National Draft:
Pick #9 - Jordan Russell
Pick #25 - Adam Hartlett
Pick #41 (F/S) - Luke Blackwell
Pick #73 - Chris Bryan
Pick #77 - Anthony Raso

PS Draft:
Pick #3 - Eddie Betts

Decent year considering what else was taken, probably a few too many misses.

2005:

National Draft:
Pick #1 - Marc Murphy
Pick #4 - Josh Kennedy
Pick #20 - Paul Bower
Pick #36 - Jake Edwards

PS Draft:
Pick #1 - Dylan McLaren

Rookie Draft:
Pick #1 - Ryan Jackson
Pick #17 - Craig Flint'

Exceptional year. Couldn't turn over more players nor use any more picks in the ND other than the 4 above due to the club not having enough money to pay players. This is the sort of thing WH had to deal with.

2006:

National Draft:
Pick #1 - Bryce Gibbs
Pick #17 - Shaun Hampson
Pick #19 - Shaun Grigg
Pick #35 - Mark Austin
Pick #51 - Clint Benjamin
Pick #67 - Joe Anderson

PS Draft:
Pick #1 - Cain Ackland

Rookie Draft:
Pick #1 - Sam Jacobs
Pick #17 - Michael Jamison
Pick #32 - Ross Young

If you can pick 3 best 22 players in a year, you've got a full team in 7 years - I say he's picked up a 10 year FB and Ruck (at this stage). That's pretty good. Hampson could still be anything, the club has a tonne of faith in Austin pending injuries, and the only gripe was not choosing Selwood, but that was never going to happen.

2007:

National Draft:
Pick #1 - Matthew Kruezer
Pick #36 - Steven Browne
Pick #46 - Dennis Armfield

PS Draft:
Pick #2 - Darren Pfeiffer

Rookie Draft:
Pick #2 - Aaron Joseph
Pick #18 - Lachie Hill
Pick #34 - David Ellard
Pick #48 - Michael Shields

Aaron Joseph and Dennis Armfield two quality late picks. Another decent year. Nothing too special.

2008:

National Draft:
Pick #6 - Chris Yarran
Pick #40 - Mitch Robinson
Pick #65 - Rhys O'Keeffe
Pick #80 - Caleb Tiller

PS Draft:
Pick #4 - Chris Johnson

Rookie Draft:
Pick #6 - Jeff Garlett
Pick #22 - Luke Stanton
Pick #37 - Greg Bentley
Pick #51 - Darren Pfeiffer (Re-drafted)
Pick #65 - Lachie Hill (Re-drafted)

Jury is still out, but to have unearthed a 40 goal a year forward pocket from the rookie draft is a credit to WH. Doesn't warrant further analysis as things can change so quickly for players at this age. Make a Yarran v. Rich poll this year :rolleyes:.

Basically in 5 years he has built a list from scratch, and has been fortuitous in landing Judd. Bolded are 18 players that would pretty much land a complete squad and many of them are nowhere near their potential. Gibbs, Murphy and Kreuzer have all had down years yet we still finish in the 8. Yarran and Grigg in and out of the team.

We'll leave 2009 as too early to tell as well.

:D
Hello Gents,

Many people discussing how Carlton should trade picks for players at other clubs. I think we need to keep our draft picks.

We have already traded out good picks for Warnock and Mclean.

We will get some good currency for Jacobs, Walker should these guys leave, plus our picks this year we should bring more quality young talent.

Unless there is a crazy opportunity, I think we should stay well clear of guys like Tarrant.

Surely we learnt our lesson from 10 years ago. Draft picks are just too valuable. I do accept the draft will be weak this year due to the 17 years old taken by Gold coast, but if there are kids we believe we can get with our picks thats the direction we should go.

Thoughts?
i think you are on the $ there, but if carlton could get a young chb ( like mitch brown from w.c.) then maybe they should. one thing though, they say that even with those kids gone to g.coast, it is still a reasonable draft, so we should use the picks wisely. some say it would have been right up there with the best drafts if not for g.coast getting those 12 seventeen year olds in advance.:D

Agree, BTP, Wayne Hughes is unfairly maligned.

For the sake of the argument, below are the players we could have taken at the available picks. Aside from missing Warnock obviously, and dodging the Stokes bullet, we've done bloody well!

I would suggest trading for hacks is a pretty low % option.

2004:

National Draft:
Pick #25 - Matt Rosa/Luke Mcguane
Pick #57 - (Callum Chambers:eek:) James Gwilt

2005:

National Draft:
Pick #36 - Robert Warnock :D
Pick #52 - (Jason Saddington) Matthew Stokes

2006:

National Draft:
Pick #51 - Lindsay Thomas
Pick #67 - Jesse White

2007:

National Draft:
Pick #36 - Chris Mayne
Pick #52 - (Richard Hadley) Brad Dalziell/Cale Hooker

Rookie Draft:
Rookie Pick #18 - Austin Wonaeamirri

If Grigg leaves, I imagine we'd get the same compensation that Port got for Krakouer - a 2nd round pick to be taken straight after the clubs initial 2nd round pick.

In terms of trading the pick, the club can definitely trade the pick but the AFL needs to be notified by a particular date if the club plans to use the pick in a specific year. So obviously if the club was to trade a compensation pick THIS year it would have to notify the AFL of its intentions to use the pick this year, before trade week, which is a while before the cut-off date by which the AFL needs to be notified.

Keep Jacobs at all cost, finally we have devoloped a real gem, best tap ruckman I've seen in a long time at the Blues. In the past we have traded vital picks for duds (Ackland and Mclaren). I can't believe they have not put pen to paper for him, yet Hampson has a contract :thumbsd:. Jacobs should be number one Ruckman (Kruezer can be played forward, back or at Centre half forward) and we should continue to develope Warnock. I hope they keep Grigg but pleeeze get rid of Walker if anyone will have him. I am still fuming that they bought him back into the team against Sydney instead of the reliable, cool head, in form and experienced Thornton (what is their problem!!). I couldnt care less that he kicked goals, he gets in the way of other guys trying to take a mark, can't takle and makes poor decisions. Hampson should be traded also to who ever wants him, he hasn't added anything to our team.
Jacobs is the best ruckman we have had for a long time, I'm scratching my head as to why they didn't play him more last year.:confused:

I just hope Matthew Watson slides to pick 18 but its highly unlikely. Big KPD in the Hurley mould who starred in this years U18 carnival. Already has an AFL frame as he stands at something like 196cm 98kg. The perfect pick up for us, however i think he will go in the top 10 as Hurley did.

The only chance of us getting Watson would be to trade Yarran to the Eagles for pick 4 given the Eagles have said they will trade that pick for a very good small forward. No-one else on our list will give us a pick early enough. We do have 3 small forwards, which we really can't play all at once, but lack a CHB athough we might use Yarran further up the ground next year. Would anyone want to do that though.

We could do a 3-way with the Eagles and a SA club and end up with Mitch Brown for CHB maybe.

Keep Jacobs at all cost, finally we have devoloped a real gem, best tap ruckman I've seen in a long time at the Blues. In the past we have traded vital picks for duds (Ackland and Mclaren). I can't believe they have not put pen to paper for him, yet Hampson has a contract :thumbsd:. Jacobs should be number one Ruckman (Kruezer can be played forward, back or at Centre half forward) and we should continue to develope Warnock. I hope they keep Grigg but pleeeze get rid of Walker if anyone will have him. I am still fuming that they bought him back into the team against Sydney instead of the reliable, cool head, in form and experienced Thornton (what is their problem!!). I couldnt care less that he kicked goals, he gets in the way of other guys trying to take a mark, can't takle and makes poor decisions. Hampson should be traded also to who ever wants him, he hasn't added anything to our team.
Jacobs is the best ruckman we have had for a long time, I'm scratching my head as to why they didn't play him more last year.:confused:

Firstly, Jacobs is out of contract and want to go as he knows game time will be limited and wants to play senior footy. Kreuzer is not a KP forward and we don't plan on making him one just to fit 3 rucks in the side. Even if Jacobs is ahead of Hampson he'd still be 3rd in the order.

Walker finally played in his right position and kicked 3.2 in a final. Sh1t, how annoying. His dad, on the other Carlton site, said he won't be leaving anyway. You compared to picking Thornton, well duh, Walker played forward. got in the way, didn't see that. Don't talk with agendas you lose what's left of your credibility.

What picks did we lose for Ackland and McLaren...PSD ones?

You post was a real beauty.....not!!!!!!

The only chance of us getting Watson would be to trade Yarran to the Eagles for pick 4 given the Eagles have said they will trade that pick for a very good small forward. No-one else on our list will give us a pick early enough. We do have 3 small forwards, which we really can't play all at once, but lack a CHB athough we might use Yarran further up the ground next year. Would anyone want to do that though.

We could do a 3-way with the Eagles and a SA club and end up with Mitch Brown for CHB maybe.
This would be a fair trade but somehow I can't see the Eagles doing us any favours.

The only chance of us getting Watson would be to trade Yarran to the Eagles for pick 4 given the Eagles have said they will trade that pick for a very good small forward.
The club would probably draft Atley or Darling if that trade went through.

Some can't even take missing out on Fyfe, Gysberts, Talia, Bastinac and Griffiths, yet you want to cut Yarran at just 19 years of age.

Yarran is more than just a small forward.

Betts and pick 18 for pick 4 is the dream trade I'd do.

Ideally, Betts should be used to get Knights.
How nice!

Blue_chick, Kruzering andceltic_pride have found a soul mate. :o :(

Thank God we have Jacobs as our best ruckman since Kreuzer.

Garlett's scoring chance after Sydney was due to Hampson's efforts and contest which created a loose ball in our forwardline.

Lets talk down our current players and use them to chase that pot of gold at the end of the rainbow.

:thumbsu:

The goals he kicked are irrelevant, the reason he was in the forward line was to tag Kennelly. Did a pretty good job until the last quarter until Kennelly dragged him further upfield and got 12 vital touches. As usual Walker misses tackles and jumps for marks that he rarely takes, never stays down when he should (often leading to his man ending up at the back of the pack kicking goals). If you listened to Ratten's finger pointing then you would know that he was talking about Walker when saying that Kennelly got away from his opponent.
Also Walker was droped for the previous round despite kicking two goals, he had 35+touches in the two's and he still wasnt in the final 22 until Grigg didnt pull up.

The Blues tried to trade him last year but no takers, can't tackle, can't mark, not strong enough and has no footy brain. Aside from his debute I honestly believe that he has not played anywhere near the level he produced on that day. Jeff Garlett tackles better than him, at least his tackles stick (much smaller player but stronger upper body) he puts his arms around his opponents arms rather than their waist as Walker consistatly does. Garlett has a better football brain and has achieved much better results in his debut season, different type of player but still smarter, faster, stronger and consistent. Besides Walker is almost always the third or fourth player on the scene, hardly ever at the bottom of the pack. No agenda here, it's fact. What makes you think I have no legitimate contacts? If Walker is still at the Blues next season it wont be for lack of trying to offload him.

I made the point that we should have brought in a defender after losing Grigg, Thornton would have been a better choice. Walker is not a defender, like you I prefer him up forward where he can do the least amount of damage. Not in the midfield cause he can't pass on the run if his life depended on it.

Jacobs should never have been allowed to be out of contract in the 1st place, Hampson hasn't lived up to anything whilst Jacobs showed plenty in the few games that he played last year. He had one bad game this year (the whole team played lousy)and was droped for Hampson who did nothing for the next few weeks. He came back into the side and made himself one of the most wanted ruckman, did you see him play against Williamstown on the weekend?? His game time should not be limited and he shouldnt be "3rd in line", name one round that Hampson has played better than Jacobs. I'd be pissed off too if I were him, they gave up heaps to get Warrnock (and are paying him a stack) when we already have a quality ruckman in him who should have been given the opportunity last year.

Why play Kruezer in the ruck almost exclusively when he can play almost anywhere and we have two giants (Jacobs and Warrnock) who are going to mix it with the best next season?

Ackland and Mclaren duds, surely there were better choices for nothing than those two.

Firstly, Jacobs is out of contract and want to go as he knows game time will be limited and wants to play senior footy. Kreuzer is not a KP forward and we don't plan on making him one just to fit 3 rucks in the side. Even if Jacobs is ahead of Hampson he'd still be 3rd in the order.

Walker finally played in his right position and kicked 3.2 in a final. Sh1t, how annoying. His dad, on the other Carlton site, said he won't be leaving anyway. You compared to picking Thornton, well duh, Walker played forward. got in the way, didn't see that. Don't talk with agendas you lose what's left of your credibility.

What picks did we lose for Ackland and McLaren...PSD ones?

You post was a real beauty.....not!!!!!!

The goals he kicked are irrelevant, the reason he was in the forward line was to tag Kennelly. Did a pretty good job until the last quarter until Kennelly dragged him further upfield and got 12 vital touches.
And in case anyone forgot, he did exactly the same thing with Rich in last year's elimination final.

Wow! that takes it to potentially three great games he's played, now I'm really impressed. Looks like Daddy lied to ya all, I reakon they should just give him to Adelaide. :D