Multiplat Binary Domain

• Thread starter Thread starter JR#8

Anyone else looking forward to this game? I was just reading up on it and the same team which worked on Yakuza are working on this.

Looks freaking sweet!

[youtube]uS73Pmi-baM[/youtube]

[youtube]lFliHr6AF08#t=3m30s[/youtube]

So the demo went up last night.

Played the demo and enjoyed it. The squad system seems to work ok and will be interested to see how it pans out in the full version. Graphics are ok but nothing special.

Only complaint is the gun sound seems very low.

Vanquish with a likely REALLY deep and long story. That's what I get.

Will play the demo at some point.

Game is awesome...a true sleeper...you guys should pick this up. It also has some of the funniest "running" animations I've ever seen. lol

Binary Domain is AWESOME.

If you love boss battles or are a Gears Of War fan then this game will satisfy you. There is some corny scenes and at times a little to many driving sequences but this is one game I picked up expecting little from and got heaps of enjoyment out of.

I was actually going to write that the character movement and cover system style reminds me of Gears of War set in a Dues Ex type of enviroment. If it's cheap, i might check it out.

You can easily find this for $20 in retail stores like JBHiFi these days, and it's very well worth it to be honest. Very underrated game, you could do much worse. Interesting story too, especially if you're a fan of Philip K Dick and similar sci-fi writers.

Bought it yesterday. Going to give it a crack during the week sometime. Will report back.

Ok sorry to bump, but i've probably played about a quarter of the campaign so far. Some early thoughts, it's heavily story-based (IIRC, like the early MGS games?) so it has A LOT of cut scenes explaining the story and what is happening and there is a lot of talking involved too. It feels like for every 5 minutes of gameplay you get, you have 5 minutes of cutscenes and talking in return.

One thing that comes across as being impressive and that i haven't seen before (but i can't get it to work :( ) is that you use your microphone to direct your team. You can call 'Regroup', 'Attack', 'Cover me' as well as quite a few others, if you can't get it to work you use the LB button to use the same directions. You can select who you partner up with before a quest and depending on how you respond to your teammates can garner or lose trust with them. If you lose too much trust with them, they may not respond to the orders in which you direct. There is friendly fire too, so if you accidently shoot them, you can lose trust that way as well.

In a situation where you get shot too much you go into what is essentially a mix of last stand in CAll of Duty and DBNO (down but not out) in Gears of War. You are armed with a pistol and you can either call over a team mate via the mic using one of the voice reconised commands or use a health kit which you inject to aid your revival. Leave it too long, you die and the mission fails! You can't carry more than 2 or 3 of the health kits at a time, but you can find them in plentiful throughout the course of the campaign. But there are occasions where you have to take cover to avoid being put DBNO.

It plays like Gears of War with a futuristic I, Robot slash Terminator feel to it, some of the humans are robots but don't realise it. One of the action sequences REALLY reminded me of I, Robot where you're trying to evade capture and you are shooting robots from the sunroof of a car in tunnel that looks like the movie. It's one of the many parts of variety the gameplay has to offer so far as well as riding on a jetski through underground sewers avoiding mines and shooting robots (that look like wretches from Gears of War) off the back off a teammate clinging to an elevator. Failure to get rid of them will see her plummet to her demise. There has also been a few boss battles which aren't quite on the challenging side yet, but they really do look impressive and i can't imagine how much better they can get them to look!

binary%20domain%20spider%202315618_lrg.jpg

Multiplayer is dead. Over the 3 nights i've played this game, i've decided to check it out and only on 1 occasion i was able to find a free for all match (in which i won :D with a 11-4 record. :p) and i found an 'Invasion' match which is like Horde mode on Gears of War, where you have to fight off robots which gets harder and harder after each ensuing wave.

Overall impressions, is that it's decent enough if you want to play a game that has a solid story to it (so far anyway), graphically it's not going to blow anyone away, and i think most of you could get away with playing it on the hardest difficulty setting, you could do a lot worse to be honest. It's decent.

One thing that comes across as being impressive and that i haven't seen before (but i can't get it to work :( ) is that you use your microphone to direct your team. You can call 'Regroup', 'Attack', 'Cover me' as well as quite a few others, if you can't get it to work you use the LB button to use the same directions. You can select who you partner up with before a quest and depending on how you respond to your teammates can garner or lose trust with them. If you lose too much trust with them, they may not respond to the orders in which you direct. There is friendly fire too, so if you accidently shoot them, you can lose trust that way as well.

That's old dude, SOCOM on PS2 had it. :p

Haha oh ok! I didn't know! The feature in Binary Domain was the first time i'd come across it to be honest.

I'm up to the start of Chapter 3 and i've plunged probably 4 hours or so into it so far and there is only 6 chapters, so it might only be a 10 hour campaign. I had a quick look at the intro of a guide on gamefaq's (didn't read, don't want to spoil the story :P) but apparently there are 13 boss fights! :o

There are some ripper boss fights in the game. I think you would have beaten the spider already but not up to the Gorilla or the Tsar Runner. I loved both these guys.

It is about 10 hours ... maybe a little less. There are a heap of boss fighters though (some small, some big) the boss fights are what made me love this game.

Nice one! I thought the spider was impressive enough, can't wait to see the others.