Bigman’s Training Reports

Thanks again for the report

Really interested in this

Obviously teams want to play clean, precise football. However against top teams especially in September this isn't always possible

I heard Mark Williams speak once and he said that training had to be messy. There needed to be pressure that created errors because that's what games were like. If the ball was moving beautifully, player to player, never hitting the ground at training then that was bad because finals are never like that.

I wonder if:
1) We will use these activities to identify the weaker disposers of the ball and not select them (I have my doubts here)
2) Will players choose safe options (short kicks, backwards, zero hurt factor) so that they don't risk turnover

Other clubs seem to be shying away from worrying about mistakes or things that might go wrong (Chris Fagan: "Run towards the fire"). They accept some errors will occur, take the game on anyway, no fear

Are we going the wrong way by trying to be precise and neat?

It felt like we moved towards a turnover-reduction-focus as last season wore on. The high scoring, free flowing football that suited our forward line but risked being scored against was reeled in. We became more careful and I'm not sure it played to our strengths.
based on those finals it's difficult to pin point one facet we should be working on as everything broke down. When we did take risks it was so poorly executed.

Biggest area I think we need to work on is midfield structure. Not getting first hands on the ball and then allowing oppo to flick the ball around and get it on the outside to a player in a better position with ease. On the other hand when we did get hands on it we did the opposite - dump kick the ball under pressure or give the ball to a team mate in the same or worse position (or ROB).

A lot gets made of our talent in the midfield and while I agree we lack another top line mid, i think this analysis is a bit lazy and the bigger problem is coaching and structure.

So what timeframe do you accept for what’s called a “ Project Player” ?

Surely developmental timelines can’t be the same for all players ….. Rucks for example can be 6 years plus, maturing at 24

The timeline has more markers on it than "can't make the side" and "good AFL player".

Five years in, there shouldn't still be questions whether we can even make the side. And if there are, what timeline do we have for him actually making a significant contribution? Should we wait ten years?

If he was there but not dominant at this stage, I'd entertain the possibility that he might become dominant at some point. Instead, I'm entertaining the possibility that he might be AFL standard at some point, and frankly I think it's more likely that he doesn't.

Look, I hope you're right. But I doubt it.
TBF we also said confidence was what was missing from McKernan's game ......and that never eventuated

It's hard knowing what goes on inside a player's mind

We've given Cook every chance to succeed unfortunately.

He's received more games than his output has warranted. Which is exactly what the club should be doing with talented players. It just doesn't seem to have worked out. There's been no pay-off from the investment.

Can't win em all. For every Simon Goodwin you take a chance on there's a bunch of Gilligans, Eccles, Picioanes who don't. The cost of doing business. There are very few sure things.

If Cook is to receive any opportunities from here on they need to be earned the hard way; through dominant on field displays at SANFL / preseason trial game level. He's used up all potential credits (and then some).

On Monday, Wednesday and Friday I wake up with a pep in my step to keep an eye on this thread. It’s not circular bickering. It’s not ego driven condescension masquerading as information sharing.

Just genuine information and worthwhile opinion that is not available anywhere else.

Thanks bigman

Pray for Sid.

Why isn’t Pedlar being trained up with the mids? High draft pick drafted as a mid, brief spurts has shown good ability to win clearances and brake free, looks fit.

Our midfield is a weakness. What are we doing?

I assume he doesn’t have the tank. Even if he’s fitter this year, he always looks gassed even when just running around the forward line.

He should be playing the Cam Raynor position playing forward with spurts in the midfield.

Why isn’t Pedlar being trained up with the mids? High draft pick drafted as a mid, brief spurts has shown good ability to win clearances and brake free, looks fit.

I may be in the minority here but I actually prefer Peds as a X factor forward who can burst through a clearance in the forward half.

When hes had a decent run at it he looked ultra dangerous in that role and gave our forward line a new look.

I've done to peace with him not being a CBA midfielder at this level

I may be in the minority here but I actually prefer Peds as a X factor forward who can burst through a clearance in the forward half.

When hes had a decent run at it he looked ultra dangerous in that role and gave our forward line a new look.

I've done to peace with him not being a CBA midfielder at this level
We’ve just recruited another forward in Ah Chee, on the back of ANB the year before. What’s your forward line?

I'm not convinced the club believes the midfield is a weakness

Where have you been? The guy has been perpetually injured, he's lucky he is still on a list at all.

Has he even been ripping it up in the midfield ressies?

Laird and Cook play different roles though .....I'm still seeing Cook as an opportunistic FWD .....much in the vein of GEEL's Gary Rohan
It can come in time, we need to get the ball in his hands as much as possible, let him find confidence in the game and anything is possible. I agree Laird's game is completely different. I might not make any friends by saying I don't rate Laird's footy IQ or disposal style, never have. He has been good at getting the ball, but his blind kicks and poor disposal cost us

When Laird plays as a DEF, B4 he went into the midfield, most of his kicks were 20-30 mtr chip kicks .....I agree, his long kicks as a MID were aimless ......he should have been more focussed on hitting up players, as he did as a DEF

That may have been Coaching instructions though ?

I disagree with the Cook thinking, of getting the ball into his hands .....his job is to find the ball more ....you can't have players in Finals that need to be given the ball, you know, the receivers .....those player types always struggle under the chaos ball movement of Finals

VB's plan is to stick with the status quo. If we take our learnings and back the boys in to respond, we will see the enormous benefits that methods always produces. We just have to go harder for longer.

I'm still keen as to see how we go, Draper didn't do a hell of a lot so far. I do hope he's fit and ok though as he deserves his chance
It's 1st week of DEC ......no need to panic on players at this stage of PS

VB's plan is to stick with the status quo. If we take our learnings and back the boys in to respond, we will see the enormous benefits that methods always produces. We just have to go harder for longer.
In fact the opposite has been said .....but let's not spoil a story with facts

Laird back to the middle I reckon

Takes Berry's spot
team america vomit GIF

Bigman’s Training Reports