Ben Hudson

Crow-mo said:
and all I have been saying is that is physical condition won't stop him attempting a comeback, and nor should it. I agree entirely about concerns over form, I have no idea how he'll go.

however these pronouncements that he won't play this year, make no sense. Kane has some wacky idea he'll be the first player to elect not to make a mideseason comeback. that never happens.

To say he definitely won't play presumes knowledge of how he's going to go - which is nuts.
Where did I say he wouldn't make any kind of come-back?

I have stated I doubt he will be ready for AFL level until next year & that it is only likely he will play if we injuries to both Biglands & Clarke.

jc67 said:
I usually take notice of the warning you post in your sig, but tonight I'll bite.:p
last years preseason almost everyone believed that he could make 1st ruck, absolutely make the team. Go back another year to find the better judges.

From what i know about Knee reco's, once its ok it's OK! He owns his own Physio equipment FFS, and the round the clock attention had him ready to go months ago. The danger is in the mind, and huddo is not your average bear in the mind dept either.
Anyway we'll know if he's up to it within a couple of weeks.
I am certain that he will play well in the SANFL and the Crows squad is picked on form, he will get back in soon.
If you get your car back from the crash repairer, do you leave it in the garage and drive your older, slower car with less performance? just in case you smash it again?
Seriously the anount of people who think Huddo will return earlier to the Crows because his is a physio are in fantasy land. How is being a physio going to help him with his confidence?

Stiffy_18 said:
If you read this board, most people seem to think that Huddo is our gun recruit for the finals. He will come back as good as he was last year. History suggests that odds are against that happening. Thats all Kane, Wayne, Springy and myself have been saying.

perhaps a much better question might be: how good does he need to be, to justify bringing him into the team.

I'd have thought he need not be at his best to still be a valuable contributor.

incidentally, I see no reason why he can't progress well enough to help the cause. remains to be seen though.

Kane McGoodwin said:
A comeback after 12 months from a knee injury playing at SANFL reserves level is one thing, playing with confidence at AFL level is another thing entirely. Funny how you reckon I'm the one with radical thinking. For someone suposedly very intelligent, I would have thought you could think through the logic of this a little better...

nothing at all wrong with my logic here. he's been on the sidelines, he's cleared to play, and he's making a comeback. However, you seem to think you know what can be expected of his comeback - now you're saying he's only good for SANFL reserves?

less said about the logic here, the better.

Stiffy_18 said:
With all due respects, thats one of the dumbest analogies I have every heard off.

Knees and cars are not even similar in any sense. Are you actually aware that when a person has a knee reco that the knee never gets to what it was before and it generally takes 2 years to "fully" heal properly.
http://orthopedics.about.com/c/ec/1.htm
Read the newsletter, its the same one i was given years ago when i did my ACL.
After the recovery it is actually stronger than before, basically the ACL doesn't go from completely good to wrecked instantly. It wears and gets a bit loose then it goes (certainly with mine). It cant be repaired, and has to be replaced/reconstructed with a graft from elsewhere in your body or built from donor material.
Its not a matter of it getting stronger but healing, once the graft has taken your pretty much right to walk ECT, once the graft has adopted the right shape and the connection has properly healed your pretty much ok to go, This takes a different amount of time for different people (mine was feeling fine after 8ish months but i never put any pressure on it), it does take longer for tall people because of the size of it (its a bit like a net that covers a fair bit of space).
So It actually is stronger than pre injury
Secondly there is absolutely no physical reason for a 2 year recovery (assuming all goes well)

Kane McGoodwin said:
Where did I say he wouldn't make any kind of come-back?

I have stated I doubt he will be ready for AFL level until next year & that it is only likely he will play if we injuries to both Biglands & Clarke.

I know, and that's just what I take exception too.

an AFL comeback for an AFL player is the comeback, everything else is still rehabilitation.

players have been coming back mid season for so long it's not funny - do you dispute this? if not, what about this case do you think is different?

Crow-mo said:
nothing at all wrong with my logic here. he's been on the sidelines, he's cleared to play, and he's making a comeback. However, you seem to think you know what can be expected of his comeback - now you're saying he's only good for SANFL reserves?

less said about the logic here, the better.
Quite clearly he is only currently ready for SANFL reserves - no logic here, but fact! He is way off AFL level - this is where the logic is applied.

Kane McGoodwin said:
Seriously the anount of people who think Huddo will return earlier to the Crows because his is a physio are in fantasy land. How is being a physio going to help him with his confidence?

err, why not?

surely even you'd admit that having a deeper understanding of your condition must help with your confidence. compared with being an ordinary bloke who must just take everything on face value, how could a greater understanding not help with the decisions you make throughout your rehab, and subsequently confidence that you were ready?

You have to remember Huddo is not coming back early, he has been held back!

Kane McGoodwin said:
I didn't say that.
But its a valid point, he would definitely understand what was happening and how to manage it properly. That alone would give confidence, let alone the every 4 hour extra treatments he was doing early on.
Others are told that they are clear, huddo told them. And he was speaking fact.

Kane McGoodwin said:
Quite clearly he is only currently ready for SANFL reserves - no logic here, but fact! He is way off AFL level - this is where the logic is applied.

WTF?

I thought we were talking about the season proper, you know the one that has about 9 - 10 weeks to go?

but hey, if it makes sense to you. :thumbsu:

Kane McGoodwin said:

He must be a fair way off AFL level at the moment, as ive mentioned above, North would love a big strong experienced ruckmen in their team this week as we have Matt Down playing whos only a kid.
We will have to wait and see how he goes this week in the Bs first, and then hopefully As next week, before we know whether hes capable of playing finals footy for the Crows. He has to find form as well as fitness first.

jc67 said:
He's playing reserves because he's still being held back.
Exactly. They have stared Huddo at the lowest possible levelm because he has been off injured for so long. Makes perfect sense to me. ;)

Kane McGoodwin said:
Exactly. They have stared Huddo at the lowest possible levelm because he has been off injured for so long. Makes perfect sense to me. ;)
To everyone i would think:confused:
its not about this week only! we've still got 2 months of footy in front of us.
Do you seriously believe that he will be playing reserves for that long?

End of the day the bloke has been cleared to play footy again, which is great. However, it remains to be seen how he is going to go.

FWIW I reckon he will be BOG this week and be back in the Rooster's League side next week. Who's to say from there that if he starts to dominate SANFL footy again then he why wouldn't he be picked for the Crows?

IMO I beleive he is our best ruckman (pre-injury). For the people to say he shouldn't play this year is stupid, because the bloke has been cleared to play by the best medicos in the business and if he regains the sort of form he had previously then if I was on the match committee I would pick him (long sentece, I know!!)

So there's my two cents worth. Imagine how good we would be with a ruckman who can do the work around the ground and lead our clearances (where we have been vulnerable)???

BringbacktheBiff2005 said:
End of the day the bloke has been cleared to play footy again, which is great. However, it remains to be seen how he is going to go.

FWIW I reckon he will be BOG this week and be back in the Rooster's League side next week. Who's to say from there that if he starts to dominate SANFL footy again then he why wouldn't he be picked for the Crows?

IMO I beleive he is our best ruckman (pre-injury). For the people to say he shouldn't play this year is stupid, because the bloke has been cleared to play by the best medicos in the business and if he regains the sort of form he had previously then if I was on the match committee I would pick him (long sentece, I know!!)

So there's my two cents worth. Imagine how good we would be with a ruckman who can do the work around the ground and lead our clearances (where we have been vulnerable)???

fwiw, I can't see much to disagree with here at all.

But... I am sure at least one special bunny will do their best.

Amen to that.

Biglands is also a better player with Huddo in the team as both go at it pretty hard in 'bursts' when on.

Exactly. Unfortunately, considering his circumstances, he's a week by week proposition. How much work load can he take on imeediately ? How much game time does he need ? These type of questions will be answered over the next couple of weeks.

Huddo is EASILY our best ruckman. Good in the ruck, ball hits the deck and he will dive on it putting his body on the line, great around the ground. Im bloody excited about the Ressies game tomorrow actually, to see just how well he is moving at the moment. But as i already stated, hes training the house down, he has a lot of guts and a great fighting spirit and work ethic which is very impressive.

RoosterLad said:
Huddo is EASILY our best ruckman. Good in the ruck, ball hits the deck and he will dive on it putting his body on the line, great around the ground. Im bloody excited about the Ressies game tomorrow actually, to see just how well he is moving at the moment. But as i already stated, hes training the house down, he has a lot of guts and a great fighting spirit and work ethic which is very impressive.

please report back to us mate on how he goes :thumbsu: