BigFooty Official Big Footy Phantom Draft - Trial Run

Form my limited viewing, Sharp shares all the "deficiencies" that is seeing Cutler not being picked for the first team.

So we're replacing Cutler with a younger version of himself. I don't mind a bit of FIGJAM in my players, but not when they haven't earned it.
Yeah that was the joke. You were supposed to give me a laugh or like at least.

Throw out a carrot, trying to determine who is 27th now.

Considering you've ruled out Ash, Stephens, McGuiness.... I can only assume it might be Henry.
Sam Flanders- has some strengths but some real weaknesses with his running.

Pick 17. West Coast Eagles.

Cooper Stephens. 188 cm 83kg. Midfielder. Geelong Falcons

Stephens did not feature in this years Championships because in week three of the TAC comp he broke his fibula, he absence was very much felt felt by Vic Country as it has been with The Falcons.
Although as an under ager last year he certainly drew attention to him self as a player of note and one to watch.
The kid from Colac is a tough inside mid that excels at clearance work in tight and has good foot and hand skills.
Kicking efficiency rated at 65% which for an inside mid is extremely high, he started this season well before his injury averaging 26 possessions per game.
Good size for an inside midfielder, he also runs well and is a creative play maker.
All eyes will be on him when he returns to The Geelong Falcons for the last month of the season.
Additional point of note is that he is a natural leader and is Captain of The Falcons.

West Coast have a serviceable midfield, that is in drastic need of reinforcing, as after the few better players the depth falls away pretty quickly.

Even though he has missed a chunk of this season, I have no compunction selecting him at this point of the draft, given his performances last season and the first couple of game this year.
His fibula injury is not a concern for me and it won't affect his availability to start preseason training at years end.

I think this kids going to be a ripper .

Pick 18 Josh Worrell

11/4/01
195cm/74kg
Vic Metro/Sandringham Dragons
Key defender/forward

Worrell booted four goals against Western Australia in Vic Metro's second game of the championships, and then backed it up with three goals against South Australia. The following week he played on a wing, and he started the carnival across half-back. That sums up Worrell's versatility, which will appeal to clubs looking for talls at this year's draft. He is a quality intercept player in defence, where he has been most consistent

I was considering McAsey here, but I thought it would be best to select a player that could potentially play forward if required but looks very at home in the backline. He was one of the better players against WA when I watched him live and he certainly was about the only key forward worth his weight in the whole championships. Still not sure how he was not selected in the AA championship team, he was the only viable tall forward, but they loaded up the forwards with 4 midfielders.

I would not be surprised if Geelong selected McAsey here instead of Worrell.

cotter101

Pick 17. West Coast Eagles.

Cooper Stephens. 188 cm 83kg. Midfielder. Geelong Falcons

LemmingMaster your up mate.
Now this would be a change for West Coast - using a first round draft pick on an inside midfielder. About time.

how long are we going to wait for cotter101 ?

IMO

Time to move on, just leave his pick blank and he can select latter, got to keep it moving otherwise the thing dies as the momentum gets killed.

IMO

Time to move on, just leave his pick blank and he can select latter, got to keep it moving otherwise the thing dies as the momentum gets killed.
I think briztoon could be an option to take the pick since he is a lions supporter aswell

last year we took from Knightmares list, so we can just do that this year which would be Fischer McAsey? or blank?

Thunderstruck you're up

Just leave it blank, there has to be consequences for falling asleep at the wheel.
Not difficult to PM the mods with your choices, if you know you may be held up,I have done it previously as have several on this board in other years.

Just leave it blank, there has to be consequences for falling asleep at the wheel.
Not difficult to PM the mods with your choices, if you know you may be held up,I have done it previously as have several on this board in other years.

Considering this trial run is often to get names out, I think a blank is the best solution. When he comes online, he can select a player that is still open.

If he does not come online for another 12 hours or so, then we can fill in the blank. I think that is a good compromise.

Pick #20 Adelaide - Ryan Byrnes 181cm 80kg Sandringham

Byrnes is a very skilled footballer for an inside mid, but he does have that ability to show some polish on the outside which is a rare combo in a footballer, with most predominantly inside mids being below par with their feet. Can burst away from stoppages with above average pace and strength for a kid that isn't the biggest although is far from a midget. Can spread as well as anyone and find a lot of the pill, often hits packs at speed and can be damaging. He's probably 60% inside 40% outside which i think is a great balance for a midfielder at the coalface. There has been little noise on him this draft but I think he might surprise when he gets into the AFL system.

LemmingMaster

Pick #20 Adelaide - Ryan Byrnes 181cm 90kg Sandringham

Battled a bit with this pick, deciding between 3 but settled on Byrnes, a pressing need. Write-up to come
This shocked me. An inside mid who is terrific at winning clearances. I would have thought the crows were well serviced in this area.
I go back to my original premise that we will rank players incredibly differently this year.

Sydney Pick 22

Luke Jackson – KPF/Ruck

WA/East Fremantle
198cm, 94kg

Player comparison: Brodie Grundy

Luke Jackson is the best ruckman in the draft having earned him AA selection. I realise some posters will say this is too early for a ruckman but I disagree in this case. He has played top level basketball and represented Australia at the FIBA U17 World Cup and is a true athlete extremely competitive and has a track record of delivering and leading in winning teams. He reads the play very well and for his size is really good when the ball is on the deck. The 6-6-6 is made for him and he already shows great ability to follow up his taps and to gain centre clearances. I have also seen him go forward and to score plus make opportunities for those around – the old centre/pivot in the key-way in basketball coming to play. Anyone remember who gathered the ball and kicked to Clarke for the end of game winning goal for WA?

Playing his first game after the carnival, Jackson this week had 17 disposals, 38 hit outs, 7 tackles and kicked 1.1. Yes folks, he is a ruckman who wins his own ball. I think that backs up my views. The home ground of the SCG will be an added bonanza for him.

Monocle - over to you with the Sydney West Coast pick

Pick 22. West Coast Eagles.

Trent Rivers . 188cm 83 kg. Utility. East Fremantle.

Get ready folks this kids an ascending player he is rising up draft boards at a rapid rate.
Thrilled to get the contested ball beast with this pick.
Came into the Championships with a bit of a flurry and I was given the "heads up" that he was rated very highly down at Moss Street.
East Fremantle Football Club has been a production line for quality midfielders over the years. Patrick Cripps, Paul Haselby, Ben Cousins, Daniel Kerr, Simon Black to name but a few. So when I was told to "watch out" for him by East Fremantle connections...... it was duly noted.

Rivers has shown versatility and been played in a variety of positions and whilst at the Championships he played off a half back flank and through the middle I see him projecting as an AFL midfielder.
An old fashioned, footballers footballer, who thrives at the coal face, the kids a hard nut.
His solid Championships gained him AA selection and as quite a few draft watchers have already noted, keep an eye on him as he goes back to the WAFL and completes the season.

First week back in the Colts after the Championship he hasn't disappointed, this morning , with a 26 disposal game, 5 tackles and 3 goals.
If he continues in this form in the Colts, I can see his being given a debut in the Seniors very quickly.
Bill Monaghan, the League Coach, has never been shy giving young kids a run at the highest WAFL level and I will be watching for this to happen with Rivers.
He may well be playing himself into first round draft calculations.

When considering who to select here, I was impressed with just who was still available as : Mead ( who will be Port bound as a F/S pick so I left him ), Trent Bianco one of this cohorts best users of the ball by hand and foot, the AA CHB Fisher McAsey, and Dylan Williams were available and considered.

In the end I just couldn't pass on Trent Rivers, a home grown talent, who fills a need for West Coast as quality midfield depth is short at the Club.

Davo-27 you are up.

Pick 22. West Coast Eagles.

Trent Rivers . 188cm 83 kg. Utility. East Fremantle.

Get ready folks this kids an ascending player he is rising up draft boards at a rapid rate.
Thrilled to get the contested ball beast with this pick.
Came into the Championships with a bit of a flurry and I was given the "heads up" that he was rated very highly down at Moss Street.
East Fremantle Football Club has been a production line for quality midfielders over the years. Patrick Cripps, Paul Haselby, Ben Cousins, Daniel Kerr, Simon Black to name but a few. So when I was told to "watch out" for him by East Fremantle connections...... it was duly noted.

Rivers has shown versatility and been played in a variety of positions and whilst at the Championships he played off a half back flank and through the middle I see him projecting as an AFL midfielder.
An old fashioned, footballers footballer, who thrives at the coal face, the kids a hard nut.
His solid Championships gained him AA selection and as quite a few draft watchers have already noted, keep an eye on him as he goes back to the WAFL and completes the season.

First week back in the Colts after the Championship he hasn't disappointed, this morning , with a 26 disposal game, 5 tackles and 3 goals.
If he continues in this form in the Colts, I can see his being given a debut in the Seniors very quickly.
Bill Monaghan, the League Coach, has never been shy giving young kids a run at the highest WAFL level and I will be watching for this to happen with Rivers.
He may well be playing himself into first round draft calculations.

When considering who to select here, I was impressed with just who was still available as : Mead ( who will be Port bound as a F/S pick so I left him ), Trent Bianco one of this cohorts best users of the ball by hand and foot, the AA CHB Fisher McAsey, and Dylan Williams were available and considered.

In the end I just couldn't pass on Trent Rivers, a home grown talent, who fills a need for West Coast as quality midfield depth is short at the Club.

Davo-27 you are up.
Wishful thinking to hope he could slide to my next pick