Business & Finance Being scammed

I got scammed once. Learnt my lesson and I we never sign up for Telstra mobile again.

Lmfao, same, but with Vodafone. :p

Not sure what that means

when a cab takes you on an indirect route for a bigger fare

being a tourist, you have no idea what the best route is

A big one is in Las Vegas where from the airport they take you on the freeway to the strip, but the best and quickest way is through the normal streets. Nets the taxi driver about $7-$10 extra per fare

Saw on TV cab drivers somewhere charge $100 (whatever their currancy was) despite signs saying everywhere the fixed rate for the city was $50. When the guy questioned it, they all said that was the old fare and now its been raised.

Saw on the same episode most taxis in prague have a 'boost' button which jacks the meter up massively. Guy took the same for, once was $178 the other was like $950. He got the cab driver to fess up once revealed it was for a tv show and he confirmed most cabs have this button they push when they feel like they've gotten someone who wont argue

Also know a person (girl) who took one of the smaller boat taxis from Samui to the Full Moon Party in Thailand and half way the boat stopped and the driver damended all their money etc. Happens quite a bit. We still took a water taxi back once but it was filled with about 10 blokes so I dont think they would've tried anything then

I wasn't actually the one scammed but once I was quite sick and had to call in a doctor to come to my house at night from some sort of visiting medical service. The came and did what he had to do and all was fine.

Several months later I was contacted by someone investigating this doctor, checking up on when and how many times he had actually visited. It seems that once he got my medicare details on his visit, he then put in claims for several more visits that never happened in order to get paid more from medicare.

I had my credit card skimmed by a dodgy cabbie in Melbourne. Next day I got a call from the bank to ask if I had purchased $3200 worth of grog from a Liquorland store. Seems the scumbag had cloned my card and gone straight down to stock up on high end booze.

Got the money back from the bank but it takes several weeks.

Some bastard hacked my PayPal once too and transferred $500 to himself. Same deal - got it back eventually but it takes a while to go thru their dispute process.

Bought some NBA jerseys online. Next day partner calls me up (joint bank account) don't want to ruin what your planning but I saw a massive purchase from a jewellery store. :enters panic mode: call up bank, they look into it, get my money back. I go back online to that store send the admin a very nasty email. 2 days later stock arrives :eek:

So got 6 nba jerseys for free but a very disappointed girlfriend.

Bought some NBA jerseys online. Next day partner calls me up (joint bank account) don't want to ruin what your planning but I saw a massive purchase from a jewellery store. :enters panic mode: call up bank, they look into it, get my money back. I go back online to that store send the admin a very nasty email. 2 days later stock arrives :eek:

So got 6 nba jerseys for free but a very disappointed girlfriend.

1. Give girlfriend Jersey.
2. Girlfriend wears Jersey in bed.
3. Win.

When i was younger and smoked pot everyday, i used to chat on yahoo messenger with a girl from Tasmania, i'd make up different lies everyday and get her to send me half her centrelink every fortnight.

Was pretty mean and pathetic, but i was always stoned.

When i was younger and smoked pot everyday, i used to chat on yahoo messenger with a girl from Tasmania, i'd make up different lies everyday and get her to send me half her centrelink every fortnight.

WOW!!!

Tasmania had the internet back then? :o

How gullible was this girl and what kind of stories did you make up to get her to send you money?

Did you ever meet her?

and when you first asked her for cash did you seriously think that she would send it?

How gullible was this girl and what kind of stories did you make up to get her to send you money?

Did you ever meet her?

and when you first asked her for cash did you seriously think that she would send it?

Never met her and i lied about where i lived, I'm sick i can't afford medicine, i'm hungry i can't afford food, i can't go to work today i can't afford fuel, i'm going to lose my license if i don't pay fines, I need $20 more to cover rent, just about anything i could think of.

Oh she liked me i was positive she would have sent me her entire centrelink payment if i had asked.

I'm pretty sure Jamster was a big scam. I tried to buy a bunch of stuff which I never received on my phone.

I got scammed once.

****ing hell, I'll never forget it.

I just moved and was at a new area. Was introduced to a few guys by a mate, saw these guys were into dealing weed. Had cash on me so decided to buy some. When we were doing the deal, this guy was acting suspicious, and I had a feeling there was something wrong with the weed that I was being dealt with. I asked him, is something going on here, is there something wrong with the weed that I'm being given? He replies, look I can't say anything okay. Anyways, the guys were pressuring me to buy it and things were getting heated. So I did. As soon as I got the weed I realised that they were fake.

To get the true story, please replace these words

Area = Primary School
Mate = Teacher
Weed = Pokemon Cards
Cash = A shiny Blastoise that was given to me by my cousin, which I kept in my wallet

o_O

The 'homeless' beggar who raked in $80,000 a year

http://www.news.com.au/money/money-...-in-80000-a-year/story-e6frfmd9-1226658449410

SITTING on the pavement next to his dog and sleeping bag, Simon Wright looked to all the world like a homeless beggar.

But what the passers-by who gave him cash didn't know was that he was earning over 50,000 pounds ($A80,900) a year and living in a 300,000 pounds ($A485,400) council flat.

At the end of every day he would pick up his handwritten sign and head back to his Fulham home.

Locals say he regularly went into bookmakers and amusement shops to change up his loose coins. On many occasions they added up to between 200 pounds ($A323) and 300 pounds ($A485). Magistrates have now imposed a two-year Asbo banning him from begging anywhere in London.

PC Oliver Strebel, who brought the case to court, said: "He had a reputation for getting a lot of gifts while begging. He used a sign saying he was homeless and people gave him money on that basis, which is clearly fraud. He would take the money from his cup and change it over at a local betting shop or amusement arcade.

"He worked pretty much every day, and had done so for about three years. He certainly put in the hours."

Wright proved Putney High Street in south-west London was such a lucrative venue that he attracted up to nine other beggars. Since his arrest, they have all but disappeared. Commuters who fell for his story said they were shocked to learn they had been duped.

Chris Faversham said: "I definitely gave him money over the years. Probably about 20 pounds. I wonder if I can get that back?"

Wimbledon Magistrates' Court also ordered Wright to keep his dog muzzled after hearing it had bitten at least one person.

The Asbo will remain in place until May 2015, but if Wright, who admitted fraud and begging, breaches any of its terms he could be sent to prison for up to five years.

Putney councillor Jonathan Cook said: "Anyone who lives, works or shops in and around Putney High Street will be mightily relieved to see this unpleasant individual given his marching orders. "Many people felt intimidated by him and there is some evidence to suggest that he used his dog to threaten and pressure people into handing over cash."

I got a call from someone who told me they worked at Origin Energy and that they were having issues with power in my area and asked me to check if my fridge was running. I promptly checked and told him that it was running fine to which he responded "well you better go catch it then", laughed and hung up.

when a cab takes you on an indirect route for a bigger fare

being a tourist, you have no idea what the best route is

Believe it or not, you can be scammed by cabbies here as well :cool:

A couple of years ago a few of us hit the city one night for a bucks but one of the guys was so legless (had been drinking during the day) we decided to put him in a cab and send him home.

When I spoke to him the next day, he reckons he carked it in the cab and when he woke up he was still in the CBD with the meter at just under $80 :D When the cab stopped at the next set of red lights, he got out, told the driver to go heck himself and walked off. Surprisingly the cabbie didnt put up much of an argument.

got my paypal account hacked a few weeks ago. some guy from tunisia used it to buy some comics. got the money back in about a week, but was pretty inconveniencing. had to have my atm cards replaced which was the most annoying thing..

Wouldn't call it a scam exactly, but i did get ambushed and sucked in by the red cross.
Thought i was talking to some random chick, nek minnit, im giving credit card details and now donating $15 a month to charity.
Not really a Scam so to speak, but same thing happened to me 4 years ago.
Out side the front of Bunnings was 2 great looking birds working for 'Canteen' (cancer foundation) and as I walked past the blonde one stopped me and had a strong Irish accent, which I then found out to be my kryptonite...
Talked for 15-20 mins and before I know it, handed of my direct debit details and I'm donating $20 a month and got a free bandana! wooo hooo :oops:

Got home and told the girlfriend I felt a sudden urge to donate to a charity, 1 week later I fessed up it was all to do with a chick with an Irish accent.
Turns out she goes weak for Irish blokes too and has bought something she didn't need in almost the same circumstances!

got my paypal account hacked a few weeks ago. some guy from tunisia used it to buy some comics. got the money back in about a week, but was pretty inconveniencing. had to have my atm cards replaced which was the most annoying thing..

Yep, first thing that came to mind.

Not sure if everything else is Snopes or not, but there was a dodgy cabbie in Melbourne doing this. I paid using work CC, then 2 months later had a cabcharge. I didn't remember, but possible as I was back in Melbourne.

Then 2 weeks after that. I called the bank to investigate. Whilst they were checking, it happened again a week later. Then every day. Eventually it was stopped, and I had ten $49.95, $49.96, $49.97 type transactions refunded.

About 3 months after that I saw a transaction for something like "AdultToysBallBag", again $49.95. Seeing as I worked for the bank, and this was a corporate card, this was of course picked up. Luckily it was traced from the same address as the dodgy cab charges - otherwise I'd probably have lost my job.

(Still use CC in cabs - hasn't learnt).

Far out. This is pretty devious.

A mate of mine got scammed once in a taxi, but those pricks do anything. His was just the "oh sorry mate, your card didn't scan properly – swipe it again" trick. When your cut at 4am, you just want to get to your bed, I guess.

Taxi drivers and girls are usually an unsavoury mix (does anyone in Perth remember the pantless cabbie story? What a pisser!). A few girls from school got a taxi from UWA to Northbridge once, and the drivers goes "okay: it's $100 (it's probably, like, $35 from Nedlands) or your shoes." One of them sacrificed their high heels. That's one of the more odd yarns I've heard.

Have been scammed a few times by some dodgey people. Found out that if you report them to consumer affairs special site which is called scamwatch you can easily get the scammers into all sorts of trouble.