Brad Crouch

I agree that danger won't be as big a loss as some people think, I actually think he was pretty over rated anyway. Has the physical attributes of a absolute elite footballer, but was inconsistent, bad disposal, last year or so struggled with set shots, used to flop and play for free kicks and I think some of his team mates relied on him too much. It was often frustrating to watch! I think we do look a more polished team without him. Players will take on more responsibility without him, and Jacobs will have to tap to another player in his spot.

Well if as suggested Ollie Wines is heading into the top 5 in the comp....

Brad Crouch>>>>>Ollie Wines...

Brad's a "natural" footballer so I really do expect him to slot straight back into top form very quickly....only proviso will be staying injury free..

I really think some of our supporters have short memories and have forgotten just how dominant Brad can be...

And remember at that time he was playing as 3rd or 4th "banana" behind the likes of Thommo, Voldemort, and Sloane...

http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/pg-adelaide-crows--brad-crouch?year=2013

http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/pg-adelaide-crows--brad-crouch?year=2014
Wines is also not top 5 in the comp, and will not be until around 2017/18. I see him taking a similar path to Crouch - both will really come on in one or two year's time. Not this year though, but fair enough, that's your opinion

OK, maybe then you'll seek permission to change your User name to something more appropriate for these times.....Crouch in Texas has a nice ring to it!

I'm seriously thinking we should rest Brad for the Richmond match. We play 3 of our first 7 at Etihad and of course 2 of our first 3 there. Etihad is renowned for being hard on the feet. Reckon he would be better off staying home and running laps.

I'm all for being ultra-cautious.

I'm seriously thinking we should rest Brad for the Richmond match. We play 3 of our first 7 at Etihad and of course 2 of our first 3 there. Etihad is renowned for being hard on the feet. Reckon he would be better off staying home and running laps.

I'm all for being ultra-cautious.
"Try Telling Brad That"...;)

Mitchell (no), Lewis (no), Hodge (no), Kennedy (no), Bontempelli (not at this stage), Boak (no), Selwood (no), Parker (maybe) + Fyfe, Ablett, Pendlebury.

I'd take any of them over PD, in a heart beat. (not to mention Sloane and B Crouch, who we already have)
The only one at this stage from that list that I might take over Danger is Parker. Bont will probably overtake Danger in the future, but Ablett will also decline. Danger is definitely a top 5 mid, IMO. The most explosive player in the competition. Sucks that we lost him.

Yeah that was my list ... wasn't trying to convince you to change yours.

It's pretty obvious to anyone actually thinking clearly that losing Danger has set us backwards.

That doesn't mean we'll fall apart, but we were very obviously a better team with him in our side.

"Were" is the correct word for it. That is, if danger was removed from our team last year, we would have been a worse team. There is no doubt about it.
Will we be a worse team than last year without Danger but with the new players in? That is a different question that cannot be yet answered.
The only thing I can believe is that, if Danger was in our team this year, with the new players in as well, we would definitely be a better team.

I actually recall is playing solid footy without him when he has missed a game. My old basketball team played better when our star wasn't playing! It does happen!

It all depends on what type of star player you have. You can have a star player that ball hogs, and tries to do everything on their own to the detriment of the rest of the team, or you can have a star player thant gets others involved, while performing their role. Watching Dangerfield play, he is more the former, than the latter.

One example, for all the praise the commentary team were giving danger for his efforts in the last quarter of the Adel v Bulldogs final, he ****ing butchered the ball with stupid kicks, or tried to do everything himself.

We couldn't do much about the raids on our players by the new franchises. It was a poo sanger and we were forced to eat it.

Why do you think, in your opinion, other teams were able to fend off raids from the new franchises whereas we could not? It's not like our guys were their first choices or that other, better players hadn't said no beforehand?

Mitchell, Lewis, Hodge, Kennedy, Bontempelli, Boak, Selwood, Parker + Fyfe, Ablett, Pendlebury.

I'd take any of them over PD, in a heart beat. (not to mention Sloane and B Crouch, who we already have)

That's just bitterness talking. PD is on a different level to most of that lot.

I'd take Bontempelli over Danger, and probably Dylan Shiel, think he will explode this year. It's all moot anyway, we've lost a gun, it was supposed to be Crouch + Danger, not instead of Danger.

Why do you think, in your opinion, other teams were able to fend off raids from the new franchises whereas we could not? It's not like our guys were their first choices or that other, better players hadn't said no beforehand?

Pretty sure Bock was a first choice for Gold Coast. In hindsight it looks like they were trying to get one 'best in the league' player per line to fit their draftees around and learn from - got Bock, who was the best CHB in the league at the time, got Happy Clapper Junior, but missed out on any choice ruck or forward, and settled for spreading the money around to also rans Rischitelli, Brennan, Fraser, Brown, Harbrow and Krakouer. I expect Bock, McPharlin, Glass, and Rutten were all considered and approached more or less simultaneously (if they were out of contract at the time anyway), with the only one not considered being Scarlett, for obvious reasons.

Can't see Davis being a first choice though.

Pretty sure Bock was a first choice for Gold Coast. In hindsight it looks like they were trying to get one 'best in the league' player per line to fit their draftees around and learn from - got Bock, who was the best CHB in the league at the time, got Happy Clapper Junior, but missed out on any choice ruck or forward, and settled for spreading the money around to also rans Rischitelli, Brennan, Fraser, Brown, Harbrow and Krakouer. I expect Bock, McPharlin, Glass, and Rutten were all considered and approached more or less simultaneously (if they were out of contract at the time anyway), with the only one not considered being Scarlett, for obvious reasons.

Can't see Davis being a first choice though.

Gold Coast chased a number of guys particularly riewoldt. GWS chased pendlebury etc

They both chased the elite first tier guys, got knocked back by a few on the 2nd tier too