Club Mgmt. Board of Directors as led by President Dave Barham

Tom Morris, 9 News via Fox Sports:

“A major board challenge is imminent at Essendon. In the wake of an off-season of turmoil, key powerbrokers - including at least one former player - are preparing a movement which would oust David Barham as president, and other directors too,” he said on Nine News.

“I’ve spoken to one of the key powerbrokers tonight, who says this is not coterie-driven, and it’s just a manner of when and not if the challenge takes place.

“There’s a view the club has been left rudderless and the Barham era has left a legacy of division, instability, player drainage and lost opportunity from this group of people.”

Thread continued from Part 1: https://www.bigfooty.com/forum/thre...m-barham-addressing-merrett-etc-12-9.1326484/

Seriously though, what happened?
Solly and Paul Weston looking to get on the board . Paul Weston has Barham in his sights and in his words we need premiership experience on the board. He is clearly one of Mark Robinsons disciples. Story written by Robbo is in todays HS.

Barham, who is seeking a presidential extension, would be rolled if two of Solomon, Weston and Green won the majority of members’ votes.

If that happened, Solomon’s former teammate and current vice-president Andrew Welsh would likely be courted to become president.

My agenda is our culture, leadership and development.

This is about regaining our identity.

My commitment is, if I’m appointed to the board, I will be not be seeking another term unless we’ve won a final in the three years, because if we haven’t I’ve made no impact at all. If I can’t do it in three years I shouldn’t be there.

“There’s no premiership experience on our board or in our coaching staffother than our senior coach,’’ he said.“To me, a good functioning board has balance. We are a football club, we’ve got excellent people for finance, governance, for business, but we haven’t got any premiership experience.’’

Good one Paul.
Guess the Premierships at West Coast when Vozzo was there do not count. Or the fact that our list manager who did not play in the GF was at the Eagles in 2006 and played in two finals. Gia was a coach at the Dogs when they won a flag. Tapping won a GF with Sandy Dragons as a coach and worked in the Lions rebuild. Rath was at the Hawks during their premiership era. There is plenty of premiership experience there. Maybe it is you want "Essendon" premiership experience.
We had Simon Madden and Sean Wellman on the board until two years ago. We had a premiership winning coach. We had two football managers who played a serious role in building a premiership winning list. The last lot of "Essendon" boys managed to bring the club to its knees.

To me Weston has clearly been talking to Robbo and Sheedy since Hugh Mitchells funeral. You can bet that with Hird doing his thing at Port Melbourne the plan will be get Scott out at the end of next year and fill the club with Sheedy's old boys.

Typical Essendon.

Last edited by a moderator:
If they wet the bed again I am done. I will go back and watch a bit of local footy and more under 18 stuff and watching the NRL. What really sucks is the Sheedy mafia has also moved into Port Melbourne who I have also followed for 40 odd years so that is not an option either. Guess a couple more weekends in Sydney to see the Panthers will happen.

Yep. If Sheedy and crew get back in I'll be watching the Flagstaff Falcons and Sturt Double blues alot more than Essendon next year.

Oh yeah I forgot we need more premiership experience in the boardroom. A guy who won flags in the 80s on the board will help heaps given how footy is exactly the same then as it is now.

Seriously, I'd love to sit these guys down and really press them on what they mean by half this stuff because as soon as you start poking holes in their buzz phrases is completely falls apart.

Honestly some of the stuff in that Slobbo article borders on parody. We need to be "feared and respected". The same stamping the foot tantrum stuff we've had for decades. What do they want to do, start swaggering about and acting tough? Demanding people take us seriously? It's the sort of Eric Cartman bully-brained stuff that you expect from an 11 year old watching too many loopy dark web videos, not a serious, modern day football club.

The thing that earns respect is premierships. The thing that makes you feared is being hard to play against and even harder to beat. There are no magic shortcuts or quick fixes to get there. It takes diligent work from every person in the club, coach to bootstrapper, captain to rookie. Looking for quick fixes is what put us in the wilderness since 2000.

Perhaps most damning on that front was the promise to be a one term director as "if we've not won a premiership in 3 years" he's not done his job. What a joke. As if all you need to win a premiership is a sufficiently loud and brash board member. Anyone who votes for this bozo has genuine rocks in their head.
We should ask the players to play four quarters

Just in time for Tassie. They’d want to be really careful I reckon.

Welsh
Solomon
Weston

...opening the door for Hird.
I fear this and don't respect it.
Is Welsh actually a problem?

In Barham’s interview the other day he was talking about staying president for 2 years and then preparing to handover the presidency to whomever the board elected, which he said would probably be Welsh because Welsh is currently the VP.

According to the sticky timeline Welsh is an appointed director (not elected), and was appointed by Barham’s administration to replace the ones that quit after the spill.

Welsh
Solomon
Weston

...opening the door for Hird.
I fear this and don't respect it.
Hird, Sheedy and Dudoro will all be let back in. I really hope no one votes for this guy.

David Barham might have done some reckless things in the last 2 years but he's helped get rid of the bad eggs. I wasn't a fan early on, especially after that first press conference, but I'd vote for him if I was a member

Dean Solomon the bloke who has failed to land another coaching gig since white-anting the process at GC?
He’s been focusing all his effort and attention towards white anting the process at Essendon and is too busy for a coaching gig

People say they want stability. Well then get Sheeds and Dodo back, doesn't get more stable than life members and immortals with decades of experience remaining at the club in some capacity.
stability in the change of direction. What Barham has done seems to be changing the tact in which those you mentioned tried for 20 years and had very little, if any success with

I for one am backing Barham. Even if it doesn't bring ultimate success, releasing the stranglehold those from a previous history have on this club can only be a good thing

Hird, Sheedy and Dudoro will all be let back in. I really hope no one votes for this guy.

Two major hurdles:

- Regular people just don’t vote. Even at the height of the saga, when the club was burning, we had a tiny voter turnout. People just don’t know and don’t pay any attention. It’s what allows the coteries to get their candidates elected - they just ensure their members all vote

- The Sheedy crew have Robbo in the pocket and he will ensure their candidates get all the airtime they need to publicise themselves and criticise the others.

Hopefully Weston is viewed more widely as a goose, just like he is here, but who knows. And who knows if people will vote - generally they don’t.