Past Ben Fixter (2006-2007)

Re: Ben Fixter

He's done something different with his hair this year, hasn't he?

(See Ben, i noticed)

He is not good enough, he has limited pace and skill, being a hard nut is not enough for footy today. Would kill them at the local level, but doesn't cut it at the top.

I agree to an extent. I think it was difficult to have Selwood and Fixter in the same side, and Selwood is bigger and more complete, but while Bunnings recovers, I think Ben might get a fair bit of footy.

I'm inclined to agree with you there acuguy, but the thing is the bossman loves that sort of player. If you have a look at a lot of Lions in their first few games, the thing they do best is the chasing and hard tackling. Now many have gone to show they can get the ball and use it well...Fixter perhaps has not. But like xplo said, will probably get a bit of time till another tagger comes along.

Stats aren't everything but Round 1 would have to have been his biggest game for us.

11 Kicks
9 HB
20 Possessions
6 Marks

Has shown that he is developing an attacking side to his game and has the ability to find the ball. Needs to keep working on his disposal.

I reckon he'll be a depth player on our list for some years to come.

Most effective tacker award 2006 b and f ... Benny and the Jets !!!

Set the in-and-under standard v Saints. Looked slow and limited last year .. but who didn't ? Most impressed - and I'm now in major re-assess mode.

Me too. Only wanted him in the team until better players got back, but now I can't bear the thought of dropping him.

Probably the most improved player on our team after round 2 imho.

He is a looks a legitimate player now. He was always a tough tackler who was hard at it but this year he has added considerably to his game. He has been a very effective tag over the last couple of games and most surprisingly is running off his player on occasions and getting more than a few possessions. Whilst his disposal stills needs a bit of work he is generally effective and is an option now for those around him where he wasn't before.

He is looking more and more like the Scotts every day and when Selwood comes back I wouldn't be surprised to see him play more of the role that the Scotts did at the back for the Lions. This would allow Copeland to rome up the ground and use his great endurance more effectively. Fixter still isn't the quickest guy going around but he is not being shown up on that front at the moment (maybe through smart match ups).

At the beginning of the year I was also thinking of him as a stop gap until Selwood returned but now I think he has to be considered a valuable member of the best 25 who always has to be at least considered for a place each week no matter who is fit. Very nice signs for Ben.

Ben hit a bit of a purple patch at the start of the year, but he wasn't able to sustain it. Being out until round 20 with a groin injury I can't see him playing again this year.

With Adcock and Macdonald providing some grunt in the midfield, and with Selwood, Begley, McGrath, Hammill etc developing as defensive midfielders, I think Ben will be struggling to keep his spot next year.

5xh339v.jpg

Ben hit a bit of a purple patch at the start of the year, but he wasn't able to sustain it. Being out until round 20 with a groin injury I can't see him playing again this year.

With Adcock and Macdonald providing some grunt in the midfield, and with Selwood, Begley, McGrath, Hammill etc developing as defensive midfielders, I think Ben will be struggling to keep his spot next year.

He will definitely be towards the bottom of the playing list at the moment. He was never going to be a superstar but can be a very good contributor. He will not be the first to be cut, but may still not be there in 2008.

dont really care either way,
id say that says it all..

he was serviceable but was never really gonna be part of our future. was really just adding a mature body into the side in those 2 years that we were fielding 90% kids.

with that in mind id say he did his job.

There doesn't seem to be any on-line info but it was reported in the Sunday Mail that Fixter has been delisted.

fixterdj4.jpg

End of Season Player Review

Ben Fixter always looked to be somewhat of a stop-gap player for the Lions, being someone who can provide some grunt in the middle until the next generation of youngsters had developed. As such it was another year where he was fighting for his career.

The season started well for him and he was probably in career best form (at least in terms of his time at the Lions) and it looked like he was establishing himself as an important player for the side. However it was short lived, as his opponents started getting more and more of the ball and he got less and less. He was dropped in round 10 and did not return to the senior side for the rest of the year.

Fixter is a player with enormous courage, and his fierce attack on the ball almost borders on being reckless. However he has terrible skills and this was always going to be a major stumbling block for him. With players like Adcock and Macdonald stepping up to provide the grunt in the middle, and players like Begley and McGrath showing they can perform as stoppers, Fixter’s value to the side became less and less.

Things then got worse for Fixter when he started to suffer a few injuries later in the year. Having been extremely injury prone in his time at Sydney, this was always going to be a worry for the Lions. At the end of the year he was delisted.

fixterfe6.jpg