Back in your boxes - now is NOT the time for a board challenge!

Del191229

He bangs the drums
30k Posts Veteran 10k Posts North Melbourne - 2021 Taylor Garner and Flynn Perez Player Sponsor North Melbourne - 2020 Taylor Garner and Flynn Perez Player Sponsor North Melbourne - 2020 Aileen Gilroy Player Sponsor
Aug 21, 2018
We saw this week that the club has the potential to go places and fast onfield.

The Noble situation has been handled well. The playing group isn't split.

We've got a good strong President who gets great media and is well connected politically.

Any board challenge now will worry prospective big name coaches looking at out list of kids with interest.

The old blokes had their run back in the day, and we thank them for their service.

But time to park the egos, and park their arses.

Support the club as we build on the brilliant foundations we've laid on and off field.

No board challenge this year.

Ross Lyon said he didn't want the Pies job because of the board instability at the time. Well if we are wanting Ross, then they should stay away.

Lyon turned down Pies over ‘instability’

“I think it’s instability. I think Nathan’s a bit unlucky. I don’t know Nathan, Nathan’s not a friend, but just from the outside ... I think if you see misalignment it’s a red flag.”

Ross Lyon said he didn't want the Pies job because of the board instability at the time. Well if we are wanting Ross, then they should stay away.

“I think it’s instability. I think Nathan’s a bit unlucky. I don’t know Nathan, Nathan’s not a friend, but just from the outside ... I think if you see misalignment it’s a red flag.”
Well then, bring on the challenge. I dont want Lyon anywhere near our club.

The challengers are yet to state what they'd do different.

I mean, you can only wonder what people who voted to send us to the Gold Coast could possibly come up with.

Personalities and history aside - albeit you raise some very important points - I'm talking about the wider issue.

We need stability.

A board challenge now will upend us at the worst possible time.

OP makes a good point. Let the Walsh report play out, let the board respond to it, and allow them the oxygen to find the new coach. And as giantroo makes abundantly clear above, that task is made a hell of a lot easier without instability at board level.

Stephen Head, Mark Dawson and these other potential board challengers want to cast themselves as the Aylett, Mantello, Cheatley and Joseph of today. They are not. They are Yesterday's Heroes, and good on them for what they did back in the day. But their time has passed.

What's really important to remember is that Aylett's 5-year plan that led to the 1975 premiership did not begin when Barassi walked through the door along with Davis, Wade and Rantall. It began two years earlier and it included the 1972 one-win wooden spoon season. It's always darkest before the dawn. Let's stick fat and see this through. We are one club.

Personalities and history aside - albeit you raise some very important points - I'm talking about the wider issue.

We need stability.

A board challenge now will upend us at the worst possible time.

Putting on my tin foil hat could any of this be fuelled by certain AFL industry figures with an agenda?

OP makes a good point. Let the Walsh report play out, let the board respond to it, and allow them the oxygen to find the new coach. And as giantroo makes abundantly clear above, that task is made a hell of a lot easier without instability at board level.

Stephen Head, Mark Dawson and these other potential board challengers want to cast themselves as the Aylett, Mantello, Cheatley and Joseph of today. They are not. They are Yesterday's Heroes, and good on them for what they did back in the day. But their time has passed.

What's really important to remember is that Aylett's 5-year plan that led to the 1975 premiership did not begin when Barassi walked through the door along with Davis, Wade and Rantall. It began two years earlier and it included the 1972 one-win wooden spoon season. It's always darkest before the dawn. Let's stick fat and see this through. We are one club.
How they see themselves: Joseph, Martello, Aylett
How the rest of us see them: the Focus on Footy push at Richmond

That's not just a Ross thing, that would be a key consideration for any good coach. Players want to know who their coach will be, and coaches want to know who their bosses will be.

My uniformed opinion is that anyone making overtures in the media at the moment, who is in a likely position to do such a thing should be pretty much seen as a vulture.

Those that are doing things under the guise of "being helpful" when in reality all it'll do is invite more Journos to kick us. The mainstream footy media are largely shithouse and don't require invites to do that.

This.

I understand why Good North People felt this kind of action was necessary six weeks ago.

But a lot has changed since then. We acted decisively getting Walsh in, then on Noble, and we've improved onfield.

I reckon we probably end up improving on last year's ladder position.

Time for the putative challengers to stand down.

We've got a good strong President who gets great media and is well connected politically.

This is an important point as many here were critical of James Brayshaw and Eugene Arocca a few years back when they went all-in on a state government election promise to fund Ballarat for us without getting bi-partisan support from the opposition. There were a few other factors at the time that made this criticism a little harsh.

Nevertheless, it appears Sonja Hood is well connected on both sides of the aisle and will not be left empty-handed by a sudden or unexpected change in government.

Putting on my tin foil hat could any of this be fuelled by certain AFL industry figures with an agenda?

If people conspired with head office and their pet journos before (over the Gold Coast matter) ...

I support anyone's right to run for the board and I hate the culling process that denies some that right. But I agree - not the time for a challenge, especially a complete ticket for a new board. If anyone wants to run, good luck to them. But right now I do generally support status quo.

All I want is a board who don’t treat the supporters as dumb arses who has some idea about football and not to be on the board boost they egos and own business interests and put the NMFC last plus the board should allow anyone to join and not let some BS Sub Committee decide the fate of a supporter who has the passion of this club who wants to join the board.
As a club we not only have to find a new coach but find ways to keep this club going .
EG:finding extra $$$$ for no Tasmania games improving all aspects of the on field success,growing membership and match day attendances and sponsorship

My uniformed opinion is that anyone making overtures in the media at the moment, who is in a likely position to do such a thing should be pretty much seen as a vulture.

Those that are doing things under the guise of "being helpful" when in reality all it'll do is invite more Journos to kick us. The mainstream footy media are largely shithouse and don't require invites to do that.

Absolutely this.

Sonja has made it clear that she wants to hear from everyone, so pop your media mates on silent and give the Pres a call.

I support anyone's right to run for the board and I hate the culling process that denies some that right. But I agree - not the time for a challenge, especially a complete ticket for a new board. If anyone wants to run, good luck to them. But right now I do generally support status quo.

Agree.

Let's see where we are in July 2023. Change and renewal is always needed at a healthy organisation, but it has to be done at the right time in the right way.

Now isn't the right time and this isn't the right way.

The challengers are yet to state what they'd do different.

I mean, you can only wonder what people who voted to send us to the Gold Coast could possibly come up with.
A lots changed since 2007, social media becoming a massive part of people lives, if those two actually think it’s a good idea to challenge with the history they have, of trying to ship us up off to the Gold Coast, let god help them, cause the Roos faithful will not…

A lots changed since 2007, social media becoming a massive part of people lives, if those two actually think it’s a good idea to challenge with the history they have trying to ship us up to the Gold Coast, let god help them, cause the Roos faithful will not…

This is why they should stand down before the hand to hand fighting begins.

I can accept they thought GC was the best option at the time.

They were wrong.

They had enough credits in the bank for the mistake to be forgiven.

But they've forfeited their LA privileges as the great man once said.

There'll be no forgiving a second run. Especially with the worrying Tassie tendency they seem to have.

Yet to hear a compelling reason to destabilise a board that has just seen off a coach, has to find a new coach, secure us against the Tassie push, and also re-sign a stack of kids.

……..all while in the midst of ongoing discussions with government re Arden St’s expansion within the big picture of the future Arden Precinct’s overhaul.

Back in your boxes - now is NOT the time for a board challenge!

Write your reply...