Dockernut

Sharks. Anyone playing West Coast.
Watching the Power v Hawks game tonight, has got me thinking that we need a few more hard nuts in and around the contest. Yes, DeBoer is hard as a cat's head, and I think Gu can dish out a decent bump, but it'd be nice for us to have a few more blunt objects to compliment the skill and class of your Mundy, Fyfe, Hill types. The Hawks and Port both have a really good core of hard-nosed mids that seem trained to hunt their opponents (moreso the Hawks IMO). Not talking snipers, just good honest crunching tacklers that have other mids second-guessing themselves at stoppages. I reckon once Jacob Ballard gets up and going he might fill this kind of role in our midfield, looks like he has good speed and skills for someone who also seems to enjoys hurting people (fairly of course).

I thought this thread was going to be about tonights commentary and that someone else felt like digging their ears out with a blunt object.

Bashing BT to death with one

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Couldn't disagree more, we have far more blunt objects than those two teams. The chains of possessions they could put together without error was impressive. We need to work better in 2 on 2s and 3 on 3s. Other teams players block and shepherd, give and go much better than us. We seem to long kick to congestion and rely on our blunt objects (brute force) to continue surging the ball forward.

Mundy and Fyfe get me hard. They would be as strong as you could get around the contest with their physical mass and tenacity at the contest, both contested machines and Mundy in particular tackles with more ferocity every time I see him play. I don't think this area is one I would be to concerned about.

ok mate, disturbing to say the least

Who exactly are these blunt objects from Port? They are a team of lithe runners. They don't really have many bullocking players at all. Wines is the closest. Ebert is fairly big, but is more a runner. We have them well and truly covered for brute force. I actually expect that in a final, the likes of Freo, Sydney and Hawthorn will physically dominate Port in the clinches.

I like the theory Dockernut and was trying to put my finger on what they have ( power and hawks) that we don't last night....

I think Mora and Sylvia would add a fair degree of this. Bigger, harder bodied mids with speed.

Now I think about it, I didn't really see any strong tag last night either way - I'm going to get blasted here for suggesting this but would we bring more 'hurt' and presence around stoppages if we had another playing mid in replacement of Crowley. A player who, like de boer/mora works hard when not in possession to block for Fyfe, Mundy etc.

Now I know Crowley has his place, and I know he provides value in what he does but the types of game like last night I think are blowing the Crowley type of negating away. It's harder for him to have effect in continued fast break-to-stoppage-to-fast-break style footy ( refer to hannabery last year at SCG ) the Crowley type tag can be shrugged in this style of footy due to the amount of blocking and multi directional running around packs.
We got fair dinkum pantsed around the packs in our last quarter reaming against port, without them having a ruckman - so something can be said for their style or mid set-up.

I also think they just work so hard for each other at port, their awareness to block and create space around packs, then fire out the ball to advantage in what could normally be considered a dangerous area sets them apart.
Risky footy that I'm hoping can be undone with finals pressure and a taxing season under their belts ( crosses fingers)