foj1

essendon
I have been barracking for the bombers for over 25 years.
We are lower than we have ever been.
What concerns me most of all is I do not see a plan for us to rise back to the top.
I do not have a great deal of faith with mr little, Campbell, dodoro, Craig and the other leaders at the club at present.
I think we need a complete overhaul.
An overhaul is not about spending money but becoming the most strategic football club in the AFL.
We need to accept two basic premises.
1. We are at the lowest point of the clubs history
2. We do not have a god given right to be at the top of the AFL. The days of the "big four" are gone.

Coaching and communication
We need to get a coach who can build relationships with players and has had a strong grounding on how afl has developed over the last three years. I believe we can cope with someone who can grow with the club but the candidate must be strong, resilient and experienced team success.
The two obvious candidates for me are Scott Burns and Stewart Dew
The left field pick is Cameron ling who I believe has the football nous and complete understanding of the modern game.

I believe we need a director of football who will also grow into the role and can mix a strong understanding of football with a well developed understanding of football administration to connect the two departments. I believe Neil blame has completed the role terrifically at Geelong and Collingwood. The clear candidate for this role for mine is Nick Maxwell. Nick would have the respect of the players, is a strong character and understands footy and has been working in admin. He would grow suitably into the role.

Our assistant coaches would be mark Harvey for his experience, hard edge and mentor role for new coach. Matthew Egan who should be defensive coach where I believe he has built a rapport with our back line. Leigh Brown has had a failed stint at Melbourne however he has been very good at Gippsland and I believe he is a much more rounded person and coach this time around.
I believe mark neeld, Paul corrigan and Marty Allison have shown some progress in player development. With the turnover of our list this area will be vital.

The List
We have a decent core to build a competitive side around however we have limited depth and need to inject speed into the side as well as the ability to kick a better score. Which would come with a much better game plan.

We need to accept some basic premises about our list development.
1. We need speed and elite kicking skills
2. We need to find a ruckman
3. We need to find another key position forward
4. We have not had an elite small forward since Darren Bewick
5. We have overestimated and held on to our players for too long in the past.
6. We are not a desirable destination in 2016

Changes
Dustin Fletcher- retired
Jason Winderlich- retired
Paul Chapman- retired
Nick Kommer- delisted
Elliot Kavanagh- delisted
Will Hams- delisted
Courtenay Dempsey- delisted
Tayte Pears- delisted
Jake Melksham- delisted
Adam cooney-delisted
Jake Carlisle- likely gone
I would punt on Browne and Dalgleish to have one more year to make it.
While Gwilt, Giles and OBrien provide a bit of depth with solid bodies.

Rookie
Kurt Aylett- delisted
Ariel Steinberg- delisted
I would retain McKernan, McKenna and long as rookies though long looks unlikely for mine.
There are whispers that baguley, colyer and Stanton may consider options.
Of the delistings Carlisle would secure us a first round draft pick between 6 & 18 and perhaps a young player.

Realistic Targets from other clubs
GWS are a goldmine. I would look to obtain Adam Tomlinson as my main target. Other players of interest would be Plowman, Bugg, Wilson, Sumner and Townsend. Tomlinson and the first three players would play for us every week. Our round two pick may jag Tomlinson if we are lucky. We may be able to secure a bugg or Wilson through trade or psd. Carlton would target GWS as well with Silvagnis intimate knowledge of the list.

Daniel Currie- north Melbourne
The best ruck an in the afl besides Lycett who does not get a regular game with his club. I believe we are better off targeting a currie over a free a gent such as leuenberger or kruezer as they would both cost a lot of money, take away salary cap flexibility and quite frankly probably wouldn't come to our side anyway.

Liam McBean- Richmond
Liam is contracted however he is not getting regular games and is very close to Joe Daniher and Marty Allison. Liam is still a couple of years away from having an afl rig but we have time. He is an immediate upgrade on ambrose as a tall high forward.

Nathan hrovat- bulldogs
Quality player who can't get a game in a stacked bulldogs midfield. Would play every week with us. I do not know Nathan's contract status however I do know players like to play in the seniors and contracts mean less than they ever did.

The Draft
I think we drafted well last year. It is difficult to argue with Langford, Laverde and McKernan in the rookie draft. We hopefully have two first rounders if Carlisle leaves and like paddy asks to be traded. We have holes everywhere in our list however I would hope we just get the best player available. I would like us to get Aaron Francis with our first pick. He is the best footballer in the draft in my opinion and a kid who can play forward, back and in small stints in the middle. If Aaron is gone I would think Darcy parish is a safe bet. Darcy reminds me of Tom Scully at Tac level. He has speed, accumulates the footy and can also win it. I love the way Darcy uses the footy.
If Carlisle leaves it old be terrific to secure Sam Weideman. My mail is Essendon haven't ruled him out at four and love his kamikaze attack on the ball. He is the closest I have seen to the brown dog running atound the tac.
With our other picks we just need to get the best available. I hope we focus on speed, kicking and some X factor. Take away Shaun Edwards and we are a boring predictable side. Some of my favourite X factors running around are Shane yarren, Daniel rioli, yestin eades and Blake hardwick. There is one or two I may be keeping quiet for the phantom draft!

By the end of 2016 wada is hopefully a memory, we have a rejuvenated list, a stable young coach and panel and one of the best training facilities in the afl. We are playing exciting footy and bombers supporters are loud and proud once more. The hunted become the hunters.
Tom lynch, jaeger omeara and Jonathan Patton become our targets. We should be in a position to go really hard at a marquee talent. Lynch would be my first choice and he would immediately assume a leadership position at the club and take over the number 5 guernsey.

This is my blueprint. I am sure there is a lot that people would disagree with. I am interested in reading other people's ideas. It has been cathartic to have the imaginary control of the footy club I love.

^ Well written. The player changes are accurate and spot on.
Would love the club to target a Lynch or Patton type

Sent from my SM-G900I using Tapatalk

Quality post.

Weideman with our first pick would be a big call. I know Cal Twomey rates him very highly, but he seems a bit divisive. While I have been championing Curnow as our Stringer type pickup, I'd love it if the club says **** it and picks the player they want the most, rather than the one that's the safest. If that's Weideman, then do it.

Re. the list, I would personally prefer a two year-cull, rather than a gutting this year. I'd like to keep Browne, Dalgleish and Kav for one or two extra years because I think they have something to offer. I'm very doubtful the club is on the same page though.

Like Mcbean, Hrovat and even Currie. The latter of whom has been hard done by I think. Although the re-signing of Bellchambers might mean we'd be better off picking up a younger Milham type project. My main concern with Mcbean and Hrovat would be what we have to give up for them.

I also reckon one of Hartley or M. Brown are musts, especially if Buckets leaves this year. I'd prefer Hartley because I think he has more upside and is younger.

In a draft where we will probably be using 6 draft picks at most (assuming we trade Jake x2) i don't see us making 11 senior list changes. Agree with TFC above, has to be over a few years. From the players you have mentioned this is my opinion on what will happen.

Changes
Dustin Fletcher- retired
Jason Winderlich- retired
Paul Chapman- retired
Tayte Pears delisted
Nick Kommer- contracted 2016.
Adam Cooney - contracted 2016
Elliot Kavanagh- 1 year contract/delist
Will Hams- delisted
Courtenay Dempsey- delisted
Jake Melksham- either re-signed or traded for a 3rd rounder if lucky.
Jake Carlisle- mid first round or second round pick

Which will leave us at 9 list seniors out the door. However, with our KPP stocks being low, Steiny will be elevated because we can't afford to turn over 3 key defenders in one period.

I like most of the points you make but we do need to stagger the cull. In terms of the list I'd hold Melksham and Kavanagh for at least another year and as insurance Pears/Steinberg.

Coaching wise I think Dew is the man but is he ready to coach or is he happy where he is for now?

Nick Maxwell despite what many think of him has an extremely level head and I too believe would be a good addition. I'd like to see Ling at the club in an assistant capacity as he would have strong views and would bring quality ideas to the team. His relationship with Egan could prove a telling factor.

If we could secure a trade with St Kilda for Carlisle to receive pick 6 we'd be laughing. Two of Francis/Parish/Curnow would be a ripping draft (not too dissimilar to Macrae and Stringer for the dogs a few years back). Mitch Brown should be given an opportunity. Not sure about the rucks, would Currie challenge TBell for a game?

In all I don't think we are as bad as people think, certainly what outsiders may think. It will take a couple of years to get back on track though. I'm ready for a bit of short term pain...

Best thing we can do is trade older players for whatever picks we can get, bottom out for 2 years, blame the saga and then reload with a talented young group which should be balanced with the current younger crop who will be in the right age group by the time they are ready. If we try patch work we'll never compete with other lists.

Off the top of my head we should trade/accept picks for:

Jake
BJ
Stants
Bellchambers
Plus anyone that wants to leave

All would have some value and won't be around for our next flag.

What's ironic is if Fletch is gone next year we will need a key forward or defender. Should have just kept Jake down back and played Fletch forward :)

Best thing we can do is trade older players for whatever picks we can get, bottom out for 2 years, blame the saga and then reload with a talented young group which should be balanced with the current younger crop who will be in the right age group by the time they are ready. If we try patch work we'll never compete with other lists.

Jake
BJ
Stants
Bellchambers

What's ironic is if Fletch is gone next year we will need a key forward or defender. Should have just kept Jake down back and played Fletch forward :)

Bellchambers just signed this week

Jake
BJ
Stants
Bellchambers

I want to see the team post WADA before going down this route. The fact is that nobody knows what impact it has had, so i'd rather not panic at this stage.

Agree although in reality we will not delist Cooney, he will play out his contract.

If Little is true to his word he will go once WADA is finished playing their games.

As for Craig i hear all is not smooth across the footy department but i am not sure his role can really be judged as he came in after the manure was in the fan
and he has not really had a chance to change a lot while we have been waiting for ASADA and WADA.

Can not argue with any other points only to say with a new coach and a WADA decision 2016 will be a new era one way or another.

Agree although in reality we will not delist Cooney, he will play out his contract.

If Little is true to his word he will go once WADA is finished playing their games.

As for Craig i hear all is not smooth across the footy department but i am not sure his role can really be judged as he came in after the manure was in the fan
and he has not really had a chance to change a lot while we have been waiting for ASADA and WADA.

Can not argue with any other points only to say with a new coach and a WADA decision 2016 will be a new era one way or another.
Ant555
There are quite a few things that won't happen however the post is pretty much what I think.
I would be really interested if you did a similar thing.
I take for granted they also won't cut as deep as I have advocated however I truly believe we would be getting kids or vfl talent like brown Hartley galucci rather than the tried and repeatedly failed. Mind you brown and Hartley have also failed.
I would also seriously look at Daniel cross as an assistant coach. A ripper bloke and role model.
I would also look to further establish an indigenous academy. Apparently we have gone from leaders in this area to one of many.

How do we delist Kommer and Cooney when they are signed for another year each?
Pay them out.
We need our cash for 2017 when we have a few players to retain and we can chase a marquee play.
Please Tom lynch!

Like others have said good post, i agree 100% with your views on the clubs direction. For the first time in 30 years i feel worried about where we are headed.

I think missing the 2013 draft will hurt us for years to come. However we can minimize it by being smart, honest and ruthless with our list, coaches and board. We need new people with footy smarts to pull us through lets hope we get them.

Sent from my SM-G920I using Tapatalk

Cross has already been offered a job with the dees which he'll presumably take, but apart from that I'm on board with all of this.

I just hope we don't overreact and completely blow up the list beyond what is necessary, I'm more than happy to headhunt specific guys to play specific positions (a Grimley to play backup ruck/forward for example) but otherwise give the recruiters as much ammo as we can get them, stay out of it and let them do their thing.

Ant555
There are quite a few things that won't happen however the post is pretty much what I think.
I would be really interested if you did a similar thing.
I take for granted they also won't cut as deep as I have advocated however I truly believe we would be getting kids or vfl talent like brown Hartley galucci rather than the tried and repeatedly failed. Mind you brown and Hartley have also failed.
I would also seriously look at Daniel cross as an assistant coach. A ripper bloke and role model.
I would also look to further establish an indigenous academy. Apparently we have gone from leaders in this area to one of many.

Would love to put all my thoughts down but at this stage i am at work from 6am to 5.30pm so i only ever have time to jump on and make short posts during the day.
I pretty much agree with what you have said other than I think Cooney can still play a role for us if the off field stuff sorts itself out.
I like Parish for our first pick. Due to work i have not seen enough under 18 stuff to comment a lot on the blokes outside the top 40 or so.
Maybe i am slightly wary of going too deep in this draft but i think we could easily turn over 9 or so and keep Dempsey for another season so out of the delistings i would keep Dempsey and Cooney for another year.

Would happily go with the targets from other clubs any of the GWS blokes mentioned would be good. Have always been a fan of Bugg.

Would love to see an indigenous academy, we have a few blokes like NLM or Rioloi down here who could run it and Long who could mentor. We seem to be
falling away in this area.

Have no real strong opinion on coaches other than having someone experienced on board if we go for a first time coach,

Id love to pickup Parish. With Parish, Langford, Laverde, Z. Merrett and of course Hepp; we can at the very least settle that bunch down and create a solid midfield going forward.
I also wouldn't mind keeping Kav for one more year, I feel like he's a confidence player and is a bloke we need to gradually develop. Plus he's an endurance athlete which is something our club struggles mightly with...running out games.

Cross has already been offered a job with the dees which he'll presumably take, but apart from that I'm on board with all of this.

I just hope we don't overreact and completely blow up the list beyond what is necessary, I'm more than happy to headhunt specific guys to play specific positions (a Grimley to play backup ruck/forward for example) but otherwise give the recruiters as much ammo as we can get them, stay out of it and let them do their thing.
Grimley not up to it in my opinion. McKernan foes everything he can do. We need another first ruck option.

Lots of solid posts here.

But let's not kid ourselves people.

We are back to square one again. Back to when Sheedy was let go.

Two coaches later we once again are in uncharted waters.

There's no Golden Boy to waltz in and give everyone a warm glow.

Not since prehistoric 1981 have the EFC searched far and wide to bring in "an outsider".

Rough seas ahead my friends. Stormy, windy $hit to plough through.

Grimley not up to it in my opinion. McKernan foes everything he can do. We need another first ruck option.

Just an example, basically apart from head hunting for what I consider specified roles (the 3 i've got in mind are small forward, Key forward who can relief ruck, and a '3rd' tall defender) I want us to hit the draft. Not interested in any poaching/trading.

Which is why we should trade Melksham, Stanton, Dempsey, Ambrose and co ..so we can raid the draft.

Let's get some speed and pace back into our side.

The incoming coach has no choice but to forge ahead in that direction.