bbq ettiquette

Senior Analyst

just got an sms from a mate inviting me to his long weekend bbq tomorrow.

his sms had all the relevant details but the last line said BYO MEAT.

i always bring grog to barbies cause its the proper thing to do but meat? has anybody else come across this?

my thoughts are that if youre gonna have a bbq have your own meat. Its not a real a bbq otherwise. is it?

Yep, abssolute disgrace.

Either the host gets it all or sort it out between a few people. Don't just say BYO meat. I'm appalled.

Fair enough to ask those attending to bring a plate to split the cost, make the organising, preparation etc easier. But asking everyone to BYO meat is likely to see 300 snags, 2 pork chops and some dodgey frozen hamburgers.

*ducks into coles*

*picks up two sausages, a t-bone steak, one chicken kebab, 2 potatoes and a small serving of salad*

no thankyou.

just got an sms from a mate inviting me to his long weekend bbq tomorrow.

his sms had all the relevant details but the last line said BYO MEAT.

i always bring grog to barbies cause its the proper thing to do but meat? has anybody else come across this?

my thoughts are that if youre gonna have a bbq have your own meat. Its not a real a bbq otherwise. is it?

Its pretty common. Very common Id say. When I hold a BBQ I usually supply the meat (usually snags, marinated steaks, chicken wings/skewers, chops or Chevaps) and buy a carton or two, and mates bring more beer or wine or whatever, but a lot of friends spend up on the booze and have BYO meat instead.

But I guess it depends. Most Barbies you go to you cook up a heap of food, only half of it gets eaten and youre left with a shitload of food which has to be eaten. If you like leftover meat then great but if you dont then its just money down the drain. The merit in the BYO meat is that you only bring what you're gonna eat, minimal leftovers and its cheaper for the guests as well. And then, if the BBQ holder supplies the booze, he can over buy and its not wasteful.

darcytiger said:
What a poor kent.
Meat is pretty expensive but if your gonna host it, surely for out $60 for some meat.

From a BYO point of view, whats cheaper....bringing a couple of snags and a couple of chops for yourself, or a a couple 6-packs or bottles of red? The meat every time.

rdhopkins2 said:
But asking everyone to BYO meat is likely to see 300 snags, 2 pork chops and some dodgey frozen hamburgers

Why? You bring what you eat. If you want to eat 10 different things then bring 10 different things.

I dont see the big deal to be honest.

If you don't know how many ppl are coming why wouldn't you say BYO meat? You can't defrost meat then refreeze it. I always take my own food to bbqs anyway, whether it be a fish, crab or sausages.

I always bring my own BBQ meat. Mostly because if someone supplies for everyone they're likely to bulk up preservative and salt heaped sausages from a major supermarket chain, some cardboard-y burgers and half-arsed steaks.

Rather go to the local butchers myself and pick out something I'm actually going to enjoy instead.

I always bring my own BBQ meat. Mostly because if someone supplies for everyone they're likely to bulk up preservative and salt heaped sausages from a major supermarket chain, some cardboard-y burgers and half-arsed steaks.

Rather go to the local butchers myself and pick out something I'm actually going to enjoy instead.
haha what if you were the only one out of 30 BYO :p
"ahh sorry, your food isnt good enough"

But does this mean your responsible for your own food, and have to make sure that if you like your steak turned x number of times for x amount of minutes then you have to do it yourself.

Cant see the issue depending on numbers, make a rough allowance depending on age, whether its kids etc... and you should be fine.

I have never been to a BBQ where I have been asked to bring meat, though I have been asked, or my family/group to bring salad, booze, soft drink etc....

But does this mean your responsible for your own food, and have to make sure that if you like your steak turned x number of times for x amount of minutes then you have to do it yourself.

Would you do that anyway?

IMO it would be easier to have the one person organise the food and have everyone bring their own booze. If people want their steaks a little extra well done then surely it is easier to ask the host who should have complete control of the BBQ, compared to actually having everyone minding and turning their own steaks. IMO only the host should be near the BBQ in control of the cooking, and that should include the purchase and cooking of the food.

Most people I know are more fussy over what they drink at a BBQ anyway, whether it be a light or full strength beer, RTD's, wine etc... Depends on your crowd I guess...

If people want their steaks a little extra well done then surely it is easier to ask the host who should have complete control of the BBQ, compared to actually having everyone minding and turning their own steaks. IMO only the host should be near the BBQ in control of the cooking

People are way over thinking it. Why would you have everyone cooking their own food?

Not really the point I was making. The point I was making was that surely rather then having everyones separate stuff, it would be easier to just have the host cook up a plate of stuff, and if people have certain requests, then they can tell the host, rather then everyone bringing there own, which would be for the most part the same thing, a couple snags and a few chops.

The main point I am saying is that surely it is easier to cater for the narrow range of meat people would want compared to the wide range of alcoholic bevarages and soft drinks that people would want.

In all it just comes down to the crowd. The 20yr old blokes fairly boganish BBQ, which is basically made up of a few snags and chops with bread and two slabs watching the cricket and kicking a footy is a completley different kettle of fish to a 40something BBQ with everyone bringing in their potato salad and rugrats, which is usually followed up with a few bottles of red. Whatever floats your boat really.

I get what youre saying. The main times my mates do BYO meat is when its a spur of the moment decision to have a BBQ the next day and a mass text message goes out to 30+ people and its up in the air how many will turn up. If you wanna come then BYO meat, ill supply the booze. Much easier having it that way in that situation than buying $70 on meat and you find youve bought way too much or not enough.

True, also comes down to how many people and how well you know them as well. Given that most of the BBQ's I have attended since leaving home have been slap dash affairs, usually just sausage in bread for 6-10 people while playing backyard cricket and more importantly sinking piss then Im not really one to comment on the exact etiquette required for BBQ's...:p:D

Wow!

Maybe it's a different culture in Perth but taking your own meat is simply what's done unless stated otherwise specifically which is rare.

I would then grab a mate and cook it all up how they like, or to how my ability dictates :p

I think it's a much better idea, everyone shares the costs and eats what they want.

Exactly. When you have a BBQ, you always have a carton or two in the fridge anyway, stock it up, BYO Meat cook up and drink the beer. Everybody eats what they bring and whatever beer is left over is there for the host. Leftover Beer > Leftover Meat and Snags.

What sucks is when you take the T-Bone steaks and end up with the scummy sausages that someone else takes along. Why should a guest be expected to feed others who skimp?

Facts are, its un-Australian to ask for people to bring meat to a BBQ you are hosting.

Would you invite someone to sunday roast then ask them to bring meat? no. Same deal here...

Tell your mate to get a grip. Pi55 weak! :thumbsd: