Freo and Bulldogs, ManU
Made an absolutely deluxe Beef pie with a kind of dumpling topping last night and it got me thinking that the good old pie is the best thing since other stuff that was the best thing...

Where are the best places to get the best Pies and give me some thoughts on the best pie you've made yourself?

Cant make a pie to save myself...wish i could coz i love the damn things.

Dont mind some of those Jesters pies, but for an authentic home made pie my favourite is Foot St Bakery in Frankston. When down that neck of the woods, grab a chicken and vegie pie. delish.:thumbsu:

FrangaRoo said:
Cant make a pie to save myself...wish i could coz i love the damn things.

Dont mind some of those Jesters pies, but for an authentic home made pie my favourite is Foot St Bakery in Frankston. When down that neck of the woods, grab a chicken and vegie pie. delish.:thumbsu:
Haha, Foot Street Bakery is a winner :thumbsu:

Countless times going there at lunchtime during school. Bit of a shame that the teachers like their pies also so we got a few detentions, but it was well worth it :)

While living in Sydney, many a drunken night was wound down with a stop off at Harry's Cafe De Wheels for a pie and a chili dog. Not too sure how they'd go sober, but when trollied, always hit the spot.

Curried lamb pie when making them myself.

Cafe de Vili's, a local institution is great for a 4am feed, I a huge fan of the Lamb, Mint and Rosemary pie (sounds quite ****y, but is really nice). Best bakeries around where I live is the old Clarendon bakery, but I prefer the Meadows bakery, absolute quality. Other top bakeries are Otto's in Hahndorf, and the Jackpot bakery up in Wentworth, across the Murray from Mildura. :D

Cassius_Clay said:
Haha, Foot Street Bakery is a winner :thumbsu:

Countless times going there at lunchtime during school. Bit of a shame that the teachers like their pies also so we got a few detentions, but it was well worth it :)

You go to Frankston High???:eek:

Is Mr Spiers still there or what??? He'd have a heartattack at the mention of my name I reckon.

Mr Davis there at all still??? **** Id brick him to the head if I ever saw him again:mad:

Oh and best Pies?? Easily Yatala Pies!!!

The Dice Man said:
Is Mr Spiers still there or what??? He'd have a heartattack at the mention of my name I reckon.
haha.
I went there too and Spiersy was around when I was there. Wasnt a big fan of me either.

Back to the pies, I was living pretty much next door to Foot St Bakery last year and the pies are as good as ever.:thumbsu:

there is a small chain of pie stores in the Port Macquaire area in NSW, its called Ridgey Digey pies and they taste excellent, they have almost every flavour of pie whether it be curry chicken or the good ol beef pie. If your ever going north along the pacific highway they have an outlet at the Port Macquarie Service centre which is just off the highway and has a shell servo, a maccas and ridgey didgeys too:thumbsu:

haven't tried a Garlos or Jesters pie yet, has anyone? I hear they are great!!!

kimirocks06 said:
Cafe de Vili's, a local institution is great for a 4am feed, I a huge fan of the Lamb, Mint and Rosemary pie (sounds quite ****y, but is really nice). Best bakeries around where I live is the old Clarendon bakery, but I prefer the Meadows bakery, absolute quality. Other top bakeries are Otto's in Hahndorf, and the Jackpot bakery up in Wentworth, across the Murray from Mildura. :D

:thumbsu: That place was fantastic! I think they went under new ownership though, and the pastries there decreased in value. But we always stopped at Ottos on the way to visit my cousins in Hahndorf. And the German Mettwurst shop! Excellent! :D

FrangaRoo said:
haha.
I went there too and Spiersy was around when I was there. Wasnt a big fan of me either.

Back to the pies, I was living pretty much next door to Foot St Bakery last year and the pies are as good as ever.:thumbsu:

What period were you there mate? I started Year 7 in 87.

Dinkum Pies in Block Place in Melbourne CBD - shepherd's pies, curry pies and beef with cheese and tomato - sensational!!

im a bit of a fan of chilli beef and cheese pies, ivans and mrs macs are both pretty good. for local stuff, im partial to the shepherds pie from the special cake shop in prahran. i make shepherds pie when im at home. and just on vilis, i love their sausage rolls.

diablo14 said:
im a bit of a fan of chilli beef and cheese pies, ivans and mrs macs are both pretty good. for local stuff, im partial to the shepherds pie from the special cake shop in prahran. i make shepherds pie when im at home. and just on vilis, i love their sausage rolls.
At uni one day last semester, and attempted to buy a chicken and veg pie, stupid whore gave me a chilli beef and cheese pie. It was rather hot, and ended up binning it, not happy.

My experiences with country town bakeries have always been good. Alfa Bakehouse in Anderson St. Yarraville does a kick-arse Pepper Steak Pie but the country town pies never cease to impress.

It's been way too long since I'd had a pie - last one was a Steak, Bacon & Cheese from Brumby's @ Highpoint. Not bad.

National Pies, can be bought anywhere throughout southern Tassie.
Very tasty and always used to be a staple diet on those cold days on the terraces at the TFL matches back in the day.
Still get them now from the Caltex down the road here now and then.
They'd be only pies I find edible.

The Dice Man said:
What period were you there mate? I started Year 7 in 87.

Started Year 7 in 93. Wow, that old geezer has been there longer than I thought!

music_2000 said:
haven't tried a Garlos or Jesters pie yet, has anyone? I hear they are great!!!

garlos.. not bad..
jesters... havent tried them lately, used to love their stuff (when they were known as shakespeares pies)...

hannahs pies (harris st ultimo) are great.. they are the supplies to harry's cafe de wheels...

for a smaller joint... the bakehouse cafe (balmain and drummoyne) have some great tasting pies...