Club Mgmt. Board of Directors as led by President Dave Barham - Statement from Barham addressing Merrett etc - 12/9

And just how much of it is for a status symbol, My seats at the G are a bay away from the presidents lunch seats (so much so security once came and said I wasn't supposed to be sitting there, showed my membership they moved on quickly, its a High Mark membership but just shows the markup for wel.
I looked at 1872 today and thought how is this really better than high mark which I currently am as well

Lloyd warned that when the full review is made public, it wouldn’t be favourable on how the club has operated in recent years.
Jim Carrey Omg GIF

things Brasher said we'd do in 2020 and earlier this year, but clearly didn't.

But it's not a 2 year thing either.
We've not been great since the end of the last century. small hangover early, but it tapered off.
Review sounds like it was a much needed slap across the face. Let's hope it's heeded. And credit to Barham for committing to this process.

I looked at 1872 today and thought how is this really better than high mark which I currently am as well
Looks like it includes some food at all Ess home games(probable some saucage rolls/pies/something cheap) can buy guest passes (don't think you can do that with most reserve seat memberships; probably some value but not all that much. Also probably a less populated bar than the HM one but not a huge difference

What is the high mark a year?

Tweet now unavailable, what did it say?

Sam Landsberger trying to spruik a herald sun article, with the article being something about Dodoro's job security.

The actual body of the tweet was a comment that the two new appointments (GM of Performance and Head of Development) being outcomes of the previous internal review from a couple of months ago.

Sam Landsberger trying to spruik a herald sun article, with the article being something about Dodoro's job security.

The actual body of the tweet was a comment that the two new appointments (GM of Performance and Head of Development) being outcomes of the previous internal review from a couple of months ago.

Reckon it’s rubbish. Brasher was clear the changes would be incremental only. Hard to imagine he had two new supercharged footy dept roles in mind when he said that.

Brasher was talking about investing in the development side of things, and was talking publicly about going over the soft-cap to do it/lobbying the AFL to increase the footy department soft-cap. I think the AFL ended up putting it up by about half a million dollars.

I'm kind of curious whether the soft cap includes all the other stuff an employee costs, like workcover, superannuation and whatever, or if it's just the take home salary. Coz half a million goes a fair bit further if it's just the take home pay...

Brasher was talking about investing in the development side of things, and was talking publicly about going over the soft-cap to do it/lobbying the AFL to increase the footy department soft-cap. I think the AFL ended up putting it up by about half a million dollars.

I'm kind of curious whether the soft cap includes all the other stuff an employee costs, like workcover, superannuation and whatever, or if it's just the take home salary. Coz half a million goes a fair bit further if it's just the take home pay...

Perhaps. Is there any news on the soft cap going up? I don’t even know if that stuff gets publicised, but it’d be a missed opportunity for AFL House not to spruik it as a chance for clubs to invest more in player support services, indigenous officers etc.

About 11.15:

Cheers. Seems like he had a bit of a slant on clubs’ player personal development roles being excluded from the soft cap (which I agree is a great thing to do).

Edit: aside from raising the overall soft cap.

No this our mess, own it, don't blame the afl

Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk

You don't understand how these appointments work - Firstly, Ernst and Young the headhunters who are supposed to select suitable candidates who go through their vetting process before being presented to the club - Then the club interviews the candidates for suitability and EFC will probably contact one or two referees seeking additional information before making a final decision - Then any CEO appointment must be ratified by the AFL who have the power to reject the nomination ( nominations have previously been rejected ) Then the appointment is made - And in this case the AFL would be aware of Thorburn's background having worked with them through the NAB partnership with the AFL.

So if essendon forgets to wipe its own arse we cry to mummy? Again, your post changes nothing. I knew all that already.

We blabbed on about how great OUR process was (including to the AFL) and it ****ed up. Not the AFL's fault.

Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk

Who would our GM of Performance be? Why not just a manager of performance, why a GM? Someone who wouldn't take the job without the fancier title?

And who would we line up for a Head of Development role?

Room in the budget for Yze, Choco, or any of the others we were thinking about as senior coaches? 🤔
The GM Performance role doesn’t sound particularly well thought through tbh - listening to Mahoney talk about it I couldn’t discern what real responsibility the role had, what it actually owned. Stuff not falling through the cracks seemed to be the gist of it…..in my world GM’s are responsible for making sure that doesn’t happen in their own function. It’s called attention to detail.

Suspect it's a role that helps Mahoney out with keeping people accountable in their roles, but rather than doing so at checkpoints, they become accountable for it ongoing.
Imagine whoever it is works closely to tie together the various programs we have across development, coaching, strategy, fitness/conditioning, etc.

Suspect it's a role that helps Mahoney out with keeping people accountable in their roles, but rather than doing so at checkpoints, they become accountable for it ongoing.
Imagine whoever it is works closely to tie together the various programs we have across development, coaching, strategy, fitness/conditioning, etc.
So he/she is accountable for keeping others accountable?

my guess.
its a layer building exercise so Mahoney can focus his efforts, rather than micro-manage every little part of the club.
Expect we'll have a few appointments like this - performance, development, VFL, women's football program (AFLW/VFLW)