Autopsy Blues V Bombers - Vent in here.

• Thread starter Thread starter Chism

Need to remove the ball butchers from the midfield.
I think the problem we have in the midfield in comparison to the better sides is that our players are either tough (robbo/bell) or skilled (gibbs/murph) the better sides have players who provide them with both.

Pretty much. Removing the Robinson/Bell types is a bigger priority though. None of our current fringe mids from Sunday's night game are good kicks.

I think we need at least one of those grunt types in the side until we find better solutions as inside mids, whether that's Crippa/Graham or someone not yet on the list remains to be seen.

One or two is fine but we only have three blokes in Thomas, Murphy and Gibbs who can play inside and kick the pill.

True but ideally you'd free them up as much as possible given they play their best footy on the outside. This is an area where the Bombers have really improved recently, by recruiting Goddard and playing Myers through the middle they're freed up Stanton/Zaharakis/Winderlich to play more on the outside where their respective skill sets are put to best use.

Goddard, Myers and Watson can all kick the ball pretty well though. Ideally we would have Judd, Bell and Cripps in the same midfield providing that bullocking work that allows Murphy,Thomas and Gibbs to get free. No point having Mclean, Bell, Carazzo, Robinson, Ellard and Curnow all in the same midfield.

I think we've got our wires crossed mate, that's what I was meaning. :)
Our midfield is in drastic need of an upgrade, it's very shallow in terms of quality.

I think we've got our wires crossed mate, that's what I was meaning. :)
Our midfield is in drastic need of an upgrade, it's very shallow in terms of quality.
Ellard is a small forward who can play through the middle. How many of our other small forwards can do that? They like to say that he is a small inside mid/tagger. But he is only relief in those positions.

Still doesn't help us in the size/skills department when he rotates through the midfield. I'd like to see Temay replace Garlett because of Garlett's inability to play in the midfield. You can't play small forwards who can't mark overhead or rotate through the midfield anymore.

^^^^^^

Too many I's BB.

Yes there are ... I am just really angry at the moment ... and its made me lose it.

I can admit that.

I don't get like this often but I saw our injury list and realised that we barely have any and I just lost it!

I mean are qwe really that bad
How can you hate/despise Warnock with a passion? Did he run over your dog or something?

Because he just does not care ... he embodies what is wrong with the current line up. Is happy to make a decent paycheck and not put in the hard yards. We paid an absolute fortune for him, and what have we gotten in return?
He cannot even tap it to advantage and is about as useful as an ashtray on a motorbike around the ground.

I don't know I just cannot bear the sight of him anymore.

I am probably being unfair but I do not care I have had enough of the current lineup.

Seeing Goodard bully young Buckley and no one manning up is just pathetically old hat.

We are just wrong on so many levels

just seemed like malthouse was seriously out coached as well, weather that is just a bad game plan all together, or not the right game plan for the list, or just a bad game im not really sure. but looking at it from last year we definately played a way which didnt suit the list and i think he has tried to change it a bit and it has really been showed up as flawed against a good running side. i reckon we are in big trouble now opposition coaches are gunna watch that game closely including the way murphy was targeted as usual .he should never had been made captain although he is a great player. im really not sure where we go from here re build so malthouse can get another five years on big money.part of me thinks that was his plan all along.

Rest assured the money would have been a minor consideration for Malthouse when agreeing to coach Carlton. He is already a very wealthy man.

For Malthouse, it was very much a case of not believing he was finished as a senior coach, hence walking away from the position that McGuire created for him at Collingwood as director of coaching. The thought of coaching another one of Victoria's 'Big 4 clubs would no doubt have been part of the motivation as well.