, thanks for dropping by though.

I decided to go about it a different way, forget about NFL discussion on SEN and listen to FM radio on the way home from work on a Sunday night instead. Which is a shame, cause i do love the NFL.

Couldn't be arsed setting up a twitter account and then learning the ins and outs of it all in the end Dan, thanks for dropping by though.

I decided to go about it a different way, forget about NFL discussion on SEN and listen to FM radio on the way home from work on a Sunday night instead. Which is a shame, cause i do love the NFL.

Don't do that.

Shaneo, i had honestly totally forgotten all about this thread before i saw my alerts this arvo.

You and Dan must have had some time on your hands this morning, where was it buried? Page 10?

I need to invest in an alias account, wayyyyyy too much heat being generated on this one, the SEN mafia will doing some drive by's tonight me thinks.

Luckily for me, I'm posting this from my Mrs. house though.

I need to invest in an alias account, wayyyyyy too much heat being generated on this one, the SEN mafia will doing some drive by's tonight me thinks.

Luckily for me, I'm posting this from my Mrs. house though.
Liar. You are posting from your mothers basement ya fat campaigner.

I wish, if only my massive gut would allow me to fit down the basement stair case.

Im a rag on a stick kinda guy, mum rolls me over every two hours to prevent the bed sores from coming back.