Away trips in 2011

• Thread starter Thread starter Rob

Yeah, you just hope that it doesn't piss down raining at the G. I'm trying to decide to go over when we play at Etihad or the MCG.

Our annual GABBA fest will be a couple of months early this year. Saturday night game again which is great. Hopefully we can make it two years in row and really bury the GABBA Hoo Doo. :thumbsu:

I'll be doing every Victorian game obviously but looking at doing round 3 Adelaide v Fremantle by car once again :)

Definitely in for Sydney away. Keen to do Brisbane in round one and a Melbourne one (probably St. Kilda on Friday night) as well.

Def. planning to do a Vic trip next year.. tough choice as the the round and location though, as i havent been to either the G or Etihad :D Could maybe do the freo game, and then another fixture at the opposite ground

This is a good plan if you've not been to games in Melbourne before. Most seasons, it is possible to pick a weekend that one of the blockbuster games is on, and arrange to travel over to see the blockbuster (say Essendon -v- Carlton, or Carlton -v- Collingwood) and the Freo game on consecutive days, and see both venues too.

So, expecting to see a couple of those sorts of weekends when Freo is in Melbourne in 2011, I had a quick scan of the draw for rounds where you could get to both stadiums and see a big game. Weird. For almost every round that we are traveling and there is a traditional blockbuster game, we aren't in Melbourne. Results from the back to back Subi games, plus our two SA trips I guess.

It is hard to pick without knowing ladder positions and so-on, but the Freo fan traveling to Melbourne who wants to see both stadiums and also experience a big game should I think go for Round 13 - on 17-19 June. We play the Dees at the G on the Sunday, and the Dees crowds for our games are always small, but there are potentially good "crowd experience" games at both Etiturd on Saturday arvo (Essendon -v- Norf, with Hird -v- BScott for the first time I think) and then a biggie at the 'G on the Saturday night (Sainters playing Geelong).

If that doesn't work, try round 7. We play Richmond at the G, and the Tiges usually get at least a half decent crowd along. On the Monday night there is what should be one of the year's better Etiturd games, with Saint Kilda up against the Blues, though you will have to stay an extra night or two (and put up with defensive saint kilda footy). It may also be a little hard to get a ticket for the game if you don't book reasonably early.

If you want to see a bigger crowd, but not both stadiums, the best Melbourne weekend is round 11 (held from 3-5 June). On the Sunday we will play the Hawkers at the 'G, where the crowd will probably be no more than 22K, but the Saturday night game is Collingwood against the Saints at the 'G, which in recent years has had huge crowds and been generally close for most of the game. Round 11 is also early enough in the season that most teams will still be in with at least some chance of finals. However, you wouldn't get to see the magnificence of Etiturd.

The only other round that jumps out with a semi-blockbuster when Freo are also in Melbourne is the last round - we play the Doggies at Etiturd, and Collingwood will play Geelong at the 'G. However, the risk with that round is the AFL could schedule both the Freo game and the Collingwood game at the same time, so you are taking a bit of a chance if you plan for that weekend. Should be OK though - but it is a heck of a long time to wait for your footy trip!!

So, you might have to either miss out on the experience of a big crowd at the 'G, or miss out on seeing both stadiums. There is always 2012 (or the finals weekends!!)...

Round 13
round 7
round 11

Yep. Good analysis. Me and my mates have pored over the fixtures and we'll be going to Melb for R13. R13 is the only round that offers 4 games over the weekend - Fri night, Sat day, Sat night, Sunday.

Rounds 7, 11, 20 and 22 have three games over the weekend.

Might also go over for R7 if I find a cheap airfare.:thumbsu:

Well I'm moving from Dunsborough to Noosa in Qld at Xmas. Round 1 is at the GABBA but I work away 28/28 so I won't be there. Also we don't play the Suns in Qld this year unfortunately. (Any othe FFC fans in Noosa let me know as I'll need some sanity in a rugby state)
I'll be heading to round 11 vs Hawks at the MCG and the friday night match vs St Kilda at Etihad in round 20. Both should be great contests.:thumbsu:

Yeah cheers for that BPG.. im thinking Round 7 against the Tiges as well :thumbsu:

Round 7 Vs Richmond at the MCG is the weekend my Freo supporting wife is looking forward to, because, as an eagle Hater, she can go watch Essendon smash West coast at Etihad the next day, the week before the Round 8 Derby.
Since they both play in Melbourne that weekend, The Eagles won't be able to whinge that they had to travel the week before , all will be equal.

Thinking back, we only average one trip every two years. Will probably give next season a miss. Who wants to watch a team play in those embarrassing away jumpers? Maybe in 2012 THE ANCHOR will be back in vogue and we can go again.:rolleyes:

Definitely plan to go up to Sydney. Wouldn't have minded having it programmed for Manuka for obvious reasons ... and ground would suit us well. Aim to get to at least one of the games at the G, although Docklands is a good place to watch footy I reckon.