bbq ettiquette

i know someone who regularly has these, and to be honest I think it's rude. I would never think to rock up to a bbq without bringing a salad or a side dish of some sort, but I don't expect to feed myself the main meal at someone else's party. Here's an idea- if you're short of cash, don't host a bbq.

What sucks is when you take the T-Bone steaks and end up with the scummy sausages that someone else takes along. Why should a guest be expected to feed others who skimp?

Facts are, its un-Australian to ask for people to bring meat to a BBQ you are hosting.

Would you invite someone to sunday roast then ask them to bring meat? no. Same deal here...

Tell your mate to get a grip. Pi55 weak! :thumbsd:

i know someone who regularly has these, and to be honest I think it's rude. I would never think to rock up to a bbq without bringing a salad or a side dish of some sort, but I don't expect to feed myself the main meal at someone else's party. Here's an idea- if you're short of cash, don't host a bbq.

Agree with both.

What sucks is when you take the T-Bone steaks and end up with the scummy sausages that someone else takes along. Why should a guest be expected to feed others who skimp?

Facts are, its un-Australian to ask for people to bring meat to a BBQ you are hosting.

Would you invite someone to sunday roast then ask them to bring meat? no. Same deal here...

Tell your mate to get a grip. Pi55 weak! :thumbsd:

Agree.

Obviously some big culture shock differences here.

My experience of BBQs is generally that you either BYO meat or Drink - sometimes both. Hell we even got one invite that was:

"BYO meat, alcohol, salad, plate, glass, cutlery and chair."

That was the first, and last time that couple EVER hosted anything.

Normal BBQ's at my place - i'll put up the snags, hamburgers, and some cheap steaks. If you want something different, bring it. There'll be cheap beer, light beer and a boxy in the fridge, otherwise bring your own.

Unless it's an event, or planned - then I'll generally do all food, and get people to bring alcohol only - or chip in cash. ($20 all you can eat/drink goes well after the first time - good food, massive feed and lots of alcohol to wash it down with).

You're not. You eat what you bring, you don't pool it into a buffet for everyone. I've never been to a BBQ where people have had an issue with this.

But the host isn't really. He's inviting you to a BBQ and providing snags, salad, rolls and burgers. He's already providing meat. He's essentially saying if you want something more or expensive, bring it yourself.

As I said, maybe it's a Perth thing but I haven't known a BBQ to not be BYO unless it's a special function and even then many are BYO.

Nobody has a problem with this whatsoever.

People are way over thinking it. Why would you have everyone cooking their own food?

That's the logical extension to everyone bringing their own meat though.

You don't want to be bringing prime scotch fillet only to have it cooked by the host and mixed up in a mass heap of meat on a tray once it's done. Next thing you know some scavenger is eating your scotch (the same people who bring a box of goon to a party then drink everyone else's spirits all night) and you're stuck with some shitty sausages.

So either you cook it yourself or you hover around the plate ready to claim it as soon as it's ready.

Of course this is assuming it's a large party - if it's an intimate gathering of close friends you don't have these problems.

When i have a bbq i normally just buy a few cartons of UDL's and shoot into coles and buy some marked down sausages or something.

I've only had one bbq and no-one ate the snags and people were whinging about the fact i had no beer. But ****, how much do they expect me to spend on the barbie?

I love my UDLs.

The reason why i didnt have beer was due to the fact that at a party before the younguns got drunk off about 3 stubbies and then proceeded to hurl empty beer bottles onto the road and basically just act like a rolling maul of english football hooligans.

I had to apologize the next day to the neighbours. It was disgraceful.

The reason why i didnt have beer was due to the fact that at a party before the younguns got drunk off about 3 stubbies and then proceeded to hurl empty beer bottles onto the road and basically just act like a rolling maul of english football hooligans.

I had to apologize the next day to the neighbours. It was disgraceful.

You know they make beer in cans now?

Not sure what the big deal is - it's the hosts choice to invite you and some want you to BYO meat; some BYO drinks; some a chair, and some all of the above.

TBH, I'd rather eat the porterhouse or good quality chops I bring myself, than the 'budget' chops and 'hamburgers' often supplied when the host provides the meat.

If you're offended by a request to BYO, then don't go!

That's the logical extension to everyone bringing their own meat though.

Well, not really.

You don't want to be bringing prime scotch fillet only to have it cooked by the host and mixed up in a mass heap of meat on a tray once it's done. Next thing you know some scavenger is eating your scotch (the same people who bring a box of goon to a party then drink everyone else's spirits all night) and you're stuck with some shitty sausages.

If you want to be bringing fillets of Wagyu beef to a large bbq then thats your prerogative.

In all the BYO meat BBQs ive been to there has never been a problem with people scabbing random meat ahead of their own.

If you dont want other people eating your meat then either be a man and grab it or get new friends who dont steal each others prime meats.

Next time let your husband organise the BBQ.

I love my UDL's they go down like water and they have a nice taste.

Beer makes me bloated and my mates have some weird fetish where they finish their stubby and proceed to hurl bottles onto the road.

BYO meat is tight. If you're after a premium scotch fillet medium-rare with garlic butter and grilled garlic & herb potato then you're at the wrong place. You don't go to a BBQ to eat premium meat - you go to share a beer, curb your hunger with a cheap steak/rissole/snag and chat to your mates about footy, cricket, work, life, the kids, etc etc.

Beer bloats me too - so after 4-6 I switch to the bourbon & cokes (thank you Slate).

On another note - how massive is the sunday AGB after a big night on the bbq meat/turps!

If you dont want other people eating your meat then either be a man and grab it or get new friends who dont steal each others prime meats.

:D

I lol’ed at this sentence. This could have been worded better but i agree with M19 overall summary regarding BYO meat to a BBQ.

The BBQ culture around my circle of friends is that the host supply’s the meat simply because that’s the ways it always been done and yes we always have a shitload of leftovers. From now on whenever i host a BBQ the culture will be a changin’, no longer will it be BYO beer, it will be BYO meat and i will supply the grog (1 carton of crownies and 2 cartons of Coopers Pale Ales)

I like the idea.

Another thing I just thought of.

Most BBQ's I go to, or am involved in are either at my place, or one friends. there's prob 8-10 different people (or couples) that come along, but it's always at either his, or my place.

If there's a 'fair' rotation of venues, I guess the 'host supplies all would work, but generally some locations/hosts are better than others.

I love my UDL's they go down like water and they have a nice taste.

Beer makes me bloated and my mates have some weird fetish where they finish their stubby and proceed to hurl bottles onto the road.

Cheap beer to give them does come in cans. That leave you to spend FA extra and you dont have worry about smashed stubbies on the road. You know that right? :cool: ;)