BigFooty AFL Live Competition Season 1 - continued...

Was I meant to play you last night hirdylloydy1?

Sorry mate, I'd finally finished all the day's work, laid in bed to play some AFL Live, decided to watch the rest of some show that was on first.....and fell asleep :p

I'm good to go tonight (for any matches), probably sometime after 9.30pm EST.

And Jorel, how are Lurk3r and I going to do our Brownlow votes for our match, seeing as though we didn't get the proper stats and so you just used stats from the last time our 2 teams faced off in real life?

I just guessed mine straight after the game based on what I remembered.

I can tell you who I voted for if you like?

Jorel, when's the latest you need the Brownlow votes by.

It's just I won't have access to my proper computer until next week.

Next week should be fine. Aiming for a Brownlow count probably next weekend or at the end of it.

Should be good. Might be 7.15 at worst....

Lol. You're not on! :p

And Jorel, how are Lurk3r and I going to do our Brownlow votes for our match, seeing as though we didn't get the proper stats and so you just used stats from the last time our 2 teams faced off in real life?

Just use your judgement or we can double Lurk3r's votes. Up to you.

Oketree can i play you next... also my brownlow votes are now up to date

Hirdylloydy i will probably miss our match tonight but am able to catch it up friday or saturday night... whenever suits

Btw, I think I already mentioned this, but how cool would trades be if we did another season? :cool:

Say, have a 3 day trade period (or whatever), and then start the next season using a custom team based on your trades. So long as everyone is honest and doesn't bump up some players' stats, because there'd be no real way of telling subtle stat increases because the 'custom team' symbol will be there regardless, because of the traded players. I'd trust noone here would do that though...

Could even do a national draft - somehow. Anyway, just a thought, probably a bit much for some...

Btw, I think I already mentioned this, but how cool would trades be if we did another season? :cool:

Say, have a 3 day trade period (or whatever), and then start the next season using a custom team based on your trades. So long as everyone is honest and doesn't bump up some players' stats, because there'd be no real way of telling subtle stat increases because the 'custom team' symbol will be there regardless, because of the traded players. I'd trust noone here would do that though...

Could even do a national draft - somehow. Anyway, just a thought, probably a bit much for some...
Don't like the idea of trades at all tbh.

I don't really want to be resetting my teams and changing them back every time I play a comp game then go to online ranked.

I am liking the random injuries/suspension idea though, as it'll add more dynamic to the team selections and potentially throw up some real surprise wins/losses.

Round 15
Gold Coast 3.1 4.1 8.1 11.4.70 (May 6, Prestia 1, Gablett 1, Lynch 1, Krakouer 1, Matera 1 / Rischi 13, Gablett 11, Bock 8)
West Coast 1.1 2.1 3.4 5.4.34 (Cox 1, Masten 1, Priddis 1, Weedon 1, Lynch 1 / Priddis 10, Glass 9, Gaff 8)

Very much looking forward to season 2 (out of contention for this season so just finishing off my games to see how much i miss out by)! I like the idea of injuries etc but not sure how we can give random injuries?... agree that trades would make it to hard to manage

anyways played my second match againts scootyb and wow what a match... actually thought i could snatch it for a bit...managed to stop pav from dominating like last time!.

Qtr 1
Scootyb dominated but didnt capitalise, I ended the quarter with a few quick goals
Hawks 3.0 18 Freo 0.6 6

Qtr 2
Scootyb again dominated (pattern here i think..) and this time shot a lot better kicking 3 straight....
Hawks 4.1 25 Freo 3.6 24

Qtr 3
took 10 minutes for the first goal of the quarter by lewis, then Scootyb kicked back with a point and a goal
Hawks 5.1 31 4.7 31

Qtr 4
The scores made my last quarter efforts look worse then they were.. but scootyb showed why he is on top!

Hawks 6.3 39 Freo 7.9 51

Goals:
Hawks: 2 Roughead, Franklin, Lewis, Young, Bruce
Freo: Hill 3, 2 Mayne, Ballantyne, Pav

Possessions: Mitchell 11, 9 Guerra & Burgoyne
Freo: 15 Hill, 10 Sandilands & Maine

Hill & Sandilands both dominated... not sure who will get the 3 votes (Sandilands won all but 3 hit outs)

Before i post the scores of my intense return match against drparrot, a humourous story from today. Was playing some ranked matches and one i saw i was up against im_a_chop_. Thought sick, he's top 10 of the leaderboard, it will be a good challenge with him playing as Geelong (albeit modified with a ruckman and other players like Shane Savage, nothing too drastic). Proceeded to absolutely paste him all over the ground, taking great care to be s ruthless as possible due to me knowing his leaderboard position. Final score was about 90 - 14.

Guy messages me after asking "how do you get the cheat?? So i can use it??" with some dribble after it. Then another saying "CHEAT CHEAT CHEAT (x 20) with your name plastered over the internet'. I asked him how i had cheated, pointing out i didnt use a modified team and he did. Then he says 'its pretty obvious, hard to win when all your players are faster and can't be outmarked'.

Told him he was an absolute flog and that using the cheat card is weak. Must be about 12.

Also note that i wasnt using any internet elsewhere to cause lag, so that wouldnt be a factor.

Parrot beat me to it :p , agree with those stats mate

He was deadly accurate in the first and i kicked terribly. Couldnt peg the lead back until the end of the third, and was very worried that i'd end up losing. When i was on an attacking foray, if the doc didnt stop me the umpires would, and i got reamed out thoroughly by them! It's my fault for holding sprint but almost every tackle was being pinged haha ( Final free kick count was 5 - 14). Dr got the first point of the last but i ended up getting the victory against a much improved opponent!

My votes will be going to Hill i reckon, he was prolific, explosive and his three crucial goals were long range beauties.

Before i post the scores of my intense return match against drparrot, a humourous story from today. Was playing some ranked matches and one i saw i was up against im_a_chop_. Thought sick, he's top 10 of the leaderboard, it will be a good challenge with him playing as Geelong (albeit modified with a ruckman and other players like Shane Savage, nothing too drastic). Proceeded to absolutely paste him all over the ground, taking great care to be s ruthless as possible due to me knowing his leaderboard position. Final score was about 90 - 14.

Guy messages me after asking "how do you get the cheat?? So i can use it??" with some dribble after it. Then another saying "CHEAT CHEAT CHEAT (x 20) with your name plastered over the internet'. I asked him how i had cheated, pointing out i didnt use a modified team and he did. Then he says 'its pretty obvious, hard to win when all your players are faster and can't be outmarked'.

Told him he was an absolute flog and that using the cheat card is weak. Must be about 12.

Also note that i wasnt using any internet elsewhere to cause lag, so that wouldnt be a factor.
i played him the other day as well... he is a tool...plays with a modified geelong - and he isnt 'that' good for having such an allstar squad.

Not sure if this idea is workable but maybe we could have 2 divisions and have a relegation/promotion system. Maybe 2 leagues of 10. each team plays twice to make it completely fair.

Not sure if it could work.

i personally dont like the idea as i enjoy playing the top guys (and i would assume i would be division 2 :eek:)... have improved a heap playing this league and i attribute that to seeing how those that are awesome at the game play. Can see it has merit though... would be heaps of closer matches.. definately reckon it could work though.

Played my games against Oketree today first match we were even most of the game, he played well and his defence was awesome (kept getting the ball in my 50 but not getting anything for it). 2nd Game i dominated after quarter time (kept him scoreless in the last half), he started off awesome though kicking the first point and dominating most of the 1st quarter was unlucky not to get rewarded for his efforts. A couple of late goals in the quarter gave me the momentum and just stormed away after that (with a bit of luck involved from some goals that just rolled through).

Round 8:
didnt get the scores for this one (oke probably did but he got out before i scribbled them down...in hindsight probably should have scribbled that down first) but got all the stats so made them up based on that (Oke if you have the actual scores feel free to correct me)

Hawks 7.4 46? West Coast 5.2 32?

Goals: Roughead 3, Rioli 3, Osborne 1
West Coast: 2 Lynch, Kennedy, Darling, Masten

Possesions: 21 Mitchell, 14 Burgoyne, 11 Roughead
West coast: 10 Hurn, 7 Neates, 6 ????? (missed it)

Round 22:
Hawks: 11.8 74 West Coast: 2.3 15
Goals: 7 Roughead, Osborne, rioli, young, lewis
West coast: kennedy, weedon

Possessions: 16 Burgoyne, 16 Roughead, 15 Sewell
West Coast: 14 Kerr, 7 Brown & Priddis

Ok, need to make a request for next season.....
Instead of draft, trade etc.... Can we look at the idea of changing teams?
I believe I have 2 good points:

A) I'm playing as west coast....
B) I'm shit...... Ok, well I don't believe I'm shit, but I'm certainly better than what the ladder suggests. My case is not helped being I'm playing with one of the worst teams.
I really appreciate playing in the comp and against people who respect the game so I'd love to play next season, but it is a little frustrating getting flogged every game.

Maybe if teams drop out next season the bottom teams could get first choice of the teams that become available before new players join?

Round 7:
FREMANTLE - Scootyb (Buckets_18) v GEELONG - skill1414 (kuma1414)

totally outclassed by scootyb

Geel: 3.1 19
Frem: 13.6 84

Goals:
Geel: Podsiadly (2), Byrnes
Frem: Pavlich (5), Anthony (3), Ballantyne (2)

Poss
Geel: Selwood (13), Bartel (9), Taylor (8)
Frem: Crowley (18), Johnson (10), Sandilands (9)

think Jorel wrote earlier bottom person picks their team first and we work our way up.... so the premier gets stuck with whatever team is left.

maybe i should start tanking :D

Just had my game with skill1414, tried recording all the goal scorers for the first time, might boost my guys up the coleman a bit more :p

Final Score:
Fremantle: 13 goals
Geelong: 3 (forgot to take the exact scores :eek:, hopefully skill did haha)

Goals:
Fremantle: 5 Pavlich 3 Anthony 2 Ballantyne 1 Mayne Mundy Johnson
Geelong: 2 Podsiadly 1 Byrnes

Possessions:
Fremantle: 18 Crowley 10 Johnson 9 Sandilands
Geelong: 13 Selwood 9 Bartel 8 Taylor

I think Fremantle match up pretty well with Geelong in game, seems to suit my free flowing style i think

Well that was probably the most annoying game yet. My players didn't respond to me at all.

Well played though SaintSkeeta, your attack was bloody solid. And I'm sure whatever was affecting me must've gotten you too at times.

Port Adelaide vs Saint Kilda
1.2.8 - 3.0.18
3.4.22 - 4.1.25
6.4.40 - 8.2.58
9.5.57 - 12.3.75

Goals
Port - Cassisi, Gray, Westhoff (2)
Saint Kilda - Mile, Montagna, Reiwoldt (2)

Possesions

Port - Boak, Pearce (10), Salopek 9
Saints - Reiwoldt (14), Jones (12), Gilbert (10)

Played my games against Oketree today first match we were even most of the game, he played well and his defence was awesome (kept getting the ball in my 50 but not getting anything for it). 2nd Game i dominated after quarter time (kept him scoreless in the last half), he started off awesome though kicking the first point and dominating most of the 1st quarter was unlucky not to get rewarded for his efforts. A couple of late goals in the quarter gave me the momentum and just stormed away after that (with a bit of luck involved from some goals that just rolled through).

Round 8:
didnt get the scores for this one (oke probably did but he got out before i scribbled them down...in hindsight probably should have scribbled that down first) but got all the stats so made them up based on that (Oke if you have the actual scores feel free to correct me)

Hawks 7.4 46? West Coast 5.2 32?

Goals: Roughead 3, Rioli 3, Osborne 1
West Coast: 2 Lynch, Kennedy, Darling, Masten

Possesions: 21 Mitchell, 14 Burgoyne, 11 Roughead
West coast: 10 Hurn, 7 Neates, 6 ????? (missed it)

Round 22:
Hawks: 11.8 74 West Coast: 2.3 15
Goals: 7 Roughead, Osborne, rioli, young, lewis
West coast: kennedy, weedon

Possessions: 16 Burgoyne, 16 Roughead, 15 Sewell
West Coast: 14 Kerr, 7 Brown & Priddis

Yep, looks pretty good to me....

Come back to your ps3 ya bastard!! :p :D

EDIT: Man I ain't liking my finals chances now :( Though even if I make it there are quite a few very strong players up there!!

think Jorel wrote earlier bottom person picks their team first and we work our way up.... so the premier gets stuck with whatever team is left.

maybe i should start tanking :D

In that case, west coast are proud to announce their new coach Dean Bailey. Lol.
Just joking, I would at least like to win 1 game this season.

BigFooty AFL Live Competition Season 1 - continued...