Box Hill Practice Matches

Roughies Boys

Box Hill Hawks first Practice Match is on tomorrow,

If anyone gets to the game could you please give us some feedback here, much appreciated

Cheers

I didn't go but Box Hill have posted the final score on their FB page, unfortunately a 5 point loss.

Final score:

Werribee 8.13.61
Box Hill 8.8.56

Final score in the Development match, a 1 point win!

Werribee 10.13.74
Box Hill 11.8.74

Must of come home with a wet sail,they were 4 goals down at 3 qtr time..woody impressive in the clinches,but does turn it over. Hartung moves well and will get the odd game. Pretty ordinary game to 3qtr time mistakes galore for both sides.majak must be a marketing ploy because he just looks lost in general play.

Just got home and heading out .....will post a little later .
Words like Rusty , Slow and Sloppy would sum it up though .....and it was'nt a 5 point lose imo either .

Highlight of the day was when Number 24 was munching thru his second pie and Monkey walked up and asked where to get food from. We told him there was nothing onsite and he had to walk upto the servo. He wasnt happy so he moved upto 24 and was right in his face looking at the pie. 24 was shitting bricks but wouldnt let go of the pie. Was a battle of wills with Monkey walking away in search of other targets. He later returned and went looking in 24's shirt pocket for crumbs without luck.

Just got home and heading out .....will post a little later .
Words like Rusty , Slow and Sloppy would sum it up though .....and it was'nt a 5 point lose imo either .

Premiership hangover? Seems more common when the underdog takes out the flag. Am intrigued by your last comment, controversial goal or some such? Waiting with bated breath for you report later :D

Left at half time but what I saw of it was crap so not a lot to report.
Shocking disposal, turnovers galore, majority of them looked very sluggish, although it was deceptively warm and humid out there and the surface was very firm to hard.
Woody gets plenty of it but there must be real concerns about his disposal he just continues to turn it over.

Hartung will get games against lesser sides if they decide to rest Hill or Smith.
Sicily is miles off but the kid from Tassie, Zac Webster did some really nice things.

Eric Wallace is the biggest unit you will ever see on a an AFL football oval, makes Majak look like Xavier Ellis.

Woody gets plenty of it but there must be real concerns about his disposal he just continues to turn it over.

Considering that it is only his second full game since his U18 days, could it be that he's really taking a while to get used to the pace of things again, or just trying too hard?

Sicily is miles off but the kid from Tassie, Zac Webster did some really nice things.

Eric Wallace is the biggest unit you will ever see on a an AFL football oval, makes Majak look like Xavier Ellis.

I like Webster. One of the U18 coaches that I have the occaisional beer with rated him very highly. I'm hoping he has a good year.

Who does Eric Wallace play for? BH or Werribee?

Considering that it is only his second full game since his U18 days, could it be that he's really taking a while to get used to the pace of things again, or just trying too hard?

I think, rather hope, that he is trying too hard and he will get his touch back in time.
He does know how to find it which is the big positive.

I like Webster. One of the U18 coaches that I have the occaisional beer with rated him very highly. I'm hoping he has a good year.

Who does Eric Wallace play for? BH or Werribee?

US import playing for Werribee, man is he massive.

Thanks BG.

Just the fact that Woody is finding the pill frequently gives me hope for him. If he can find consistency at BH this season, if nothing else except remaining injury free, that would be good enough for me.

Premiership hangover? Seems more common when the underdog takes out the flag. Am intrigued by your last comment, controversial goal or some such? Waiting with bated breath for you report later :D
I took it he meant Box Hill were lucky to get within 5 points!

Hard day for the first game. A cross wind was a blowin and stuffed up the skills of most. Seeing we play keepings off, it was hard work to stay with the plan.

My man Brand. Played KPD, mainly on Majak but sometimes he ended up on a footballer. Good day for defenders but he was very impressive with his spoiling and general ball handling. Great to see a kid improve and he has. Daw is a tool. Saw him snipe anyone who got close to him. I can fully understand why people want to abuse him.

Stratts played FB for a half. Solid hit out and an extremely cute water girl told me he was only ever going to play a half. I started salivating and she shuffled away so could not glean more.

Woody does not fumble, ever. Was untagged and got a heap of the ball. Needs to work on the unmagnetic side of his game but a very strong hit out.

It took Billy Boy a half to work out he is considerably quicker than anyone playing VFL. When he put the jets on he got involved in a number of give and go multi possession runs. Once he started taking his opponent on he looked very dangerous, plus he worked his RRRs off in defence. Good kid.

When Sicily's arms become a tad more pappardelle he will be some player. Lovely long kick into the wind, well balanced, looks like you classic HFF.

Webster is a ripper, seems to love contests. Skills are scrappy but he is a scrapper. Willsmore did a few nice cameos, can be hesitant which is probably why he ended up a rookie.

Ross was my best. Played defender and provided run and carry plus he managed to not butcher the footy as often.

Grim was predominantly FF. When he runs he gets the footy. Does not run anywhere near enough which is frustrating to watch.

Good reports from the above reporters. My 2 bobs ...

Solid game from Dave Mirra - I don't expect anything less.
Sam Collins is improving well.
Best game I have seen from Jordon Kelly to date.
Alex Woodward - as said by others at the game - he has the knowledge where to be but still rusty. Don't write him off. Will get senior games.
Kaiden Brand - same as Kelly.
Mitch O'Donnell - loves the close in work. Watch him blossom this year.
Luke Lowden - won many taps to advantage - still to take the next step.

Ps - like your comments ESC.

Like Grimmers but still tries to do the spectacular every time the ball is in the air. His timing in the air was terrible yesterday and as a result he dropped about 6-7 genuine chances. When he kept it simple and clunked the thing he made it look easy.

I can not emphasise this enough. Grimmers... mate... stick to the basics lead, mark kick goal... served a certain Jason Dunstall very well. Trying to show off your athletic ability everytime you hit the contest just makes you look like a fool when you don't get near the ball or take a mark that should be easy look difficult. A point in case where grimmers lead upto the ball and it was chest height and he nearly jumped at it as it approached him(nearly through my water bottle down). I tell you what he nearly did and would have been attempting to mark the thing around his knees / ankles when it was aimed at his chest.

Woody as has been mentioned got a LOT of the ball was everywhere especially early. So much so that he was paid a lot more attention in the second half. The good news his disposal and decision making improved as the game wore on. Its just dusting the cobwebs out. I look forward to the next game he plays. He is the inside mid we are looking for stay on the park and he WILL be pusing for selection.

Brand in defence was impressive. Showed a lot more confidence in contesting and running off his opponent.

There is a reason why we got Ross. Similar to simpkin he provides us with a ready made option. Knows how to defend and is a good tackler.

Speaking of good tacklers the young boy from Tasmania Zach webster is something else a bit rough around the edges but saw quite a bit that we can work with. He goes in hard, a good tackler, and has good turn of pace.

Young billy had a couple of gallops around the oval today. He was like a young stud in a new paddock a bit nervous of what to expect not knowing what he can do and not fully exploiting his capabilities. He needs game time to make him the galloper we want him to be.

Not much to say really a poor standard game and just about everyone was glad when the final siren went.

I'm another onlooker that was impressed by Ross, agree he adds depth a la Simpkin, his run out of defence, good ball use, all round offensive & defensive effort makes him a class above this level.

Woodward has some great attributes, took a desperate diving mark across the boundary line, has speed to accelerate out of congestion carrying the footy. Highlight of the day was Woody hitting a pack at full speed, spin move to collect the footy and deliver a long wide handball to a spare player.

Lowden seemed pretty frustrated, crashed a few packs but couldn't hold the marks, dominated the tap outs (against Mt McKenzie) but didn't appear to give the mids any advantage (didn't have the A graders playing), a couple of poor short kick turnovers.

Kelly has a bucket loads of courage, kept his eye on the footy whilst backing into a big pack. Kicked the Hawks first goal which was nice. Fluffed a kick out of defence in the 4th, then went on a long run to lay a team lifting tackle to win the footy back.

Brand looks a likely type, great athleticism, Hartung has smart hands in tight. Not sure who number 43 was, but he was pretty exciting, a few 3rd and 4th efforts, seemed desperate in the contest and enjoyed the rough stuff.

Shem was on the boundary looking on, first time I've seem him up close - my god, he's a freaking monster. Lovely bloke, happy to chat, seems his old man has taught him a lot about being a professional athlete. Look forward to seeing him on the paddock for Box Hill.

Was a bit surprised we didn't have many Hawks listed players running around - where were Heatherley, Litherland, Hallahan, Spangher, Ceglar, Langford, Duryea & Cheney?

I'm another onlooker that was impressed by Ross, agree he adds depth a la Simpkin, his run out of defence, good ball use, all round offensive & defensive effort makes him a class above this level.

Woodward has some great attributes, took a desperate diving mark across the boundary line, has speed to accelerate out of congestion carrying the footy. Highlight of the day was Woody hitting a pack at full speed, spin move to collect the footy and deliver a long wide handball to a spare player.

Lowden seemed pretty frustrated, crashed a few packs but couldn't hold the marks, dominated the tap outs (against Mt McKenzie) but didn't appear to give the mids any advantage (didn't have the A graders playing), a couple of poor short kick turnovers.

Kelly has a bucket loads of courage, kept his eye on the footy whilst backing into a big pack. Kicked the Hawks first goal which was nice. Fluffed a kick out of defence in the 4th, then went on a long run to lay a team lifting tackle to win the footy back.

Brand looks a likely type, great athleticism, Hartung has smart hands in tight. Not sure who number 43 was, but he was pretty exciting, a few 3rd and 4th efforts, seemed desperate in the contest and enjoyed the rough stuff.

Shem was on the boundary looking on, first time I've seem him up close - my god, he's a freaking monster. Lovely bloke, happy to chat, seems his old man has taught him a lot about being a professional athlete. Look forward to seeing him on the paddock for Box Hill.

Was a bit surprised we didn't have many Hawks listed players running around - where were Heatherley, Litherland, Hallahan, Spangher, Ceglar, Langford, Duryea & Cheney?
Zach Webster

Lowden is so frustrating. He started the game well took a strong mark out on the lead in the first. Had a few tap outs and was getting his hands on it. Then had a chance to take mark in amongst players made great position got his hands to it and dropped a sitter. Then later in the game in much harder contest where he would have been forgiven for just bringing the ball to ground he takes a one grabber. During the game he fades in out of being an AFL level footballer. His effort on the boundary near the pavillion was disgraceful should have hit the contest far harder. Has the tools just need to make his AFL level efforts the norm and he will put his hand up for selection. He could take a few tips from a first gamer Zach Webster.