Biggest Interstate Rivalries?

XFactor1979

due to tyranny of distance the state of wa doesnt have much of a grudge against the other states. although they get pretty passionate in wanting to kick a vic, even though victoria is as far to get to in australia, as much as it takes to drive from london, england to cairo, egypt.

but meanwhile out east, victoria and sa have always been a healthy competition. although after afl what else does sa hold ahead of victoria?

qld v nsw has always been the great rivalry in australian sports, and it doesnt just stop at sports. sydney is diverse, fast, dirty, multicultural, and ultimately - soulless. but it is synonymous with australia's identity on an international stage in the form of the opera house, the coathanger, darling harbour, the tower and the fact it was the Olympic city. Queensland's capital is in the wrong city - Brisvegas, an inland city on a state that markets itself as the state of the great barrier reef, beaches, sunshine etc. a lot of tourists that travel to australia's gateway (ie sydney) give the census that the best-looking australians come from queensland- and i agree.

victoria and nsw have had a different rivalry, in the winter months the football codes come to a head rather than any state of origin rivalry in an agreeable code of football for the two states to play. and with this the northern states are separated from the southern states and never the two shall unite. nsw have given a generally ambivalent attitude to australian rules football, and the vics are unaccepting of rugby league as a code in an AFL dominated city, but rugby league gets by with the number of expat sydneysiders that have migrated south.

Queenslanders dont really have a lot to do with Victoria, i asked a mate of mine who lives up there whos into fitness/sports/ keeping fit. about the AFL over there. he said he saw parts of it, he thought it was funny watching the victorian game, but it looked like all the guys out there were having fun

tassie, the ACT and the northern territory is too small to have their own rivalries, the northern territory is pretty much uninhabitable and tassie is the only state in australia where you actually have to fly, yacht or swim to.

Would have to be QLD v NSW. SoO is massive in rugby league. It's also the biggest rivalry in Australian rugby union, and probably cricket as well.

Not to mention the death of State of Origin between Vic vs. SA, it was massive in its day especially with Teddy Whitten coaching Vic, Cornesy coaching SA?

In sport would have to be NSW vs. QLD, but in lifestyle/city would be VIC (melb) vs. NSW (syd).

due to tyranny of distance the state of wa doesnt have much of a grudge against the other states. although they get pretty passionate in wanting to kick a vic, even though victoria is as far to get to in australia, as much as it takes to drive from london, england to cairo, egypt.

Are you kidding? Western Australians (especially older ones) hate Victorians. It's hilarious.

Sandgropers have a blind hatred for anyone from the Eastern states, but especially Victorians.

They can pick you are Victorian just by the way you say hello.

Then it's usually a very quick goodbye lol.

I would say the biggest rivalries are Victoria v Everyone Else. Nobody but Victorians like Victorians or Victoria :D

But as I always say, Born A Vic, Marry a Vic, Die a Vic!

I'm Victorian first, Australian second :D

The recent rivalry between Adelaide United and Melbourne Victory is enough for me to be biased and say Vics and SA.

Unfortunately it's Vic and those delusional tossers up North for me. NSW got a good ride from John Howard but we're coming back fast. Victoria will be the premier state in the near future. See Victory vs Sydney FC

After having resided here in Madelaide for four year i reckon it's SA versus everyone. The state sees itself as having a permanent raw deal with sport, water, power and a whole lot else.

South Australias biggest rivalry is with South Australia.

i was raised in wa, no choice of my own of course, but im not too fussed with victorians.

mind you i am a bit of a misfit in wa

forget about sydneysiders (real sydneysiders) they are a bunch of snobs out here!

I don't think you can say Sydney vs. everyone as they are souless they don't seem to have any pride in their state, expect for in the rugby.

Vic SA for mine.

I like being Victorian, yes we have a superiority complex, but at least we can admit it ;)

Has to be Melb vs Sydney, but that's definately surpassed by NSW v QLD around origin time. The Melb vs Sydney banter is generally in good fun, but I've met Queenslanders around the origin games and they really HATE people from NSW. Serious loathing! Its like how people feel about collingwood supporters if they are in the grand final, but for an entire state!

I don't think you can say Sydney vs. everyone as they are souless they don't seem to have any pride in their state, expect for in the rugby.

Vic SA for mine.

Victoria might be SA biggest rivalry but it doesn't mean SA is Victorias biggest rivalry, Victorias biggest rivalry is clearly with NSW.

Lifestyle: Qld against everyone else, but only in their minds. My dads family lives up there and it amazes me how every thing is us QLDers this us QLDers that, where in NSW or Vic people talk of them selves as Australians more than by the state they come from. We've theorised they have some sort of inferiority complex

Sport it's QLD v NSW, then Vic v everyone else.

Lifestyle: Qld against everyone else, but only in their minds. My dads family lives up there and it amazes me how every thing is us QLDers this us QLDers that, where in NSW or Vic people talk of them selves as Australians more than by the state they come from. We've theorised they have some sort of inferiority complex

The supreme irony is that many Queenslanders, or their parents/grand parents, originate from Victoria in the first place

Sport: Nothing beats Queensland vs New South Wales. Nothing. This rivalry continues overall too. Queenslanders hate New South Welshmen and vice versa, yet I swear every 2nd person you see up here is from NSW. They love our state but wont admit it.

NSW vs Vic for the fact there rivalry continues from the days of arguing over who should have the capital city. They still couldn't agree who should have it and thanks to that our capital city is an absolute shithole.

another question should be raised on this post:

what unites the nation over these various states

it definitely isnt choice of which football codes in winter, this has divided the nation, and neither shall the two unite.

the cricketing team and the socceroos is seen to be a uniting factor, but the problem is not many natives from wa or sa end up representing australia. wa and victoria are unhappy with nsw over the fact they get first dibs on who to play in the 'national' team.

BUT the victorian bushfire tragedy followed by the massive donation drive is definitely something that has united the nation

oddly, the sydney olympics in 2000 did not unite the nation, in fact it divided the nation, the olympic torch relay, the amount of involvement wa had with the olympics, ie the torch relay. even the olympic ceremonies in the opening and closing ceremonies where it tried to showcase australia, and australia is synonymous with its sporting culture, there was no mention of AFL or rugby league, this is pretty much the conclusion reached by northern and southern australia to agree to disagree which sport to showcase to the world, ie NEITHER

South Australians (coming from England means I'm not one, thankfully) have an irrational hatred of all things Victorian. Massive inferiority complex.

In Sport

QLD v NSW. Nothing beats it, Nothing.

Vics v Everyone Else

QLD v Everyone Else

Both Victoria and QLD seem to think we have the best states. It is clearly QLD but Victorian's are a stubborn bunch and while they know it's true never admit it.

I love how South Australians think they're part of some massive interstate rivalry with Victoria or anyone. I've heard Victorians say they don't give a shit about South Australia and every other state doesn't really shit a shit about them either.

I'd rather live in Tasmania/NT than SA.

South Australians (coming from England means I'm not one, thankfully) have an irrational hatred of all things Victorian. Massive inferiority complex.

**** off back to England if you don't like SA.Whinging pom.Anyway you're wrong.Not all South Aussies hate Victoria.Shane Warne comes from Victoria,and he is the awesomest aussie that ever lived.So i like Victoria.Some people there are ****wits,but show me a place on Earth that is ****wit free.True,some places have a much higher ****wit per capita ratio - England for example.