Benalla & District

• Thread starter Thread starter raso43

Matt Nichols has written this in the free press about the local HDFL teams and the coming and goings which include a Boonie Doon recruit Chris Dunne from Broadford.

DISTRICT NEWS
"In football news around the district, Broadford has officially lost the services of Chris Dunne, who has signed with Bonnie Doon, a club that competes in arguably the worst football competition in Victoria.
Strangely, despite rumours circulating about his depature in November, Dunne did not officially inform the Roos until last week."

I think Matt may have read a few to many posts on other sites of Big footy. Good source Matt, please dont expose it.

Matt Nichols has written this in the free press about the local HDFL teams and the coming and goings which include a Boonie Doon recruit Chris Dunne from Broadford.

DISTRICT NEWS
"In football news around the district, Broadford has officially lost the services of Chris Dunne, who has signed with Bonnie Doon, a club that competes in arguably the worst football competition in Victoria.
Strangely, despite rumours circulating about his depature in November, Dunne did not officially inform the Roos until last week."

I think Matt may have read a few to many posts on other sites of Big footy. Good source Matt, please dont expose it.

You are a clown GG, try asking a VCFL official and see what they think of the BDFL. Five sides last year, and the quality is pretty sub-standard. Arguably means just that. It is not definitive. Apologies if I've offended any fans of the BDFL here, but I'm a reporter it's my job.

What steps have been taken to ensure the survival of the BDFL, or to find new homes for the current clubs?

I guess there is a reason why its free.
What many people don't get it that the B&D is ground roots footy at its best. We are not palying for sheep stations, just guys and girls wanting to have a bit of fun. Admittedly there are some people that want to be a big fish in a small pond, but most are just happy to play the game. Thats why the B&D is still in operation even though the odds are against it.

DISTRICT NEWS

as my last post got thrown out ill try to be a little more direct this time

Is the free press arguably the worst press in victoria?
Is Matt Nichols arguably the worst journalist in Australia?
Get out there and have a look for yourself. Matt Nichols if your going to put your name to an article then the least you can do is do some reaserch for yourself. Ever been to a game in the B&D to see what they have to offer. Or is it too easy to write the words of anouther auther!

It would be nice if in the future all posts not just some are taken of for being abusive or is it just ones that are abusive to certain people?

as my last post got thrown out ill try to be a little more direct this time

Is the free press arguably the worst press in victoria?
Is Matt Nichols arguably the worst journalist in Australia?
Get out there and have a look for yourself. Matt Nichols if your going to put your name to an article then the least you can do is do some reaserch for yourself. Ever been to a game in the B&D to see what they have to offer. Or is it too easy to write the words of anouther auther!

It would be nice if in the future all posts not just some are taken of for being abusive or is it just ones that are abusive to certain people?

How come it got thrown out?

You are a clown GG, try asking a VCFL official and see what they think of the BDFL. Five sides last year, and the quality is pretty sub-standard. Arguably means just that. It is not definitive. Apologies if I've offended any fans of the BDFL here, but I'm a reporter it's my job.

I'll take clown over sub standard journo. When writing sub standard comments remember to use arguably, allegedly and the best one of all a source close to the club.

I have been reading your articles from last year and as a journo you are supposed to grow and get better resources including information. Usually you do this by ringing people via phone calls but ou seem to be using posts from big footy as fact.

Eh..arguably the worst football competition in Victoria.
Strewth Matt! .. Arguably and not definitive. That's a bit like saying a foot in the groin from a mongrel ruckman is arguably not as definitive as generalising about a side as a pack of kickers!
In one fell swoop ( look it up .. it's not foul) you have tarred and feathered the B&DFNL from the Pres down to the match day gatekeeper.

Using a four letter acronym .. VCFL .. the only sponsor they would pass on to the League is FCUK - and they don't even manufacture footy jumpers.
The VCFL regards the B&DNFL as a dose of acne! The sooner they get rid of that pimple the better.

The people who support and love the fact that five teams who intimately, passionately and YOY cheer for their competition of little towns, don't need any FCUK to ruin it. More so. The corporate mentality of change for the better good of corporation doesn't need to be also published in some rag called the free press.

My complaint is predominantly with the "city-centric VCFL" ( ain't that an oxymoron?). However, the area manager in Vic North-East hasn't been doing a bad job to give free reign of the BDFL to form its own future.

John O'D has the boundaries he has to work in .. and would get white line fever correction if he crossed them. Needless to say, the amount of negativity in this league's on-line postings to the veggie patch is wearing John Carrot down.

Leave you with a challenge, Matt Nicholls.
If your judgment is based on fact .. then I say "Strewth" or "Struth". Tell me more!
If you can tell me where that great Aussie word is derived from, then you are arguably an Aussie who supports grass roots Aussie Rules definitely.
If not - don't give up your day job ..;)

I'll take clown over sub standard journo. When writing sub standard comments remember to use arguably, allegedly and the best one of all a source close to the club.

I have been reading your articles from last year and as a journo you are supposed to grow and get better resources including information. Usually you do this by ringing people via phone calls but ou seem to be using posts from big footy as fact.

Using Big Footy posts as fact? Pllllease, give me a break. BF is the worst website in the world for factual information. However, it does create good rumours, which can be followed up with phone calls and emails and other forms of communication. I reckon about 80% of sport journalists reporting on country and metro footy read these threads for info. As one K-Rock journo, formerly of the Shepparton area, said: "Any good footy journo who doesn't read Big Footy is just depriving themselves of a lead story".

This is what I just posted on the RDFL thread for those who have attacked me there too.

Ah don't you love this time of the year, footy is on the way back and people are already having a crack at my articles. I'm getting goosebumps already.

For all those BDFL fans, or anyone who took offence to my "arguably the worst football competition in Victoria" line, I apologise if i've upset you, but lets be realistic. I wasn't talking about the quality of the people involved, how good a bloke or sheila they are, I was talking about the standard of football, which is sheisenhausen. I hate seeing leagues collapse, but the way the VCFL run things, the odds are against it's survival.

By putting that simple line in the article I wrote, it was basically pointing out that Dunne is leaving a club on the rise, in a continually improving league, to go play low-quality football and be a big fish in a small pond.

As for Ruane leaving Diggers Rest for Euroa, well done to him. You probably won't catch me writing too much in my paper, The Free Press, other than a few lines, because he does not come from my area.

I know who Paul Daffy is, he is a brilliant country football journalist, but you're kidding yourself if you think he hasn't offended clubs and leagues before. Daffy gets paid to write "feel good" country footy stories. I get paid to write about what is happening in my area, which is what I do, and do to my best abilities.

Thank you gentlemen, and good day.

Leave you with a challenge, Matt Nicholls.
If your judgment is based on fact .. then I say "Strewth" or "Struth". Tell me more!
If you can tell me where that great Aussie word is derived from, then you are arguably an Aussie who supports grass roots Aussie Rules definitely.
If not - don't give up your day job ..;)

My Year 12 literature teacher taught me that struth means God's truth, but over time, Australians have spelt it strewth.

Using Big Footy posts as fact? Pllllease, give me a break. BF is the worst website in the world for factual information. However, it does create good rumours, which can be followed up with phone calls and emails and other forms of communication. I reckon about 80% of sport journalists reporting on country and metro footy read these threads for info. As one K-Rock journo, formerly of the Shepparton area, said: "Any good footy journo who doesn't read Big Footy is just depriving themselves of a lead story".

This is what I just posted on the RDFL thread for those who have attacked me there too.

Ah don't you love this time of the year, footy is on the way back and people are already having a crack at my articles. I'm getting goosebumps already.

For all those BDFL fans, or anyone who took offence to my "arguably the worst football competition in Victoria" line, I apologise if i've upset you, but lets be realistic. I wasn't talking about the quality of the people involved, how good a bloke or sheila they are, I was talking about the standard of football, which is sheisenhausen. I hate seeing leagues collapse, but the way the VCFL run things, the odds are against it's survival.

By putting that simple line in the article I wrote, it was basically pointing out that Dunne is leaving a club on the rise, in a continually improving league, to go play low-quality football and be a big fish in a small pond.

As for Ruane leaving Diggers Rest for Euroa, well done to him. You probably won't catch me writing too much in my paper, The Free Press, other than a few lines, because he does not come from my area.

I know who Paul Daffy is, he is a brilliant country football journalist, but you're kidding yourself if you think he hasn't offended clubs and leagues before. Daffy gets paid to write "feel good" country footy stories. I get paid to write about what is happening in my area, which is what I do, and do to my best abilities.

Thank you gentlemen, and good day.
Which game did you go and watch?

Late wedding was it the firsts or seconds you saw?

It was a Sunday wedding, but we went up fishing Saturday morning and went to the footy in the arvo. From memory Bonnie Doon were up by a few goals when we got there, but got mowed down in the last quarter to lose by 30 odd points.

My appologies, as youve seen a game you obvously know what your talking about.
Just one question though Matt.
Is it the role of a journalist to stick the boots into these comunities when their down?
Obvously the VCFL dont care about the future of football in these small towns and everytime these small clubs recruit quality footballers to strenghten themselves and the league, people like you stick the boots in.
As a young fella I was told that reputaions are urnt but it seems now days a reputaion is givin by outsiders.
Five small towns doing all they can to keep their local football and netball sides going, should it be portrayed as negative.
And Matt I know that many of you think that your sh!t dosent stink but guess what pal, it does!

My appologies, as youve seen a game you obvously know what your talking about.
Just one question though Matt.
Is it the role of a journalist to stick the boots into these comunities when their down?
Obvously the VCFL dont care about the future of football in these small towns and everytime these small clubs recruit quality footballers to strenghten themselves and the league, people like you stick the boots in.
As a young fella I was told that reputaions are urnt but it seems now days a reputaion is givin by outsiders.
Five small towns doing all they can to keep their local football and netball sides going, should it be portrayed as negative.
And Matt I know that many of you think that your sh!t dosent stink but guess what pal, it does!

I'm sorry that journalists have a bad reputation, and I am one of the biggest followers and supporters of country footy, who hurts to see small clubs go down the gurgler. I think the VCFL's treatment of smaller competitions is a travesty. If GG didn't post my article on this thread, none of you would have read it. I wrote it for a particular audience. I wasn't taking a potshot at the BDFL, I was making a point about Chris Dunne, a bloody good footballer who could be playing in the seniors of a Goulburn Valley Football League side with a little bit more commitment.

Interest bio on Myspace.

I'm 20 years old and in the prime of my life, I have a great job, live in a really nice unit and am Kilmore's leading journalist! I know I'm destined to do great things, I really believe that. I'm not out to save the world or invent a cure for cancer, but I will be remembered when I die. Perhaps it will be as a journo, currently I am second-in-charge at The Free Pressnewspaper in Kilmore.

Can you help us here Doona?

Chris Dunne, a bloody good footballer who could be playing in the seniors of a Goulburn Valley Football League side with a little bit more commitment.[/quote]

You cannot have it both ways. You cant herald the arrival of higher class players into a lower league like RDFL from Northern Div 1 or ex VFL and then smash the players who are high quality going into a lower League again. If Doona recruited 5 players from Seymour who are dual premiership players aged 24-28, would you write a piece asking why would they leave and why not do the hard yards and stay longer in the higher league?
It would nt be done and hence my last comment is being equitable to all leagues.
I think you have made a mistake in writing " the worst" and could have gone with "the smaller & weaker". Over and out on this.

You cannot have it both ways. You cant herald the arrival of higher class players into a lower league like RDFL from Northern Div 1 or ex VFL and then smash the players who are high quality going into a lower League again. If Doona recruited 5 players from Seymour who are dual premiership players aged 24-28, would you write a piece asking why would they leave and why not do the hard yards and stay longer in the higher league?
It would nt be done and hence my last comment is being equitable to all leagues.
I think you have made a mistake in writing " the worst" and could have gone with "the smaller & weaker". Over and out on this.

Enough of this Nicholls BDFL stuff it's doing me head in. I think we all know what young Matt meant to say, he just mighta got his mucking words fuddled up . . . . so let's move on hey!!!

I must be old fashioned in my views on country footyball but I don't think Id ever try to recruit 5 from the one club no matter who it was just aint my go. If i was to approach such players Id focus on GVFL fringe players in the hope of offering them a regular senior game in the hope of sending em back better equipped.

Only wanted 2-3 recruits last year and had a ball with a great bunch of kids, was looking to do the same this year but the figure may have to be 5-6 recruits now that Im told I've lost a few more to Bonnie Doon

Enough of this Nicholls BDFL stuff it's doing me head in. I think we all know what young Matt meant to say, he just mighta got his mucking words fuddled up . . . . so let's move on hey!!!

I must be old fashioned in my views on country footyball but I don't think Id ever try to recruit 5 from the one club no matter who it was just aint my go. If i was to approach such players Id focus on GVFL fringe players in the hope of offering them a regular senior game in the hope of sending em back better equipped.

Only wanted 2-3 recruits last year and had a ball with a great bunch of kids, was looking to do the same this year but the figure may have to be 5-6 recruits now that Im told I've lost a few more to Bonnie Doon

who else is going to Doon?

:confused::confused::confused:
"I did contact 5-6 Seymour FC lads yes (Inness, Spargo, Douglas, Liddell, Watts, Russo)"
Hmmm someone must have loged on with your user name and password.

:confused::confused::confused:
"I did contact 5-6 Seymour FC lads yes (Inness, Spargo, Douglas, Liddell, Watts, Russo)"
Hmmm someone must have loged on with your user name and password.

I think you took it the wrong way, I woulda stopped had Rob Inness said Yes. Each time one said no I tried another, never wanted 5-6 just one of local guys with GV experience woulda been great . . . . shoulda made it clearer sorry.