Big Bash Future

As I said earlier the Cricket calander will eventually get to a point where domestic comps make up the majority of the content and generated income.

International Cricket will be played in small windows and tournaments that fit in around the comps. The Ashes every four years is probably the only series that will remain in it's current format.

That's why it is really important the BBL is strong.

I think anyone calling for more Shield Cricket is going to be dissapointed, in coming years you will see a scaled back comp.

As I said earlier the Cricket calander will eventually get to a point where domestic comps make up the majority of the content and generated income.

International Cricket will be played in small windows and tournaments that fit in around the comps. The Ashes every four years is probably the only series that will remain in it's current format.

That's why it is really important the BBL is strong.

I think anyone calling for more Shield Cricket is going to be dissapointed, in coming years you will see a scaled back comp.
Yep when you look at what the Domestic T20 schedule is looking like around the world, then I think we are heading towards a Soccer approach where Domestic leagues are the primary focus, then there are international windows for World Cups and key series.

It is quite clear from my posts, I'm not into T20 cricket so even the international level of it barely holds my interest for more than five or ten minutes at a time. I think I watched most of the first match v Kiwis and not much else as it just disposable cricket to me. I actually want meaningful cricket to watch and T20 just is not that for me. It disposable cricket where can watch some highlights but the matches themselves do not mean anything to me. When the footy season is over I'm looking forward to seeing the Tests or some odi's in early November and following how players are going in the Shield cricket in October to see whom may contest for spot in Test team. I'm certainly not hanging out for any T20 cricket of any variety. I'd be quite content if they had their Big Bash for three weeks and a bit weeks from mid December and it over soon after Sydney Test over and the rest of January is free for some more international odi's of a tri-series with New Zealand and one other international team each January to first week of Feb. If not, at least give me a 6th Test for the summer in later January to look forward to. But bugger all this summer since the Sydney Test over. That's a disaster for a period I traditional love to watch a lot of cricket and attend a few matches live too.
The fact that you say cricket is something you watch once the footy is over doesn't help your case, by the way.

You also have to be fair to Cricket Australia and note that there was to be an ODI series vs South Africa in mid-January but the South Africans pulled out.

This year's schedule is also all over the shop because they had to squeeze in the T20 World Cup that was originally scheduled for late 2020. That messed with everyone's schedule, not just ours.

But I've said it before and I'll say it again - when people refer to the "traditional cricket summer" they are referring to the scheduling when they were a kid.

I'm 46 so I grew up watching cricket in the 80s, and still remember people complaining about "pyjama cricket".

And what's "traditional" anyway?

For many years it was traditional for the Boxing Day match to be between Victoria and New South Wales.

For many years it was traditional to have eight-ball overs (or four, depending on where and when you played).

It's not that long ago that people lost their shit at the thought of a day-night test played with a pink ball - now it's one of the highlights of the summer.

Cricket changes. It's always changed, and that's why it has survives.

I think they're pretty much different audiences. T20 audiences don't care that much about the quality of cricket, they want the bash and fireworks and that's fine. BBL is there to supply money to support Shield and Tests.

Shield cricket hasn't attracted big audiences since the 1950s and that's fine, that's not its role. As long as it develops good test players, it's doing its job.

This. They're essentially 2 different sports. People need to stop comparing them, just enjoy both for what they are.

Personally I have no interest in the BBL and haven't watched a match in years. I do watch a lot of Shield and 3rd/4th grade cricket when I can.

I reckon it screws up young cricketers and summer cricket. Should be restricted to over 25 yo not up to Shield Cricket and cricket superannuants.

Compress it to a three week season.

Um, no.

Congrats to Perth the kings of the BBL.

Like to see 2 or even up to 4 new teams in the BBL.

Need another one in WA and QLD.

Like also see a team from New Zealand say Auckland.

I feel it needs a few more teams in it then it is now.

Needs to play more double headers like 2 at 1 venue on the same day as well.

Like say Melbourne renegades play say Perth at Marvel in the morning game then in the afternoon its say Melbourne stars play say Sydney thunder at Marvel.

And like when they play next its the reverse. Say Perth v Melbourne at perth and sydney play melb in syd.

Bit like the footy have a match at the mcg another ones at marvel.

Like to see added venues in the next bbl.

Say at Townsville,Lawnceston,Canberra,Another in Perth could use the good old WACA again,junction oval in melbourne, north sydney oval just to name a few.

It can get through the game quicker this way.

Like to see NZ have a team finally. They play at Eden park auckland. We could call them the Auckland islanders or something indigenous to NZ.

Also play mid week games like on a tuesday and wednesday.

This can be applied to the womens bbl as well.

I assume you're taking the piss.

The fact that you say cricket is something you watch once the footy is over doesn't help your case, by the way.
You are a clown. This is not a case, this is a gripe about the schedule is up shite creek now. Clearly in the footy season I'm watching footy first, cricket second. That does not mean I do not watch cricket in footy season too. It just means there is less time for it. If the cricket on from England I'm still watching it late at night when footy not on. The reality is, traditionally, and yeah, I see you struggle to understand the context of this, I have showed in numerous posts the heart of the matter for me is I went to cricket in January traditionally and watched most of it then. Now it a disaster for me as it not actually there when I want to watch it the most. That's the gripe I have and that is a reality, not some case.

One thing you did rightly point out was South Africa originally were meant to play some one dayers here but that still does not change the fact the schedule by our cricket board now is not to have this period filled with international cricket here when traditionally it was for many of us that fell in love with the game that way. I looked up the next few year's and it still looks like there no plan to address this void we now have. They seem quite content to no longer fill this period with the cricket I would love to have watched. This means a person that fell in love with cricket that way is going to no longer have the cricket they want to see and will do other things instead. It also tells me if I grew up in this period now, I would probably not have developed the love of the game that I did and this makes me fear for future there will be less lovers of the sport and will just become another niche sport like tennis is here and horse racing etc. where there theatre goer followers of it but fans that want to play it and go will become less and less. That to me as a lover of cricket is a disaster for the sport here that the admin now will be gulity of.

Yep when you look at what the Domestic T20 schedule is looking like around the world, then I think we are heading towards a Soccer approach where Domestic leagues are the primary focus, then there are international windows for World Cups and key series.
If it heads completely this way then there will not be domestic leagues (plural) as the primary focus there will be a 9 month IPL and that's it.

Come and at me and alot of people won't like this but I wonder if we will see a 'development style' T20 league?

For me there is a gap between local grade Cricket comps and the BBL. Maybe run it in December for a few weeks. No big fanfair but just a way of giving some guys experience. Maybe not franchise based teams but maybe state based.

I know coaches have complained it's hard to get a read on some players when you are trying to fill the last few pots on the list.

With just about every other form of Cricket there are second X1 games but nit in the BBL. Just a few warm up matches.

Like say Melbourne renegades play say Perth at Marvel in the morning game then in the afternoon its say Melbourne stars play say Sydney thunder at Marvel.

And like when they play next its the reverse. Say Perth v Melbourne at perth and sydney play melb in syd.

Say at Townsville,Lawnceston,Canberra,Another in Perth could use the good old WACA again,junction oval in melbourne, north sydney oval just to name a few.

Like to see NZ have a team finally. They play at Eden park auckland. We could call them the Auckland islanders or something indigenous to NZ.

There's not enough talent to fill 8 teams, let alone another 2 or 4.

we need less bbl, not more. a 2 week carnival would be perfect.

having no cricket post the new years day test is simply not Australian

Like to see a round robin and like teams to play in groups and bring in more like club grade cricket teams.
I agree soon the domestic cricket will be the main fixtures in summer with just a small window say 3 weeks of when the bulk of international cricket is played.
I wish they can play sheffield shield at marvel.
Agree with more teams like a team from the riverina say like Albury or say Wagga Wagga along with Newcastle and like a team from Alice Springs too.
Like to see more regional matches for bbl.
Take the game to the country its way too city centric for mine.
I think the game cricket needs to improve.
The womens have got it right.
Mens is where its lagging.
Kind of agree they will try to make sheffield shield only half the length and start it in october and nov final to be played in late nov.
To me the last 10 years of cricket fixtures is mixed up.
I am not sure if theres any system.
Like to see each comp played from start to end then move onto the next comp.
To me its way too mixed around and fragmented.
Like to see tickets be more affordable too.
Like to also have more matches and the gate can go towards charity and like we can have like a flood disaster match or like a bush fire one.
Kind of proceeds go towards like emergency services ses or the salvos we can have a match at marvel.
And have like an Aussie a and aussie b match.
I miss those seasons in the 1990s when we had the Aussie a team there.
Like a back up team which was integal part of the summer and played in the odi series or even play tests.

There no value on wickets etc.
I think you underrate the tactical nuances of T20 cricket. 1 wicket can change the game and the trajectory of an innings or a run chase. I'd say even more so than in longer formats. The difference in getting Player X's wicket 10 balls earlier than another time might be 30 runs which could be the match.

It's different to test cricket for sure, which us why it's good. It gives people options of what they want to watch.

BBL will become a development league for IPL.

It keeps domestic audiences happy but, for players, they have their eye on the cash.
Everything is pretty much a development league for the IPL, the SA20 has the best probability of matching it.
And the PSL is the pinnacle for the Pakistani players, with the BPL as their feeder league.

Come and at me and alot of people won't like this but I wonder if we will see a 'development style' T20 league?

Some countries have a 3 tier system that culminates into their main franchise league. All sanctioned and overseen by the countries cricketing body. Australia have 1.
CSA T20 Challenge > SA20
several state t20 leagues > Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy > Indian Premier League
T20 Blast > The Hundred
Pakistan Junior League > National T20 Cup > Pakistan Super League & Kashmir Premier League
SLC Twenty20 Tournament > Lanka Premier League
Minor League Cricket > Major League Cricket

A development league for Australia would need to be the state teams. And the BBL would need to be smaller to make it more exclusive

Everything is pretty much a development league for the IPL, the SA20 has the best probability of matching it.
And the PSL is the pinnacle for the Pakistani players, with the BPL as their feeder league.

Some countries have a 3 tier system that culminates into their main franchise league. All sanctioned and overseen by the countries cricketing body. Australia have 1.
CSA T20 Challenge > SA20
several state t20 leagues > Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy > Indian Premier League
T20 Blast > The Hundred
Pakistan Junior League > National T20 Cup > Pakistan Super League & Kashmir Premier League
SLC Twenty20 Tournament > Lanka Premier League
Minor League Cricket > Major League Cricket

A development league for Australia would need to be the state teams. And the BBL would need to be smaller to make it more exclusive
Cricket Australia used to have a comp of all the winners of the first grade T20 comps play in a one week tournament. I have no idea if that is still running or anything about it as CA did nothing to promote it.

Again, the NT T20 comp, which is played in our winter, had a team from the Hurricanes involved in it. Could easily make it an off-season comp in the north of the country.

You are a clown. This is not a case, this is a gripe about the schedule is up shite creek now. Clearly in the footy season I'm watching footy first, cricket second. That does not mean I do not watch cricket in footy season too. It just means there is less time for it. If the cricket on from England I'm still watching it late at night when footy not on. The reality is, traditionally, and yeah, I see you struggle to understand the context of this, I have showed in numerous posts the heart of the matter for me is I went to cricket in January traditionally and watched most of it then. Now it a disaster for me as it not actually there when I want to watch it the most. That's the gripe I have and that is a reality, not some case.

One thing you did rightly point out was South Africa originally were meant to play some one dayers here but that still does not change the fact the schedule by our cricket board now is not to have this period filled with international cricket here when traditionally it was for many of us that fell in love with the game that way. I looked up the next few year's and it still looks like there no plan to address this void we now have. They seem quite content to no longer fill this period with the cricket I would love to have watched. This means a person that fell in love with cricket that way is going to no longer have the cricket they want to see and will do other things instead. It also tells me if I grew up in this period now, I would probably not have developed the love of the game that I did and this makes me fear for future there will be less lovers of the sport and will just become another niche sport like tennis is here and horse racing etc. where there theatre goer followers of it but fans that want to play it and go will become less and less. That to me as a lover of cricket is a disaster for the sport here that the admin now will be gulity of.
Your whole argument is that because this summer's schedule is different to when you grew up, that is a disaster for cricket.

And it's simply not true. It fails every logical test there is.

Again, the NT T20 comp, which is played in our winter, had a team from the Hurricanes involved in it. Could easily make it an off-season comp in the north of the country.
I would be down for this. Have Premier Grade cricketers go into this and play in Northern Australia

Your whole argument is that because this summer's schedule is different to when you grew up, that is a disaster for cricket.
Wrong, It is because there is no international cricket in January and not much planned in future years that it is a disaster. The schedue has changed heaps of times without it being a disaster. Tests a bit early, one dayers in November , one dayers between Tests etc etc, it changed heaps of times. That in itself is not a disaster so you fail to get it again. Your clown read on it means you just want to argue for sake of it.

As I said, my gripe is about no real international cricket to attend or watch in the peak of summer. This is a disaster for a cricket lover like me that actually has time to attend and would attend in January if they did the schedule well but they have turned it into a disaster when cricket lovers like me, do not have the matches to goto now. It's like having no football matches to goto for five weeks of footy season when you keen to go. Absolute disaster if you ignore what big fans of a sport actually had and want and you remove it and therefore the sport they love is not service theiir loyal fans. If you cannot understand that, then no point talking with you as you will never get it.

I think you underrate the tactical nuances of T20 cricket.
Nah, I get the nuances but it just not that interesting in the end as the value on wickets is so little.
You do not have to defend your wicket, you there to score runs as quick as possible so if you lose it, not the end of the world. It just disposable cricket at heart and that ok, for theatre goers that only want that and have attention span for only an hour or two of sport but I need something more meaningful to really engage my interest and real contest between bat and ball is what I appreciate more and just do not get that with disposable cricket.

Big Bash Future