Heat, Victory, Man Utd, Redskins
Probably my favourite Crows player is applying for the Collingwood assistant role I hear....how do you guys rate him in regards to his football brain etc? Reckon he would do a good job?

Who knows?

He goes well and truly down the well worn cliche path everytime he speaks publicly. It's hard to evaluate anything from that.

The HORROR of that thought!!!

Not sure how good he would be. He is generally a cliche man on the footy show but you would think that he would command respect of the players.

Maybe he is getting on teh Eddie bandwagon but I had not heard that he was thinking of going to Melbourne considering his extensive Adelaide business interests.

Aww no, Bicks.. anywhere but there! :(

Really can't see him leaving Adelaide seeing as he has his store's going along fine here.

But if he did go, it'd probably be one of the best places seeing as Malthouse is such a good coach, he could learn so much.. If it was what he wanted to get into, I'm sure he would be ok in the job, but who knows.

Originally posted by lozstar
Aww no, Bicks.. anywhere but there! :(

Really can't see him leaving Adelaide seeing as he has his store's going along fine here.

But if he did go, it'd probably be one of the best places seeing as Malthouse is such a good coach, he could learn so much.. If it was what he wanted to get into, I'm sure he would be ok in the job, but who knows.
Agree that Bicks is unlikely to leave Adelaide at least for 2004 ... though as he has a contract for Ch9, there may be a clause to say that he has to either work or play for the McEddie's. :eek:

Originally posted by DaveW
Great news.

I hope he gets the job.

He'll be alongside one of the best coaches in the business.

Yep have to agree with you there Dave,

If Bicks has any ambition to coach at all at the senior level then making the move to Collingwood to be under one of the best coaches in the last 20 years would do no harm at all for the future coach of the AFC.

Originally posted by DaveW
Great news.

I hope he gets the job.

He'll be alongside one of the best coaches in the business.

I hope he does too. That would be a great learning ground for Mark. Malthouse is one of the great coaches of modern times IMO and being an assistant coach under him plus being in the Melbourne environment will prepare Mark well for the future.

Don't be fooled by that smiling face of Mark's - there's a hard man underneath. And an intelligent one. I reckon if he does go down the coaching path he will end up as an AFL coach, and quite possibly at the AFC.

I thought he'd decided to have a complete break from footy for 12 months before deciding what to do.

I'd be very surprised and disappointed if he chose to leave Adelaide and move to Collingwood

Can you see him moving his wife and three small daughters to Melbourne? :confused:

Speaking from a pie fan perspective who has always liked and respected Mark Bickley, I think he would be a good coach if he went that way. And from a career perspective it would be good for him to be an assistant to the likes of Mick Malthouse or like him because it would be a good coach to learn from.

I wouldn't be saying no from a Collingwood perspective. But I do recall him saying something about wanting to be in the media, and he does have a lot of ties to adelaide. So I guess we'll have to wait and see. :)

Originally posted by maccas_no1
James Brayshaw already lives in Melbourne;) He calls the footy on MMM and also is on the MMM breakfast show The Cage;) JB is a LEGEND:D ;)

Marty.......are u sure about James Brayshaw living in Melbourne??? He does the news on channel 9 every night (except Fri, Sat & Sun). He had a studio built at his property here in Adelaide so he could do radio in Melbourne. He would do regular trips to Melbourne..............but as far as I know he still lives here in Adelaide.

k
xx

Originally posted by MarksGirl-kbcrowgirl
Marty.......are u sure about James Brayshaw living in Melbourne??? He does the news on channel 9 every night (except Fri, Sat & Sun). He had a studio built at his property here in Adelaide so he could do radio in Melbourne. He would do regular trips to Melbourne..............but as far as I know he still lives here in Adelaide.

k
xx
I remember reading something in the paper a while ago about that how he'd do his radio from here in his studio because he had his commitments to Channel 9 in Adelaide that he couldn't get out of..