Barry Hall

• Thread starter Thread starter ChikoRoll

look seasons done now
we need a good long rest and 2 assess what 2 do with certain players who we should pull up from the reserves and how were going 2 play next year!

Theres alot of pressure on us coz were the back 2 back grandfinal team its a tough role 2 live up 2

Take a break boys come back next year and show us that we can do it again

he's fine, we'd have about 10% knowledge what injuries he is carrying and how limiting to his movement it is.

a good long preseason combined with some surgery and he will be great once again.

needs to decide if he wants to play footy or fight.
he was awful again, angry, frustrated, infects the whole team and atmoshpere with his big black cloud. I used to be a Hall fan, but ive seen nothing this year that Ive liked about Baz.

I just hope Hall goes under the knife tomorrow to get that bloody injury fixed. Essentially that injury meant Hall kick 20, perhaps even 30 fewer goals this season than he would have without the groin injury.

In the end was a waste playing him most of the season and prob coast us in the end. He has been useless, but it goes beyond his injury. He seems to have been scared from his pathetic GF performance.

He was crapola from round 1.

hindsight is a beautiful thing
in hindsight hall perhaps should not have played
in hindsight buchanan should have been in
i

I was not upset with Barry Hall tonight.

He is as well all know restricted by injury like he has been all year so he is restricted to the forward area and the ball was getting in there poorly.

He kept working, as the goal he set up for Micky O in the third term would demonstrate as well as taking 6 marks in the forward half of the ground with poor disposal would also show.

I just wish he would not so umpire centric sometimes.

The problem with Barry Hall - apart from his age catching up with him, and the injuries - is that the intimidation factor has been taken from his game. The opposition isn't scared of him anymore. It was when he became captain and a model citizen that the problems began. Now he has to be responsible. No more threats and no more reports!

Even just 2 years ago, if the ball was in dispute on the Swans half forward line and BH was running towards it, the opposition players, especially the younger ones, would stand off and allow him to get it. This would happen every match. Not any more. Witness the way the Saints players tackled him at Hombush last month. Even Dal Santo took him on when he had a full head of steam, and Barry was done for holding the ball!

Incidents like the Matthew Primus eye-gouge at the SCG, and the days at St Kilda when he would literally take a boxer's stance, put up his dukes and challenge his opponents to a fight built up his reputation as an intimidator.

Hall has never had as much talent as a Pavlich, Tredrea, Riewoldt or Brown. Unless he gets the intimidation factor back then he won't return to his best.

I thought you guys played a lot better when he was not on the field .
The Eagles should take a lesson from you and not play injured players against a quick Collingwood side.

I think he should retire. I think he hasn't been carrying an injury all year I think it's just a lack of confidence after the 2006 grand final. I think he should open about it and talk about it instead of holding it in forever.

The problem with Barry Hall - apart from his age catching up with him, and the injuries - is that the intimidation factor has been taken from his game. The opposition isn't scared of him anymore. It was when he became captain and a model citizen that the problems began. Now he has to be responsible. No more threats and no more reports!

Even just 2 years ago, if the ball was in dispute on the Swans half forward line and BH was running towards it, the opposition players, especially the younger ones, would stand off and allow him to get it. This would happen every match. Not any more. Witness the way the Saints players tackled him at Hombush last month. Even Dal Santo took him on when he had a full head of steam, and Barry was done for holding the ball!

Incidents like the Matthew Primus eye-gouge at the SCG, and the days at St Kilda when he would literally take a boxer's stance, put up his dukes and challenge his opponents to a fight built up his reputation as an intimidator.

Hall has never had as much talent as a Pavlich, Tredrea, Riewoldt or Brown. Unless he gets the intimidation factor back then he won't return to his best.

reluctant to agree that intimidation is all he has, but the reality is, every fullback in the comp knows how to beat Barry Hall now, and you are correct that teams do not fear him anymore. he has had a terrible year skills wise, even the marks he takes he often juggles a couple of times. just dont know. last year he was supposed to have had an eye operation after struggling to see the ball clearly, this year its a groin injury. I think the first few games of 2008 for Big Baz will be very telling in terms of the remainder of his career... only time will tell. If he doesnt come back re-invented, it will be another problem year for him and the swans.

Having said that, i expect Barry to come back and hammer his critics with a great year next year, by playing fit and free of hampering injuries. cheer cheer to that!

I think he's an absolute star who was THE critical player for us during the Roos reign. Please don't try and rewrite history about his impact on the team over that period based on his performances this year or in the 06 GF, it's rather silly. Have a look at his season-by-season stats, for a forward who has spent alot of time up the ground, his goal value has been extraordinary. Look at his marks and disposals stats, his record speaks for itself.

As for players having him worked out? A little like knowing what Warne was about to bowl to you, it means shite if you still haven't got the talent to deal with it. There's plenty of evidence that most backs in the competition can't compete with him when he's fit, even with the constant help of one or two of their teammates.

Have a look at the entirety of his performances in finals, including the 1997 GF, the 2003 series (with his brilliant performance against Port at AAMI), his dramatic improvement during the 2005 series (after starting that series in pretty poor form and his critical bomb from 55 in the final quarter of the GF) and his 2006 bags of 5 and 6 before he crashed out in the GF. btw, Darren Glass is arguably the best fullback the game has seen since that Carlton guy who made the Team of the Century played. Outside of him, Hall has actually played his best football against the better teams and players. Unlike most other current bigname forwards in the game (unnamed), he hasn't made his mark with bullyish performances against the lesser teams.

Is he finished? If he can't get over his injuries then it's not going to get any better certainly and he probably is. As suggested earlier in this thread, I sense his injuries are not what we are being told they are. But if he is able to get fit then there is nothing to suggest he can't be the player that he was a little over 12 months ago. And watch out then.

he was obviously injured, he barely trained right? and while i agree confidence has played a role, he is a class act and will be back after a possible operation and preseason.

In the end was a waste playing him most of the season and prob coast us in the end. He has been useless, but it goes beyond his injury. He seems to have been scared from his pathetic GF performance.

He was crapola from round 1.

spot-on...a bigger health concern than his groin would seem to be the chip on his shoulder....he's always copped it from umpires but he's now just a bit embarrassing to watch every time he hears the whistle, because this season he's deserved most of the ones he's given away....it says a lot that our best effort of the season, by a long way, was a game he missed

Judging by your ridiculous threads Chiko Roll, I can't help but think that your name is Chiko Roll for a reason (full of you know what).

Give me a break please.

Barry Hall is nowhere near finished. I understand that we are all emotional after losing to the pies, but let's not get ridiculous.

Anyone who saw Baz against the Tiges in Rnd 2 (before he did his knee in that very game) could see that he was in for a big year. He had posted PB times in pre-season trials and looked ready to rip the season apart. Unfortunately injury after injury curtailed those plans.

Despite his obvious reputation as being Big and Bustling, the truth is that Baz relies heavily on his mobility to run his opponent up the ground and then back towards goals with "smart leads" and the reality is that if he doesn't have that mobility he struggles. There are very few players (other than immortals like Plugger) that have the ability to lead and take the pack mark with 2 defenders and a ruckman hanging off them.

He has had an ordinary year, no doubt about that, but I can't cop all the negative cr.p written on here after the great service that Barry Hall has given to our club. I saw that someone on here brought up the Primus incident....give me a break that was his first season 5 years ago.

I know some will mention the 06 GF, but what about the 11 goals he kicked in the Qual Final and PF Final in 06??

Let's get something straight, Barry Hall has been a consistent big game player for the swans and is an absolute 'lynchpin' for us- they don't come along very often, so we should hang on with both hands when they do!!

By my reckoning he has had one average out of 6- pretty good numbers in anyones language.

For those that are ready to jump off the swans, feel free, but please don't try to take down club champions with you.

Go Bloods in 08

Judging by your ridiculous threads Chiko Roll, I can't help but think that your name is Chiko Roll for a reason (full of you know what).

Give me a break please.

Barry Hall is nowhere near finished. I understand that we are all emotional after losing to the pies, but let's not get ridiculous.

Anyone who saw Baz against the Tiges in Rnd 2 (before he did his knee in that very game) could see that he was in for a big year. He had posted PB times in pre-season trials and looked ready to rip the season apart. Unfortunately injury after injury curtailed those plans.

Despite his obvious reputation as being Big and Bustling, the truth is that Baz relies heavily on his mobility to run his opponent up the ground and then back towards goals with "smart leads" and the reality is that if he doesn't have that mobility he struggles. There are very few players (other than immortals like Plugger) that have the ability to lead and take the pack mark with 2 defenders and a ruckman hanging off them.

He has had an ordinary year, no doubt about that, but I can't cop all the negative cr.p written on here after the great service that Barry Hall has given to our club. I saw that someone on here brought up the Primus incident....give me a break that was his first season 5 years ago.

I know some will mention the 06 GF, but what about the 11 goals he kicked in the Qual Final and PF Final in 06??

Let's get something straight, Barry Hall has been a consistent big game player for the swans and is an absolute 'lynchpin' for us- they don't come along very often, so we should hang on with both hands when they do!!

By my reckoning he has had one average out of 6- pretty good numbers in anyones language.

For those that are ready to jump off the swans, feel free, but please don't try to take down club champions with you.

Go Bloods in 08

Great post :thumbsu: Some are too quick to forget the great performances Barry has put in over the past few seasons.

Im as disappointed in Barry's season as the next person, but he is by no means finished. A fit and firing Barry Hall will be a headache for just about every other team in the AFL next year.

I think he should retire. I think he hasn't been carrying an injury all year I think it's just a lack of confidence after the 2006 grand final. I think he should open about it and talk about it instead of holding it in forever.

He has had a knee injury for most of the year. He did his knee in the Round 2 win against Richmond and since has struggled with it and also has had hamstring injuries as well.

You don't here west coast supporters ragging Judd or Saints supporters rag Ball they are both carrying similar injuries they are all down on fitness Hall will be back to his best in 2008 and will carry us to the finals series mark my words!

Give me a break please.

Go Bloods in 08

That's the perfect attitude to have mate, well written (said). It's so easy to forget what Barry Hall has given to this club over the last 5 years, because we're all so shattered about the way we went out of the finals in such a disappointing manner, but big Barry is crucial to the Swans, and i'm ashamed to admit that i was one of the ones on RWO calling for his head. Next year could be very telling, for many players, i look forward to seeing how it unfolds.

hindsight is a beautiful thing
in hindsight hall perhaps should not have played
in hindsight buchanan should have been in
i

Good call. History is full of examples of teams playing injured players in finals and losing. By playing Buchanan we would have caught the Pies on the back foot with a variety of forward rotations like playing Schneider out of the goalsquare for example. As you said hindsight is a wonderful thing...

Give me a break please.

Go Bloods in 08

That is spot on. :thumbsu:

I was lost for words rafter eading some of the posts and I didn't know how to reply. But you basically said what I wanted to say.

I think many of our players are still mentally and emotionally scarred from the GF loss last year. Of course, I don't think that feeling would ever leave you, I know it hasn't for me. Anyways, back to the point. I think Hall is still holding onto the GF, he knew he played crap and all the shit that was posted after the GF was absolutely sickening (media and all). It really dented Hall's performance this season, and IMO, he still has those memories on the back of his mind through this season.

Other than that, his injuries are also restricting him. Defenders should still be afraid of him. Hall will be a bigger, better and stronger player after surgery and had taken a long rest from football. That poor bloke, I feel so sorry him. A few weeks ago, I read an article that was written by him. It totally changed my perspective on Hall from that day on. I have so much respect for him, despite his occasional negative attitude on the field, he's handling so much pressure more than ever. I feel so sorry for him.

He's done so much for the club, and I must admit, I was taking the piss on him and some of the players this year, but it was all anger and frustration that took over me. But after a few days of thinking, your thoughts on the game changes. Hall was the face of the Swans in 2005, he literally lead to Swans into the GF, kicking 80 goals that season. Bring on season 2008... and bring on the BBBBBBH Swans fans all love.

well he is getting older, he missed a few shots at goal this year, he has had a pretty ordinary season this year in the forward line, no way near as good as 2005 when he was in contention for the coleman medal

but I stll love to see him play and I still think we can reach further heights with him next season

Maybe not that extreme, but possibly move him to the backline. Just clear out our forward line to give the smaller blokes a chance. Look I know the we are the Hawks bogey team, but that smaller forward line was just superb, the pace and the speed comming out for the leads was incredible, and it worked so well for us. The run off the half back line was awesome, MOL, Barlow Bolton Goodesy etc. Plus Everitt/Jolly combination running back for the contested mark, all the pieces just semed to fall into place.

As soon as Hall was back in for the EF - the frustration, the negativity, the mateship was gone. We played unaccountable footy. Tempo crap:mad:

The boys pretty much said after the EF that they were rooted, they needed a break and im all for it. We need to re-build, but im with Roosy, not yet. In small steps. Just get our hunger back. Experiment with a new forward line, clear it out, move players to new KPP's. Hall to the backline or in the ruck, I dunno just something different. Mix it up a bit.