Big Cricket Thread

The Carey situation is an interesting one in a post-Gilchrist world. There are minimum expectations that we place on Aussie keepers with the bat these days. I'd say low 30s would suffice, given we don't have anyone of the class of Gilchrist (or even Haddin, who I think was grossly underrated by Aussie fans - the perfect post-Gilchrist option).

Anyone who followed Carey's Shield form before he was called up knew he was in terrible batting form against the red ball. He has been a little stiff in the series - a few times he's had to hit out, and stitched up by Cummins in the last dig. But his keeping hasn't been at a high enough standard to ignore his poor batting. He took the simple chances to begin the series, but showed a concerning unwillingness to dive for catches as the series went on. Probably hiding a poor technique, as showed when he did dive last game but spilled it.

I suspect Inglis was the better choice, but he was put in an impossible position of sitting on the bench during the T20 World Cup and having no Shield form to pick him off. Carey became the only viable option, and is now the default choice for Pakistan.

Inglis should be selected as the back up keeper for that tour, and I hope he can keep pressuring for that spot. It means that even if Carey does keep it, it'll mean he's found an upturn in form.

Uzzi for Harris as opener with Head coming in and Richo/Hazlewood in for Boland if he doesn't pull up.
Yep. The team picks itself.

Hazlewood is definitely out, so it should be Richardson.

I'd like to see Harris left out of the Pakistan tour. He's not good enough, let's give a few others some touring experience (even if they don't play, and Warner/Usman open).

Uzzi for Harris as opener with Head coming in and Richo/Hazlewood in for Boland if he doesn't pull up.
Any chance the selectors learn from history and don't pick Starc in the 5th test?

If you want to go stupid non-sensical left field... Green to open, he is not scoring too much at 6, move him up to open then Usman at 6. Early wicket falls, normal business resumes.
I think that's Ed's theory with Marnus. He's in early anyway, why not just open with him?

Because he's the world's number one Test batsman as a number 3, and Usman is a viable opening option (whose spot is being taken by the returning player). Any suggestions other than the obvious are just overthinking the situation. Occum's Razor and all that.

Selectors have generally had a pretty good summer but Kwahaja should have been opening in the first test instead of Harris

Aside from a gutsy 70 odd at the MCG, Harris hasn’t shown much to suggest they made the right call. They can rectify that in Hobart

The Carey situation is an interesting one in a post-Gilchrist world. There are minimum expectations that we place on Aussie keepers with the bat these days. I'd say low 30s would suffice, given we don't have anyone of the class of Gilchrist (or even Haddin, who I think was grossly underrated by Aussie fans - the perfect post-Gilchrist option).

Anyone who followed Carey's Shield form before he was called up knew he was in terrible batting form against the red ball. He has been a little stiff in the series - a few times he's had to hit out, and stitched up by Cummins in the last dig. But his keeping hasn't been at a high enough standard to ignore his poor batting. He took the simple chances to begin the series, but showed a concerning unwillingness to dive for catches as the series went on. Probably hiding a poor technique, as showed when he did dive last game but spilled it.

I suspect Inglis was the better choice, but he was put in an impossible position of sitting on the bench during the T20 World Cup and having no Shield form to pick him off. Carey became the only viable option, and is now the default choice for Pakistan.

Inglis should be selected as the back up keeper for that tour, and I hope he can keep pressuring for that spot. It means that even if Carey does keep it, it'll mean he's found an upturn in form.
I feel like Carey does deserve a couple series to find his first. Also Josh has barely played any cricket or red ball cricket in ages.

Yeah, that was pretty much my main point haha.

I daresay Carey will start in Pakistan, but Inglis should be in the squad for some healthy competition. We have options, which is good.

Yeah, that was pretty much my main point haha.

I daresay Carey will start in Pakistan, but Inglis should be in the squad for some healthy competition. We have options, which is good.
Sorry that post was a rush job but what I wanted to say was that Josh should just stay here and play shield cricket. Don’t want him going over and playing no cricket.

I assume we’ll be taking a reserve keeper on tour, and I also assume it’ll be Inglis.

Thought that was Mark Waugh. Either way it was ******* annoying
It was both. Brett Lee kept going on about it and pretty much blamed the result on it at one point.

Personally this is my Australian team for the 5th test if I were the selectors.

1. Khawaja (averages 96 as an opener and I reckon that's his best batting position).
2. Warner
3. Marnus
4. Smith (VC)
5. Head
6. Green
7. Carey (WK)
8. Cummins (C)
9. Starc (could also rest him for Jhye Richardson but then the pink ball)
10. Lyon
11. Boland (must keep after his good form from the last test)

Harris for me should get dropped, asides from his 76 in a tough Melbourne pitch, he hasn't shown anything and has been inconsistent, never been someone with consistency at test level despite being given plenty of opportunities by the selectors.

Fifty fifty of whether to keep Starc or rest him for the final test for Jhye Richardson. However they'll retain him due to the pink ball.

Regarding the 4th test. Cummins declaration was spot on because first of all, seven overs were lost to rain and Australia missed their chances such as dropped catches and running out Bairstow early (went on to face 100 odd balls afterwards before getting dismissed 100 balls too late). He also had to consider what if Root, Stokes, Bairstow and Buttler (going into his one day mode) all decided to fire cause despite not being in the best of form, they may fire so in that case 388 is a fair total for England to chase should their batting all of a sudden decide to fire up. They would have self belief they can bowl out England after India bowled them out in two sessions last year.

What England team they'll put out.

1. Burns
2. Crawley
3. Malan
4. Root (C)
5. Stokes
6. Bairstow
7. Foakes (WK) (Best gloveman England currently have and is ok with the bat) or Billings (the likely replacement, pretty good with the bat)
8. Wood
9. Leach
10. Broad
11. Anderson

Bairstow statistically performs better as a keeper than as a specialist batsmen but should still be a specialist batsmen for this test match. I reckon they'll keep the same bowling attack for the final test especially with Wood being able to bowl at more than 140 kph with the pink ball and can get decent swing. They'd have to drop Hameed, looks technically dodgy in Australian conditions but so has Burns but they'll give the nod to Burns though. Foakes is a superior Keeper to Bairstow and Buttler and is pretty decent with the bat, just can he bat in Australian conditions, looked pretty bad against the West Indies in seam friendly pitches and against India (in Indian pitches though).

It was both. Brett Lee kept going on about it and pretty much blamed the result on it at one point.

out last few games, I’ve really noticed the huge bias in the calls from Waugh and Lee in particular. Mark Waugh is quickly becoming my most hated cricket commentator. Apart from the fact he just sounds like a negative downer with everything he says, he can’t give the Scorchers a compliment without it being some passive aggressive, back handed compliment. He’s a flog.

Personally this is my Australian team for the 5th test if I were the selectors.

1. Khawaja (averages 96 as an opener and I reckon that's his best batting position).
2. Warner
3. Marnus
4. Smith (VC)
5. Head
6. Green
7. Carey (WK)
8. Cummins (C)
9. Starc (could also rest him for Jhye Richardson but then the pink ball)
10. Lyon
11. Boland (must keep after his good form from the last test)

Harris for me should get dropped, asides from his 76 in a tough Melbourne pitch, he hasn't shown anything and has been inconsistent, never been someone with consistency at test level despite being given plenty of opportunities by the selectors.

Fifty fifty of whether to keep Starc or rest him for the final test for Jhye Richardson. However they'll retain him due to the pink ball.

Regarding the 4th test. Cummins declaration was spot on because first of all, seven overs were lost to rain and Australia missed their chances such as dropped catches and running out Bairstow early (went on to face 100 odd balls afterwards before getting dismissed 100 balls too late). He also had to consider what if Root, Stokes, Bairstow and Buttler (going into his one day mode) all decided to fire cause despite not being in the best of form, they may fire so in that case 388 is a fair total for England to chase should their batting all of a sudden decide to fire up. They would have self belief they can bowl out England after India bowled them out in two sessions last year.

What England team they'll put out.

1. Burns
2. Crawley
3. Malan
4. Root (C)
5. Stokes
6. Bairstow
7. Foakes (WK) (Best gloveman England currently have and is ok with the bat) or Billings (the likely replacement, pretty good with the bat)
8. Wood
9. Leach
10. Broad
11. Anderson

Bairstow statistically performs better as a keeper than as a specialist batsmen but should still be a specialist batsmen for this test match. I reckon they'll keep the same bowling attack for the final test especially with Wood being able to bowl at more than 140 kph with the pink ball and can get decent swing. They'd have to drop Hameed, looks technically dodgy in Australian conditions but so has Burns but they'll give the nod to Burns though. Foakes is a superior Keeper to Bairstow and Buttler and is pretty decent with the bat, just can he bat in Australian conditions, looked pretty bad against the West Indies in seam friendly pitches and against India (in Indian pitches though).
Did they fly out Foakes for one dead rubber test? Jesus

out last few games, I’ve really noticed the huge bias in the calls from Waugh and Lee in particular. Mark Waugh is quickly becoming my most hated cricket commentator. Apart from the fact he just sounds like a negative downer with everything he says, he can’t give the Scorchers a compliment without it being some passive aggressive, back handed compliment. He’s a flog.

Between Waugh, the constant sponsor name drops, the insistence that anyone is interested anecdotes about their personal lives or clips of something 'funny' in a call they did last year or last game or how hungry they are over actually commentating, not being at the actual ground and spending most of their Test-adjacent games teasing Isa Guha about England's latest disaster (again rather than calling the game) Fox have quickly become as bad as late period 9's coverage.

I've tried to remove my bias, and maybe it's because we have been clear on top, but it's definitely felt like everyone has been cheering for the opposition in the last few games, particularly the Sydney teams (doesn't help when you get Lee in those games). There's a couple of them that don't like the Scorchers clearly.

Symonds is always bad when calling our games, clearly doesn’t like us. I wondered if it was just my west coast vs everyone bias coming through into cricket, but I reckon this year has been the worst. Oh well, stuff em, just like in footy, it makes it sweeter when we win.
Yeah there is some genuine East>West vitriol about the border which has seeped into everyday life. I cop it a fait bit of work (always dressed up as jokes of course).

I think Jimmy Peirson deserves to be in the conversation. He is a better keeper than either Carey or Inglis, and has two Shield hundreds this season.

Between Waugh, the constant sponsor name drops, the insistence that anyone is interested anecdotes about their personal lives or clips of something 'funny' in a call they did last year or last game or how hungry they are over actually commentating, not being at the actual ground and spending most of their Test-adjacent games teasing Isa Guha about England's latest disaster (again rather than calling the game) Fox have quickly become as bad as late period 9's coverage.
Yeah it’s pretty shit.

I don’t blame them so much about the sponsors stuff with BBL though. It’s like every T20 league around the world. The IPL in particular is hilarious re: sponsorship.

There's been a lot of state biases in cricket for a long, long time. I think it goes all the way back to world series cricket, kim hughes and the dominant WA players and characters of the time.

NSW and Queensland players have seemingly have seemingly been given a lot more chances to prove themselves particularly in the 90's and 2000's. Victorian cricket has been poorly run for a long time and SA and Tas seem to have no love or hate projected their way.

NSW players in particular seem to have a real love/hate relationship with WA cricket. When you consider most dominant Australian TV cricket personalities are from NSW it shows in a lot of the commentary.

Outside of the seemingly too many chances given to Shaun Marsh it's tended to be very hard to get in and stay in the team if you're from WA where as it's seen as though if you're from NSW or Queensland you'll get plenty of chances to shine, NSW in particular.

Yeah there is some genuine East>West vitriol about the border which has seeped into everyday life. I cop it a fait bit of work (always dressed up as jokes of course).
That lamb ad, for example, is trying to harness that energy.