News BLK placed under external administration

Just on someone buying blk, a lot of contracts have a clause that allows a party to void the contract if the other party has a change of ownership.

No idea if its common in these deals

If they're bought out, you would hope that the new owners would do a bit of research and see that pretty much everyone hates BLK's products.

They don't really need to be liked. The vast majority don't care at all.

I used to think this, and yes most footy fans overlook it, but on the AFL facebook page people were pretty clearly hating the brand. Lots of local clubs seemingly waited six months plus for products, or ended up with poor-fitting and uncomfortable garments. I don't know how smart it is purchasing a brand that clearly isn't at least average in its customer reviews.

People obviously have these pipe dreams of usurping some of the biggest companies in the world, which is just insane. I mean big dreams make great albums and successful companies, but ultimately you have to taper those expectations early on. BLK and ISC seem a weird model... why wold you be advertising basically no products? How do these companies capitalise on having their letters on a jumper? I don't get it. Nike sell their brand, Adidas on Hawthorn's strips serves the same purpose as Tasmania or iinet. These small ones are advertising... what? For a local netball club to buy through them? How many people could cotton onto that and look at a Freo jumper and go, 'oh shit, let's get them to do up the new Williams Rams jumpers!'

I don't know, it just seems like it'll end badly.

Sekem probably still exist because they have a good, simple model. Every pair of socks and shorts in Jim Kidd is going to be Sekem. Whether it's a WAFL club, black Auskick socks, or a girl buying them for hockey... Sekem basically just produce hundreds of different patterned and coloured basic items. They have a good monopoly. They're also shacked up with Burley too, so any kid buying a footy in a $10 bin will end up with a Burley: regardless of if they want a Dockers or Saints one. What exactly does BLK advertise? What motivates them to produce football jumpers and sponsor AFL teams?

I used to think this, and yes most footy fans overlook it, but on the AFL facebook page people were pretty clearly hating the brand. Lots of local clubs seemingly waited six months plus for products, or ended up with poor-fitting and uncomfortable garments. I don't know how smart it is purchasing a brand that clearly isn't at least average in its customer reviews.

People obviously have these pipe dreams of usurping some of the biggest companies in the world, which is just insane. I mean big dreams make great albums and successful companies, but ultimately you have to taper those expectations early on. BLK and ISC seem a weird model... why wold you be advertising basically no products? How do these companies capitalise on having their letters on a jumper? I don't get it. Nike sell their brand, Adidas on Hawthorn's strips serves the same purpose as Tasmania or iinet. These small ones are advertising... what? For a local netball club to buy through them? How many people could cotton onto that and look at a Freo jumper and go, 'oh shit, let's get them to do up the new Williams Rams jumpers!'

I don't know, it just seems like it'll end badly.

Sekem probably still exist because they have a good, simple model. Every pair of socks and shorts in Jim Kidd is going to be Sekem. Whether it's a WAFL club, black Auskick socks, or a girl buying them for hockey... Sekem basically just produce hundreds of different patterned and coloured basic items. They have a good monopoly. They're also shacked up with Burley too, so any kid buying a footy in a $10 bin will end up with a Burley: regardless of if they want a Dockers or Saints one. What exactly does BLK advertise? What motivates them to produce football jumpers and sponsor AFL teams?
I know ISC produces sporting goods, but I have always wondered how BLK profited at all, same goes for ISC sometimes.

I think people underestimate the amount of local or medium sized clubs that require sporting apparel.

There's a huge market out there, as evidenced by the hundreds (if not thousands) of brands who do it. I've seen lots of local clubs with BLK, whether footy or cricket. My small cricket club ordered $5000 of gear for a player base of 40 (not BLK but a smaller company). Multiply that by at least a thousand for someone like BLK and you're doing okay. They're making killer margins off overseas sweatshops.

I won't miss BLKs afl gear but IMO they made the best one day cricket uniforms.
It's really not hard, though.
All you really need to do is follow basic design that each state wants, look back at stuff that they'd have designed and you'd see their cricket stuff's not great. I.E the CA xi in the ryobi cup and the old BBL stuff.

It's really not hard, though.
All you really need to do is follow basic design that each state wants, look back at stuff that they'd have designed and you'd see their cricket stuff's not great. I.E the CA xi in the ryobi cup and the old BBL stuff.
Perhaps I'm in the minority but I quite actually like the BBL gear they did. I've still got my Strikers shirt from the first season and haven't seen a better design to upgrade since.

After the Carlisle trade and now this, you can be sure that whatever St Kilda do, it'll be the wrong decision.

Bingo. My club ordered about $60k worth of gear from ISC this year - we have about 250 registered players. We spent over $10k on shorts and probably that much again on polos. They would be making huge profit margins on those. And there are plenty of clubs across different codes that have as many or more players and would spend as much.

Besides that, companies make a killing off selling licensed gear - how many more hoodies, polos, guernseys, jerseys etc will ISC sell this season by bringing Essendon, Collingwood, Brisbane and Melbourne on board? I don't think they need to start selling rubber footballs to turn a profit!

I think people underestimate the amount of local or medium sized clubs that require sporting apparel.

There's a huge market out there, as evidenced by the hundreds (if not thousands) of brands who do it. I've seen lots of local clubs with BLK, whether footy or cricket. My small cricket club ordered $5000 of gear for a player base of 40 (not BLK but a smaller company). Multiply that by at least a thousand for someone like BLK and you're doing okay. They're making killer margins off overseas sweatshops.

and schools, plenty of schools get their sports uniform supplied this way too. You are talking thousands of students and regular purchases.

After the Carlisle trade and now this, you can be sure that whatever St Kilda do, it'll be the wrong decision.
Carlisle is a terrific Footballer with heaps of experience and just turned 25. Hell, even Hawthorn wanted him post-2015. Massive get for the Saints and will inevitably add a lot to their increasingly strong list.

Stick to analysing the ins and outs of AFL uniform colour-tones, mate.

Yeah alright armchair geniuseseses, keep your buzzwords and vague list management observations to yerselves.

People here are talking about ISC and BLK making 10k for a school or whatever but wasn't someone on here saying they were paying Essendon $600,000 a year? I don't know how they go about recouping the loses from merch, but I'd imagine perhaps the club takes a larger percentage than the manufacturer. I really don't see how they'd be turning a massive profit. I get that a local club is more likely to purchase BLK/ISC because they sponsor AFL clubs, than say TWP or whatever, but really I think one club at AFL level would be adequate. It just seems something that'll end really suddenly.

@EntertheBubble1 on Twitter alerted me to some serious Adidas placement in Mav Weller's latest Instagram post...might just be a personal deal but there's next to nothing else like that in his feed.

Oh god no. Can't think of anything worse than the dated 3 stripes they have to put on everything and the pig headed things they do to classic designs, they can't even get sashes right.

They really do try and take too much ownership of everything. Who knows, maybe our tri-panel will be reduced to their three stripes :cool::drunk:

They'll cut off the bottom of the red to try and give it fangs.

News BLK placed under external administration